Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2003, 01:41 AM
Coming back from burnout
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: in the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,274
83 240D Manual-can't shift-- I lost 1st gear--HELP

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/snow7ice/BENZ.html

I have been having three months of slave cylinder problems--part of the problem is I have air in the system, part of the problem is I have the wrong slave cylinder, I have the 82 model slave, not 83.
Anyway its getting so bad that I have to use my Karate on the Gear shift every time I shift, i literally have to whack it hard to get functionality . I have 2nd gear and a tenuous 50 percent shot at 3rd gear from second.
I have bled the system several times. Anyway thinking hte problem was with the Linkages, I readjusted them. Now I just have R 3 and 4 and thats how I am driving the car.

Part of the problem is I need to do the old two person Bleed on the slave but my daughter/wife wont cooperate.

Sometimes I have a snaeaking supicion the transmission is Bad. Is this possible? I can shift into FIRST gear, but it acts like this is Neutral.'

I know I have the wrong slave, but I dont think this is a factor , since I offset it by 15 degrees and used the bootom bolt to hold it in position with a washer, so I am getting normal slave play.

All 4 gears work. !st gear worked until last nite.

Please help. Do I need a new tranny or is it slave/linkage/ air related?
83 240D Manual-can't shift-- I lost 1st gear--HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2003, 08:47 AM
sokoloff
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you replaced the three rubber grommets, under a buck each, where the linkages connect? Mine were completely shot and at times I would not be able to shift gears at all. Also, on the transmission itself, the linkages are attached via an allen bolt that you have to feel around for. These can also come loose and affect your shifting, but I think they work loose because those rubber grommets won't allow smooth shifting in the first place.

Len
'83 240D 335,000 miles Converted to manual
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2003, 10:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 5,440
Carrameow,

If the hydraulic clutch release system will allow you to shift the transmission into any gear from neutral with out grinding the gears, the clutch release system is working properly I.E. the clutch is disconnecting the engine from the transmission.

I have been able to shift my MB transmission (using finesse) with the clutch release system not working at all. I had to start the engine with transmission the in low gear but once I got moving, it wasn't too much of a problem to shift.

I suspect that the transmission linkages are your problem.

P E H
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2003, 08:50 AM
Coming back from burnout
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: in the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,274
I found the problem--Thanks!!!!

It was as someone said--two of the arms were loose on the transmission--I tightened up the allen bolts--everything works great. I really appreciate everybody's help---

I am very grateful to all of you. I have solved numerous problems on this car due to this Forum!!!!!

Thanks Again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2003, 10:27 AM
sokoloff
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
One further thing to keep in mind. Tightening mine also solved my problem for a few weeks. Then I started to have shifting problems again and found the bolts were loose again. It was a warning sign to me that my rubber grommets were toast. Replaced them, tightened the bolts again and all has been well for many months now.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2003, 11:21 AM
Coming back from burnout
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: in the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,274
Thanks, Mrs Sokoloff--I am ordering them now!!

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2003, 01:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,026
Two words when you put it back together... RED LOCKTITE ( or equilivant)... it is listed as " stud and bearing mount".. but only adds about 5 ft lbs of torque to taking a normal size bolt off... but works much better than blue locktite....
I have not used anything except red locktite in 30 years... but do not use it on great big nuts like the single (200ftlb) nut which holds the flywheel on a VW engine.. too much surface area....LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2003, 01:32 PM
Coming back from burnout
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: in the Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,274
Heck=-=maybe I will use a lockwasher too

Thanks for the HINT.
PS on really important bolts I have tried two part engine block epoxy, when I intend to never ever remove them....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page