Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2005, 05:41 PM
Crowe's Avatar
Benz Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 366
Fiber Optic Wireless Connection

Anyone here had any experience setting up a wireless network where your ISP is BellSouth FastAccess and the connection is in a fiber optic environment? My internet connection for the main computer is directly connected to BellSouth via a ethernet cable (no modem).
__________________
  • 2001 E320
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2005, 08:00 PM
Crowe's Avatar
Benz Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 366
Thanks for the reply. My situation is as follows..... yes I am in North Atlanta and my neighborhood was wired by BellSouth using fiber-optic lines. So my internet connection using FastAccess by BellSouth starts out as fiber optic underground cable then it changes to an Ethernet cable coming into my house. You would not believe how often the techs at BellSouth don't know the difference. I don't have a modem in the house since the Ethernet simply plugs directly into the main computer. What I am attempting to do is go wireless in the house so I can use my laptop. I have a Linksys Broadband Wireless-G router and when I installed it, it would work for a while and then stop working. The Linksys people were unable to diagnosis the problem or offer a solution. They said the router needed to have a modem in place to work correctly. My suspicion is that the problem comes up when the router is attempting to re-establish the internet connection and is unable to find the IP address that previously worked. As you know the IP address changes with each connection. Hope this helps. I am looking for any help making my wireless setup work in this environment. Someone else suggested that I use my main computer as an access point for the other computers in the house. Any help will be much appreciated
__________________
  • 2001 E320
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page