Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Mercedes-Benz Performance Paddock

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2015, 05:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Swapping C32 parts into C240

YES i know it will be cheaper to buy a whole c32 vs doing this...

let's assume I'm still stubborn and want to make my c240 (bone stock) with c32 engine, brakes and suspension (axles too...?) what is needed as well? transmission? front brakes only or do I need rears as well?

thank you in advance. if I add it all up and it's way too crazy then I will just get a c32 and keep c240 as well... I just need to price it all out.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2015, 06:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,146
More importantly, what is your end goal by swapping parts into a 4 cylinder car and making a V6 C32?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2015, 07:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
it's a v6 but slow. just want more power and saw on a c32 motor on ebay for $2200... and just trying to calculate how much to make it fun.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2015, 08:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,146
Ok, I thought the C240 was a 4 cyl.

The most direct route it going to be a belt driven supercharger bolted to your existing engine if such a kit exists.

Speaking in general terms, in addition to the engine at minimum you will need the engine computer / trans computer / rear diff with the proper ratio.

It may be possible but no one knows until the first person attempts the swap, turns the key and drives down the road. Newer cars have many systems tied together through computer communication, changing the programming is exceedingly difficult if not impossible.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2015, 11:56 AM
whipplem104's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,166
It is technically possible. Yes. Can you do it at home? No. Unless you have a lot of expensive equipment and computer knowledge. What do you need if you are stubborn and want to try anyways. Well besides an unlocked ecu for you to marry to your car not much. Other than an SDS with developer mode and a lot of time. Intercooling system. OR build your own.
Will this cost way more than selling your car and buying a C32. Absolutely. You will need to buy another car to drive while you do this swap. Probably spend around 10k in parts and equipment. Maybe more and about a year or two of your life working out the bugs maybe never to solve all of them.
This has been done before. More than once. Check out the Chrysler Crossfire forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page