Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2002, 10:59 AM
Coming back from burnout
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: in the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,274
82 240D Instrument Cluster goes crazy when headlights are on..

On my 1983 240D, my instrument cluster goes crazy when I turn on the Lights. The Turn signals come on, The temp gauge goes max and the fuel gauge goes off. I took out the Clsuter and I looked at the Section with the Printed Circuit Board. Some of the Circuit paths are damaged, the printed copper paths are frayed or broken. Is there a way to fix it? I tried to hard wire the path, which ran to the turn signal. The thing still acts crazy. Any ideas? I have nothing to lose-------------

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/rtc9/BENZ.html

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2002, 11:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
If the base material is not cracked... it can probably be repaired by someone.... but most people do not have the tools or steady enough hand and soldering technique for a lasting fix...
You would be in SO much better shape finding a good one at a pick and pull or off Ebay.... You could spend a lot of time on this... and it wait till you were off on a trip to go bad again...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2002, 01:39 PM
jobah's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Chicago native-W.MI transplant
Posts: 278
I fixed these on a friends 123. I took little strips of aluminum foil and placed them below the break in the copper strip. I then covered the repair with tape. That was about a year ago. It was a cheap repair (friend was not willing to spend money or time). It did work.

There were three breaks as I recall with similar symptoms.
__________________
Jovan

'84 (11/83) 190D 2.2 5-Speed; Silver/Blue; Motor No. 00354, 402k mi (340+kmi mine)

'89 Porsche 911 Turbo Coupe; Black/Black; 45kmi
'05 BMW 530i 6-Speed; 215kmi
'10 Range Rover; 30kmi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2002, 01:11 PM
ATLD's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 272
Two ways I know...

First, you can buy a silver pen to redraw the broken or missing traces on your board wherever they are broke. Pen uses Silver ink: conducts electricity. Make sure that the areas you are connecting are clean first. These pens are available at stores like radio Shak or any good electronics parts stores. MCM electronics or Parts Express are good sources for much cheaper than average stores.

Secondly, if you have a terriably oakward situation where you cannot draw in a new trace, you can drill a really small holes in two areas you are trying to bridge. Clean the areas and then solder in a small wire into those holes to bridge the failed connection.

Remember that the source of several other problems could be a trace that has lifted off your board under another grouded instrument. These are really hard to find, and relatively common. They can be glued down with a good super-glue and then bridged.

Hope this helps...

ATLD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2002, 04:37 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
One of the best ways to do board repair is by soldering a patch wire(22 or 24 gauge) from the closest soldered area to the closest soldered area on the other side of the break.
__________________
MERCEDES Benz Master Guild Technician (6 TIMES)
ASE Master Technician
Mercedes Benz Star Technician (2 times)
44 years foreign automotive repair
27 Years M.B. Shop foreman (dealer)
MB technical information Specialist (15 years)
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA race car (sold)
1986 190E 2.3 16V 2.5 (sold)
Retired Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2002, 09:26 AM
Fredmburgess's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 358
...make sure the instrument cluster is grounded where it should be. I had similar wacko gauges in my '84 300D, turned out that the speedometer cable was the only functioning ground so it was intermittent at best. Ran an extra ground wire to ground behind the dash and wallah, all was normal. Quick test with a jumper wire will tell if this is the problem or at least one of the problems!
fmb

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page