Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion > Diesel Performance Tuning

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2017, 06:23 AM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,243
Any way to mod the wiring of a 98 E300

To set it up where it will NEVER go into limp mode. This would be for off road purposes only. I'd be interested in making mods to the wiring circuit to "jumper" or bypass the system where it will never go into limp mode.

tia
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2017, 06:34 AM
oldsinner111's Avatar
love all animals
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bristol,tn
Posts: 5,444
I read that pulling the bulb,and jumping pins 1,and 6 pervent this.In 8 years,I never had this problem.
__________________
usaf vet,dumb ass,repukes love the wealthy,dems use to protect working citizens.Both sides are parasites
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2017, 10:58 AM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,243
Pins 1 and 6 in diagnostic port?
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2017, 07:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,146
Bypass what system?

About the only thing I'm aware of that can be shut off is ASR / ESP for a dyno run.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2017, 06:13 AM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,243
I'm interested in setting it up where it will absolutely NOT go into limp mode, no matter what code comes up. This is obviously for off road purposes only.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2017, 12:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,113
Which system are you talking about? The engine, transmission abs/ESP, SRS? Do you have code reader that can talk to all the systems in the car?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2017, 12:17 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,243
I do have reader that can talk to all systems. I'm helping a friend with a car that keeps throwing boost code, putting it into limp mode. As long as code is not on car runs great. The car has 340k miles on it and customer states they never want it to go into limp mode again because of boost code.

Surely the Fins that are getting 500+ hp out of these cars have a workaround.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2017, 12:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 6,113
Yeah they swap in a purely mechanical om603 IP, rip out the entire wiring harness and rewire the car from scratch. No more canbus, no more codes. If you notice the vast majority of the high performance euro diesels are w124/201/123 with an om605/606 swapped in. Once in a while you might spot a w202 but modified 210 diesel is extremely rare and those are usually early CDI motors which are a lot more hackable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2017, 07:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,146
Uhm, how about fixing the problem causing a boost code?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-2017, 07:43 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,243
That is what I will do first. Will get the code reader on it over next day or two and see what I've got. For some reason this one seems to be more troublesome than others I've had in. It has been over a year since it has been in the shop and last time it was a boost related fault code.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-24-2017, 09:02 PM
KarTek's Avatar
<- Ryuko of Kill La Kill
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bahama/Eno Twp, NC
Posts: 3,256
Just as a general FYI, not necessarily related to your problem:

One of the things the ECU looks for is for the boost to drain off completely when the car reaches cruising speed and the throttle movement stabilizes, such as accelerating onto the interstate. If the boost doesn't drop to 0 due to the wastegate transducer successfully opening completely, it will set a code.

Now, I'm not sure this code is sufficient to cause the car to go into limp mode but it's a strange one that may go undiagnosed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-25-2017, 05:58 AM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,243
Thanks,
All I found wrong was the rubber hose from the pressure transducer to the manifold had a "loose fit" at the manifold end, causing leakage.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-25-2017, 06:54 AM
KarTek's Avatar
<- Ryuko of Kill La Kill
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bahama/Eno Twp, NC
Posts: 3,256
If the manifold pressure to the pressure sensor is leaking off pressure, I figure this would dis-allow fueling because the ECU would not see any boost. Sort of like an ALDA on a standard injection pump.

I've simulated this on my car by removing the line to the sensor and while the performance is awful (worse than NA cars), it didn't set any codes since boost is variable, the ECU performance constraints can't be too tight otherwise, it would set codes when you were coasting down hill or accelerating under light loads, etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page