Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2018, 09:31 PM
psaboic's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SW Washington Coast
Posts: 754
Awwww CRAP!

Don't ask how, because I do not know, but the needle for the tach on my 83 300 D broke off today. Actually it looks like the tiny metal shaft broke off about halfway. Any way to fix this or am I looking at trying to source a new tach? Since this is an early 83 model, it has the 2 pin tach, not the three pin.

Any help GREATLY appreciated.
__________________
2017 Santa Fe 25K (hers)
2002 VW Jetta TDI 192K (mine)
1998 Volvo S70 T5 Turbo 135K (kids)
1992 Ford F150 4WD 258K (wood getter)
1983 Mercedes 300D 328K (diesel commuter)
1965 Corvair Corsa 98K (fun car)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2018, 09:58 PM
dkr dkr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 534
You may be able to use a needle from any number of other Mercedes models. Are you having trouble removing the part still on the shaft?

Dkr.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2018, 10:10 PM
psaboic's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SW Washington Coast
Posts: 754
No, what happened is it looks like the shaft itself broke in half. part of the shaft is still in the needle and the other part is inside the gauge.
__________________
2017 Santa Fe 25K (hers)
2002 VW Jetta TDI 192K (mine)
1998 Volvo S70 T5 Turbo 135K (kids)
1992 Ford F150 4WD 258K (wood getter)
1983 Mercedes 300D 328K (diesel commuter)
1965 Corvair Corsa 98K (fun car)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2018, 12:07 AM
vwnate1's Avatar
Diesel Dandy
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sunny So. Cal. !
Posts: 3,280
Question Tachometer Service

? Is there any reason not to take it to the Speedo Shop and have them fix it so it'll still be accurate ? .

Every time I replace a speedo / tachometer needle @ home it loses accuracy .

Failing that some junkyarding looks to be in your near future .
__________________
-Nate
1982 240D creampuff 370,000 miles
1978 300CD back from the dead&1980 300CD ~ SOLD
1984 300CD KEEPER ! 428,XXX miles
1984 Euro 300TD Fully optioned SWMBO's
1974 350SLC 4 speed stickshift SOLD & missed
Krazy Kommie Ural Motos (3)
BMW Moto R60/6 Barn Find, 8,000miles
1959 VW #113 Deuxe Beetle, 36hp engine, stock
Junk, Rust
Arthritis, Crushed Spine,Broken Neck&Back
Memories &Peace Of Mind
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2018, 08:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,804
I usually install the needles "live". Take the tach out of the dash pod, wire it up and start the car. Install the needle at your normal idle speed, and done. For a speedometer, I spin it up on an electric drill before I disassemble. If the drill drives it to 68 mph, that's where I'll set the needle when I reinstall.

I may have a tach needle from a 124 if you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2018, 09:35 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater Metropolitan Beaverdam VA
Posts: 1,907
His problem isn't the needle, it is the shaft that the needle attaches to.

My advice is to get on ebay. There are plenty of used instruments and they are fairly inexpensive, certainly less than paying a repair shop.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-03-2018, 11:11 AM
psaboic's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SW Washington Coast
Posts: 754
THanks Rocky for explaining it better than it seems I was able to. Yes, the issue is the shaft broke off. Anyway, I have a line on a good 2 pin tach for a replacement, so we shall see how it goes.

Glenn
__________________
2017 Santa Fe 25K (hers)
2002 VW Jetta TDI 192K (mine)
1998 Volvo S70 T5 Turbo 135K (kids)
1992 Ford F150 4WD 258K (wood getter)
1983 Mercedes 300D 328K (diesel commuter)
1965 Corvair Corsa 98K (fun car)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-03-2018, 06:21 PM
Vice President of Snark
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,202
I have another 2pin tach waiting if you need it. I have no use for it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page