Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2007, 11:15 AM
LaughingGravy's Avatar
Mmm.... Diesel.
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: N. NJ
Posts: 434
Print server help needed

I have a netgear print server that plugs into an electrical outlet for power.
One end goes into the printer like a regular printer cable, then there's a hole to plug in a network cable, so the printer can be plugged into the network.

Upon setting up the print server, I mistakenly assigned it the IP address of the server itself. This created a conflict and knocked everyone off tcp/ip wise. Bunch of ticked off people, no internet connection for any of them and no connection to the shared drives.
I unplugged the print server from the whole thing and rebooted the server.
I had to stop and restart DCHP in order to get anyone back on.
I uninstalled the netgear print server software.

Windows 2000 Small Business Server:
Where do I look to make sure I won't bump everyone off again in order to make sure there is no 'print server' assigned if I plug the cable back in.
Prior to uninstalling the netgear print server software, if I plugged the printer in again, it knocked everyone off, with the same IP conflict.
I want to re-install the netgear print server again, not making the IP address mistake again, but I need a place to check first to make sure all was properly removed. I don't want these folks ticked at me two days in a row.

Any gurus out there?

__________________
'83 300TD, 234K with Euros and antique plates. No inspection, No registration fees, Cheap insurance
"If my calculations are correct, when this baby hits 88 miles per hour, you're going to see some serious %$&^."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:50 PM
300SD81's Avatar
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: University of Georgia
Posts: 1,082
If you used static DHCP from Win2003 to set the IP, just delete it, and set a different one. If its set on the print server, there should be a reset button somewhere on the back. Plug in power, but not network, and hold the button in with a pen until the lights do something..
Attached Thumbnails
Print server help needed-dhcp.jpg  
__________________
Ich liebe meine Autos!

1991 Mercedes-Benz 560SEL | Megasquirt MS3-Pro | 722.6 transmission w/ AMG paddles | Feind Motorsports Sway Bar | Stinger VIP Radar | AntiLaser Priority | PLX Wideband O2 | 150A Alternator | Cat Delete
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD | Blown engine, rebuilding someday...
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD | Rear ended, retired in garage.
2009 Yamaha AR230HO | Das Boot

Excessive speeding? It ain't excessive till I redline!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2007, 03:13 PM
diametricalbenz's Avatar
The Crowbar of Embriage
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,510
Which unit is it? One of the PS110 or something similar Netgear printservers?

The easiest way is to remove it from the network and configure it separately. Then assign it a high IP that the DHCP won't use (and or restrict the address as 300SD81 mentioned) such as 250 or so unless the client software can resolve the print server automatially for each of the users.

Last edited by diametricalbenz; 02-28-2007 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2007, 03:34 PM
LaughingGravy's Avatar
Mmm.... Diesel.
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: N. NJ
Posts: 434
Thanks, but it's a little tiny plug-in box, a Netgear PrintServer PS101.
No physical reset that I can find.
Nothing listed under "reservations".
I don't know if the 003 Router is indeed that print server in the second picture.
My options are delete and refresh.
Refresh does nothing, and if I delete and that's not it, I have no idea how to get it back..
Attached Thumbnails
Print server help needed-dhcp.jpg   Print server help needed-dhcp2.jpg  
__________________
'83 300TD, 234K with Euros and antique plates. No inspection, No registration fees, Cheap insurance
"If my calculations are correct, when this baby hits 88 miles per hour, you're going to see some serious %$&^."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2007, 03:47 PM
300SD81's Avatar
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: University of Georgia
Posts: 1,082
It should be listed under Address Leases if the print server is using a DHCP assigned address. If you don't care that all your computers get different IPs, just delete everyhting under there. Otherwuse, you'll have to figure out which one it is. If the print server was configured with a static IP, and theres no reset, you'll have to put it on its own network and reset the IP to something that won't conflit.
__________________
Ich liebe meine Autos!

1991 Mercedes-Benz 560SEL | Megasquirt MS3-Pro | 722.6 transmission w/ AMG paddles | Feind Motorsports Sway Bar | Stinger VIP Radar | AntiLaser Priority | PLX Wideband O2 | 150A Alternator | Cat Delete
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD | Blown engine, rebuilding someday...
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD | Rear ended, retired in garage.
2009 Yamaha AR230HO | Das Boot

Excessive speeding? It ain't excessive till I redline!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2007, 04:09 PM
LaughingGravy's Avatar
Mmm.... Diesel.
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: N. NJ
Posts: 434
I don't have another network.
Could I just install the Print server software onto a PC, unconnected to the network and use that? Network cable plugged into the PS101 box?
__________________
'83 300TD, 234K with Euros and antique plates. No inspection, No registration fees, Cheap insurance
"If my calculations are correct, when this baby hits 88 miles per hour, you're going to see some serious %$&^."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2007, 04:24 PM
300SD81's Avatar
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: University of Georgia
Posts: 1,082
Yeah, do you have an extra hub? You need either a hub/switch/router between the pc and print server or a crossover cable.
__________________
Ich liebe meine Autos!

1991 Mercedes-Benz 560SEL | Megasquirt MS3-Pro | 722.6 transmission w/ AMG paddles | Feind Motorsports Sway Bar | Stinger VIP Radar | AntiLaser Priority | PLX Wideband O2 | 150A Alternator | Cat Delete
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD | Blown engine, rebuilding someday...
1981 Mercedes-Benz 300SD | Rear ended, retired in garage.
2009 Yamaha AR230HO | Das Boot

Excessive speeding? It ain't excessive till I redline!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-28-2007, 05:59 PM
diametricalbenz's Avatar
The Crowbar of Embriage
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,510
There should be a reset button by the power connector. My PS110 has one. Definitely try configuring it away from the rest of the active users first.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page