Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Mercedes-Benz Performance Paddock

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2002, 01:08 AM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 810
Question 93 500E ASR Light came on(This is Different)

On my 92 400E , I can rev the engine by pulling the throttle linkage at the back of the engine towards he Driver side. I tried to do the same on the 500E and the ASR light comes on and the car goes into "limp home mode". Of course it resets when I turn the car off and restart, but curious as to whether this is normal. I do NOT have ASR on the 400E
__________________
Regards,

Albert
aldedmon@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2002, 12:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 2,633
Yes, it's normal on the 500E with ASR. The ASR reads throttle position as well as wheel speed.

If they don't "synch" with what's in the computer's map/algorithmns, then "LIMP-MODE"

BTW- is it true you need a 4-wheel dyno to accurately test a MB with ASR?

:-) neil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2002, 10:12 AM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
If you take ASR & ABS off-line by unhooking a front wheel-speed sensor, I'd think you could get a clean, full power pull on a dyno
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2002, 01:27 AM
ItalianBenz's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: SouthBay area, So Cal
Posts: 811
Also .By bridging #`1 #6 diagnostic connector 38 pin. This is good for getting it syno tested for emission.
__________________
500E Sold
2006 Mini Cooper S
Modified,pulley,injectors,suspension
2009 E350 Sport AMG package
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2002, 07:41 AM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
Guido is right-that puts the car into "Diagnostic Mode" so it won't store a fault code. A little trickier to do, but do-able. Good point
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page