Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Mercedes-Benz Performance Paddock

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2008, 09:04 PM
Turbo E320's Avatar
Im a Jeanyus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Posts: 475
Crank Sensor questions on e320

Im currently wiring a AEM Fuel/Ignition Controller because im fed up with the SAFC's lack of tuning capability at low boost(cant turn down the injectors). The wiring diagram has specific wires that attach to the VR crank sensor wires and it asks for the postive and negative crank wires but my mercedes diagram marks them differently. The car does have a VR crank sensor but its marked "high side" and "low side" wires. Am I to assume the "high side" is the positive wire and the "low side" is the negative?


EDIT:
Only one cam sensor right?
__________________
1997 Mercedes E320 Turbo
Garrett T3/60-1 Turbocharger
Custom Water Intercooler Setup
352rwhp/366rwtq @ 8.6psi in '08

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/1051/log7smallay9.jpghttp://img66.imageshack.us/img66/740...s3smallox0.jpg

Last edited by Turbo E320; 09-02-2008 at 09:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2008, 09:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 213
please fill us in on the tuning capabilities of this aem ecu? sounds the go to me,
i am also using a piggyback greedy emanage which i beleive is similar to your apexi, but i want better, so i hope you do a write up when u get this to work!

im sorry i cant really give you any advice on the crank pickup as i dont know,
but when i made my flywheel it had to have three segments and a magnet, anf i beleive it used the segments as pickups every 120 degrees?

mite need to run an osoloscope over the sensor and see what signals it fires out
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2008, 07:25 PM
Turbo E320's Avatar
Im a Jeanyus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Posts: 475
Hey c280nz what size feed oil line are you using and where did you draw power from for your greddy emanage? I got it all hooked up except for the power and three ground wires
__________________
1997 Mercedes E320 Turbo
Garrett T3/60-1 Turbocharger
Custom Water Intercooler Setup
352rwhp/366rwtq @ 8.6psi in '08

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/1051/log7smallay9.jpghttp://img66.imageshack.us/img66/740...s3smallox0.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2008, 04:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 213
i cant recal what size oil line i got, i just went into my local hydrolic shop and said i need a turbo oil line to the young fella in there and he said he knew which size would be sweet, i think it mite of been 3/8" but dont quote me on that,
i got my power from looking under the hood the right had side of the engine bay above the wheel well theres a little bkack box with a cross on the top of it with 3 large wires coming out, if you test them i beleive two are ignition on power and the other one is constant power,
i got all my power from here including the power for my wideband.

i just had a look at ur pics, and in my car it would have come from about smack bang in the middle of this pic, but your car seems to be different layout from myne, my fuse box is even on the other side,
its not in that little box in front of the fuse box is it?

let me know how you get on with your aem! fingers crossed for you to get it working and get some ignition timing and injector control!
paaaa ece

Last edited by c280nz; 09-07-2008 at 04:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2008, 08:56 PM
Turbo E320's Avatar
Im a Jeanyus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Posts: 475
Yeah that big black box is the fuse box, that little one is for the air conditioning i think. I got the AEM working though. I found the three big red wires and just guessed and got it right.

Heres the computer display, timing control and injector control is perfect. It can add, subtract, and compensate for bigger/smaller injectors with ease.

__________________
1997 Mercedes E320 Turbo
Garrett T3/60-1 Turbocharger
Custom Water Intercooler Setup
352rwhp/366rwtq @ 8.6psi in '08

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/1051/log7smallay9.jpghttp://img66.imageshack.us/img66/740...s3smallox0.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2008, 07:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 213
so you have it wired into your timing control and injector control?
at present i only am controlling the maf voltage using rpm and tps as the variables,
how did you wire in the timing and injectors? cos my greedy has these features

edit;
i just read up on your aem unit and it sounds way better than my greedy, im seriously debating ditching my greddy and buying oneof these units,
let me know over the comming weeks how the unit goes,
and if your happy with it, and happy to give me a few wiring pointers i mite have to change

Last edited by c280nz; 09-08-2008 at 07:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2008, 08:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 11
I would be interested in the answer to the original crank sensor question

I have built a lot of aftermarket turbo cars in the past and SA/Aftermarket management is normally the route I would chose. However with the EFI throttle body, Cam phasing and variable inlet etc I decided it was probably best to stick to a piggy back on the original EFi

I am also considering using the AEM to fire the 2 additional injectors that I got with the turbo technics kit in a custom TB adapter, but if I can get full control of the stock system then the Mustang injectors look like the way to go.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2008, 10:41 AM
Turbo E320's Avatar
Im a Jeanyus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Posts: 475
Mark, its like I thought the VR sensor is positive on the high side and negative on the low side.
__________________
1997 Mercedes E320 Turbo
Garrett T3/60-1 Turbocharger
Custom Water Intercooler Setup
352rwhp/366rwtq @ 8.6psi in '08

