Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2005, 08:57 AM
Achieving Salvation
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Madison, Wis.
Posts: 223
Computer Gurus: VPN issues ...

I'm trying to help my brother-in-law solve a menacing problem with his VPN.

He is trying to connect to his company's VPN via the Cisco VPN client software. I have never done this before - I've only linked VPNs together across the Internet and have little experience with the client. Here's what happens:

1. He has cable modem high-speed service at home. He cannot connect to his PC at work via Remote Desktop from home - states that the machine can't be found. Indeed, it cannot. Ping requests and tracerts fail.

2. If I disable the NIC and use his Earthlink dial-up service, I can get into his PC at work with no problem. It's slllllllllllllllllllllow, but works.

Initially. I thought it might be a problem with the router. He's using a Linksys Wireless-G broadband router, which has worked fine thus far. I tried to tweak a few settings in the router, and even attempted to expose his home machine to the Internet by making it a DMZ host. All of my efforts produced no favorable results. I really can't think of anything else to tweak in the router to make this work.

Another thought I had was perhaps the ISP has some kind of block filter on VPN protocols and it can't work. I can VNC to his machine though - set that up in the router, and the Internet IP is dynamially routable, so I made the few port changes in the router and can get in with no problems. If this works, I would highly doubt that VPN services wouldn't.

Anybody have any insights or further things I could try?

Thanks!
-Michael
__________________
+AMDG+
2005 W203
Running as fast as I can to stay behind!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:26 AM
Botnst's Avatar
What knockers!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: There castle.
Posts: 35,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuctorEcclesiae
I'm trying to help my brother-in-law solve a menacing problem with his VPN.

He is trying to connect to his company's VPN via the Cisco VPN client software. I have never done this before - I've only linked VPNs together across the Internet and have little experience with the client. Here's what happens:

1. He has cable modem high-speed service at home. He cannot connect to his PC at work via Remote Desktop from home - states that the machine can't be found. Indeed, it cannot. Ping requests and tracerts fail.

2. If I disable the NIC and use his Earthlink dial-up service, I can get into his PC at work with no problem. It's slllllllllllllllllllllow, but works.

Initially. I thought it might be a problem with the router. He's using a Linksys Wireless-G broadband router, which has worked fine thus far. I tried to tweak a few settings in the router, and even attempted to expose his home machine to the Internet by making it a DMZ host. All of my efforts produced no favorable results. I really can't think of anything else to tweak in the router to make this work.

Another thought I had was perhaps the ISP has some kind of block filter on VPN protocols and it can't work. I can VNC to his machine though - set that up in the router, and the Internet IP is dynamially routable, so I made the few port changes in the router and can get in with no problems. If this works, I would highly doubt that VPN services wouldn't.

Anybody have any insights or further things I could try?

Thanks!
-Michael
Michael, I don't know squat about your question, but I am intrigued by your nome de plume. Are you a theology prof.?
__________________
'Government is like a baby:
An alimentary canal with a big appetite at one end and
no sense of responsibility at the other'
- Ronald Reagan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2005, 07:47 AM
MedMech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The ISP could be blocking the port, are you using a VPN Router? Where does tracert fail?

A simple set up is SSH sentinel on one end and VPN Router on the other.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2005, 12:28 PM
TwitchKitty's Avatar
Just fix it
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Varies
Posts: 3,322
google: vpn turorial

I googled: vpn tutorial cisco linksys, the first return was:
http://www.homenethelp.com/vpn/router-client-problems.asp

There were more interesting looking hits.
__________________
And that's the way it is. Sorry if this is not what you wanted to hear. I reserve the right to be wrong, others take the liberty. My posts are not intended to be complete, just enough to help you find your own answers. Don't let the Relevance Paradox get you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2005, 02:40 PM
Achieving Salvation
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Madison, Wis.
Posts: 223
Thanks for the replies. I'm going to bet money that it has something to do with his ISP - he has used the VPN client at hotels and in other high speed "areas", and he can get on with no problems. I will check with the ISP and see what I can come up with there.

As for my "nom de plume" - it's latin for "one who builds up or gives rise to the Church." I was just ordained a Catholic priest this past May, and I've used that username on some other online services ... something subtle and intriguing.

Will keep you updated on what I find out about this VPN thing ...

Thanks!

Pax,
Michael
__________________
+AMDG+
2005 W203
Running as fast as I can to stay behind!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page