Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Mercedes-Benz SL Discussion Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2008, 12:02 PM
83gray380
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 53
retro fitted AC compressor not working

I bought my 1982 389sl during the winter months and never really knew if the AC worked. The P.O. stated, it did when he stored the car away several years ago. Anyways the system was dry, so I bought a retro fit kit to change it over to 134. It sucked up 2 cans of 134, but the compressor will not kick on. I found 2 black wires at a contection on the passengers side inner fender by the radiator fill tank and tried jumper them to get the compressor on, still didn't work. Checked the AC fuse, it's good. There should be some kind of hot wire going into the compressor. The 2 black wires seem to be grounds or a switch. Any ideas or suggestions, before I take it into the shop and get overcharged for labor.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2008, 06:21 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 5,316
Huh?

How did it "suck" two cans of R34 if the compressor wasn't working?
__________________
Chuck Taylor
Falls Church VA
'66 200, '66 230SL, '96 SL500. Sold: '81 380SL, '86 300E, '72 250C, '95 C220, 3 '84 280SL's '90 420SEL, '72 280SE, '73 280C, '78 280SE, '70 280SL, '77 450SL, '85 380SL, '87 560SL, '85 380SL, '72 350SL, '96 S500 Coupe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2008, 11:57 PM
83gray380
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 53
I suppose if the system is empty, there is enough pressure in the cans to force the gas into the lines. All I know is that I have 2 empty cans of 134 that I put into the low pressure side and the clutch on the compressor is not engaging.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2008, 09:37 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 5,316
Normally when you fill an empty system, you need to jumper the wires that connect to the pressure sensor on the dryer bottle to get the compressor to come on.

Can you jumper that connection and see what kind of high and low side pressures you are getting?

I fear you may have a giant leak and the R134 went right on through.
__________________
Chuck Taylor
Falls Church VA
'66 200, '66 230SL, '96 SL500. Sold: '81 380SL, '86 300E, '72 250C, '95 C220, 3 '84 280SL's '90 420SEL, '72 280SE, '73 280C, '78 280SE, '70 280SL, '77 450SL, '85 380SL, '87 560SL, '85 380SL, '72 350SL, '96 S500 Coupe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:39 AM
Bob's your uncle
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 76
If the system was taken apart to install the new components you will have to vacuum down the system before you can add new refrigerant. If you don’t do that then you will have a mixture of air and R134 and the system will not work. If you don’t have the ability to vacuum the system (very few non pros have) then get a pro to do it and fill it up. I will cost you about $200 but it is the only way to get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2008, 12:02 PM
83gray380
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 53
As you have already surmised, I am not a AC pro at all, but I am always willing to try to figure it out. Is it possible to post a picture of the pressure sensor on the dryer bottle or at least a detailed description of the location, so I have an idea of were to use the jumper wire. I've tried the repair manual I have, but it has almost nothing about the AC unit. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2008, 01:09 PM
ScottinSoCal's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by 82gray380 View Post
As you have already surmised, I am not a AC pro at all, but I am always willing to try to figure it out.
I think you may have missed the key point - your car's AC is NOT a "figure it out as you go along" job. If you didn't evacuate the system before you tried to charge it, running the compressor will damage it. If you opened the system and didn't replace a couple of key parts, running the compressor will cause more damage.

Don't jumper anything unless you have the equipment to completely evacuate the system. You can certainly add a can of refrigerant to an already working system that just happens to be a little low, but without the proper equipment you can't replace parts and expect to get things working by trial and error.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2008, 02:21 PM
aam aam is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California
Posts: 115
Ahhhhhhhhh.
Start from the beginning you have a r12 system.
You can not add r134 refrigerant period.
Now if you want to convert to r134.
You must replace the accumulator, drain most of the oil and measure it, replace it.
It will not mix with the r134a.
Replace may be the exp. valve.
And may be hoses, compressor etc. If not working.
Vacuum the system down ck for leaks and fill.
This is the minimum.
If you don't have the knowledge, and have the necessary tools stay away.
One more thing it is not legal to vent the a/c system.
Regards.
aam.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page