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/1051/log7smallay9.jpghttp://img66.imageshack.us/img66/740...s3smallox0.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2008, 10:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 11
Many thanks for that

A list of the settings used would be great - although I am sure I can figure them out if necessary


Thanks

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2008, 05:47 PM
Turbo E320's Avatar
Im a Jeanyus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Posts: 475
My car a super *****y OBDII engine that hates its closed loop being modified so its hard as hell but english cars didnt adopt OBDII until 2000 right? Find someone with a mercedes diagnostic computer and adjust the fuel trims reading off that for the closed loop settings and see if you can dig up when the car switches from closed to open loop. Im pretty sure its based off the throttle position.

I was told that if the fuel trims are bouncing around on the scanner then the closed loop is out of wack and you need to +/- fuel. You have to get them in a healthy constant and it will take a while.
__________________
1997 Mercedes E320 Turbo
Garrett T3/60-1 Turbocharger
Custom Water Intercooler Setup
352rwhp/366rwtq @ 8.6psi in '08

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/1051/log7smallay9.jpghttp://img66.imageshack.us/img66/740...s3smallox0.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-08-2008, 06:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo E320 View Post
I was told that if the fuel trims are bouncing around on the scanner then the closed loop is out of wack and you need to +/- fuel. You have to get them in a healthy constant and it will take a while.
I have a pair of LC1 widebands that I intend fitting to the 2 frontpipes

I am very used to closed loop tuning so that shouldtn be too much of a problem. The issue for me is not the mapping as that comes as second nature these days - its the sheer unfamiliarity with the 3.2 engine bay and HFM management
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-08-2008, 09:03 PM
Turbo E320's Avatar
Im a Jeanyus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Posts: 475
For me its the opposite, I am very familiar with the engine but I dont know jack about tuning. My closed loop still needs lots of work.
__________________
1997 Mercedes E320 Turbo
Garrett T3/60-1 Turbocharger
Custom Water Intercooler Setup
352rwhp/366rwtq @ 8.6psi in '08

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/1051/log7smallay9.jpghttp://img66.imageshack.us/img66/740...s3smallox0.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-09-2008, 03:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 213
i just had another tuning go 2nite,
i need to get bigger injectors, the 310cc with the 5bar just isnt giving me enough fuel, i am thinking about 350cc and going back to the 4 bar fpr,
yea geting the idle and mid throttle closed loop is time consuming, but getting it right,'but i cant get enough fuel wide open at 6psi around 5k rpm.

what airflow meter are you using e320, and does it max out a 5v during use, myne maxes out at around 5k rpm.

i like ur style mark runnin 2 widebands :-)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-09-2008, 08:11 PM
PUMPISH's Avatar
Roman Karpovich
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 444
Have not been here for a while but better late then never.

M104 crank sensor has 3 plates with a 120 deg between them.
You can use then but then you must use cam sensor too and then find iyt the trigger angle by stroblamp.

Only new M104 e280and e320 can use stock crank sensor and flywheel becaurse the plates are billet and the old m104 has welded plates and the ignition timing would not be correctly by using EFI
__________________
MB 300E 24v Turbo MS3X


TURBOCHARGE YOUR MERCEDES

www.turbobandit.com
My band!
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Turbobandit/135610656626424?fref=ts
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-11-2008, 10:37 AM
Turbo E320's Avatar
Im a Jeanyus
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, Indiana
Posts: 475
/\ Yeah my car has the last year of the m104 in it with FI so its all good, I got it working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by c280nz View Post
i just had another tuning go 2nite,
i need to get bigger injectors, the 310cc with the 5bar just isnt giving me enough fuel, i am thinking about 350cc and going back to the 4 bar fpr,
yea geting the idle and mid throttle closed loop is time consuming, but getting it right,'but i cant get enough fuel wide open at 6psi around 5k rpm.

what airflow meter are you using e320, and does it max out a 5v during use, myne maxes out at around 5k rpm.

i like ur style mark runnin 2 widebands :-)
Im acutally using the stock meter for the closed loop, then clamping it when the open loop starts. Its pretty easy to figure out and you dont have to hassle with the meter maxing out since it gets locked at a certain voltage and bypassed.
__________________
1997 Mercedes E320 Turbo
Garrett T3/60-1 Turbocharger
Custom Water Intercooler Setup
352rwhp/366rwtq @ 8.6psi in '08

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/1051/log7smallay9.jpghttp://img66.imageshack.us/img66/740...s3smallox0.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page