Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2006, 06:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 510
Help! TV/DISH/HOME THEATER hook up

GEEEZZZZ! I remember when you just plugged it in, wiggled the rabbit ears, and watched Gunsmoke on TV.

OK, I have a new TV, a sat dish reciever, and a home theater system. Should be a simple hook up, but I can't figure it out! I wanna run the Dish through the theater system for surround sound even just watching the dish. I can make hook ups but the surround still only works with the built in DVD player.

Any AV heads out there that could give me a walk through??

Thanks!

__________________
Mark
1983 300TD Wagon
Even a broken watch is right twice a day
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2006, 07:27 PM
Dubyagee's Avatar
All fields are required
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SE
Posts: 6,010
What kind of tuner, dish company and does your tuner control video inputs?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2006, 07:49 PM
450slcguy's Avatar
Don't Tread on Me
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 613
Not sure about sat., but on cable you need to connect a digital optical audio out cable from the tuner box into your home theater audio optical in jack. Then connect your +/- speaker wires to your home theater speaker out jacks. Make sure you disable your built in TV speakers if it has them. I have 6 speakers, Left Front, Right Front, Right Rear, Left Rear, Front Center, Rear Center, and then the Amplified Sub Woofer. Each speaker needs to be assigned and then the audio speaker levels need to be adjusted individually for maximum surround separation, dependant on your listening location.

Hi-DEF? You need special video cables for that also. I spent $100+ just for the correct cables, gold plated of course. Same hookup idea, connect component video out on tuner to component video in on home theater, then component video out from theater system to component video in on TV. Using the correct cables is paramount for HI-DEF, digital audio, and use only high quality speaker wire, very important for sound quality.

Not really complicated, but you need to carefully study your Home theater setup instructions.
__________________
Question Authority before it Questions you.

Last edited by 450slcguy; 11-04-2006 at 08:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2006, 08:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 510
Actually, I don't think I get there from here! The theater system has no video feed imput that I can see...interesting thing it does a seperate audio imput so you can hook another audio source which is pretty stupid since the unit plays dvd and has built in am/fm reciever....but hooking the dish audio into the unit produces no sound

I didn't pick this system it was a gift I should have returned it....I didn't like it when I got it. So I guess I'll watch the sales for a new surround unit and move this POS to the shop.
__________________
Mark
1983 300TD Wagon
Even a broken watch is right twice a day
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2006, 09:24 PM
MedMech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What is your output? Optical, coaxial. For most Dish tuners you have to designate DD Optical output.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2006, 09:27 PM
450slcguy's Avatar
Don't Tread on Me
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mismost View Post
Actually, I don't think I get there from here! The theater system has no video feed imput that I can see...interesting thing it does a seperate audio imput so you can hook another audio source which is pretty stupid since the unit plays dvd and has built in am/fm reciever....but hooking the dish audio into the unit produces no sound

I didn't pick this system it was a gift I should have returned it....I didn't like it when I got it. So I guess I'll watch the sales for a new surround unit and move this POS to the shop.
OK, your unit doesn't support video input. If your theater system has an digital/analog audio input (it should), you should be able to run an audio cable from your sat. box to that input jack. The on-screen setup menu for the home system would have to be switched that audio input (AUX) , it probably defaults to main CD input.
__________________
Question Authority before it Questions you.

Last edited by 450slcguy; 11-04-2006 at 09:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2006, 06:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 510
You're right it does have aux imput left/right....I'll dig further into that. Thanks.

__________________
Mark
1983 300TD Wagon
Even a broken watch is right twice a day
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page