Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:10 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Can't put new Vista computer to sleep.

Service tech [in india] said that it does not work with a wireless mouse.
If this is true is there a workaround?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 275
On my parents' laptop, sleep is pushing the turn off button. To actually turn it off, there's a little triangle next to the shut off button that provides an actual shut off control. Makes sense to me .
__________________
1984 300TD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:26 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by tankdriver View Post
On my parents' laptop, sleep is pushing the turn off button. To actually turn it off, there's a little triangle next to the shut off button that provides an actual shut off control. Makes sense to me .
The keyboard has a half moon button that putes into sleep but it comes back on in 30min.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:27 PM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,241
A wireless mouse is still connected to the pc the same way, the India man has no idea what he is talking about. (as usual) He just told you something to get you off the line.

What does the system do when you choose "stand-by" or are you trying to "hibernate" it? I'd recommend that, it comes on almost as fast, and saves even more power than "sleep".

I have a wireless mouse on my XP system, and it does stand-by and hibernate just fine....I am 99.9% sure it'd not be because of the mouse. Wireless mice usually go to sleep themselves after a couple mins of not being moved....
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 88k - mine - (OC-91,200)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 16k - wifes (OC-17k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 159k - mine (OC-160,000)
'01 E320 - 179k - dad's (OC-182,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 133k - dad's (OC-132,500)
'01 SL500 - 52k - dad's (OC-52,000)
'16 E400 4matic Sedan - 70k - Brothers (OC-72,000)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:33 PM
The Clk Man's Avatar
Saved By Grace
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Heaven Bound
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420 benz View Post
Service tech [in india] said that it does not work with a wireless mouse.
If this is true is there a workaround?
Have you tried Anvil PM?
__________________
For the Saved, this world is the worst it will ever get.
For the unSaved, this world is the best it will ever get.

Clk's Ebay Stuff BUY SOMETHING NOW!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:47 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawoSD View Post
A wireless mouse is still connected to the pc the same way, the India man has no idea what he is talking about. (as usual) He just told you something to get you off the line.

What does the system do when you choose "stand-by" or are you trying to "hibernate" it? I'd recommend that, it comes on almost as fast, and saves even more power than "sleep".

I have a wireless mouse on my XP system, and it does stand-by and hibernate just fine....I am 99.9% sure it'd not be because of the mouse. Wireless mice usually go to sleep themselves after a couple mins of not being moved....
It has Lock and Sleep no stand by.This mouse worked on my old XP
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2009, 08:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420 benz View Post
The keyboard has a half moon button that putes into sleep but it comes back on in 30min.
What I meant was that on their laptop, the off button (circle with the line in it) doesn't actually turn it off, it puts it in sleep mode.
__________________
1984 300TD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:01 PM
Hatterasguy's Avatar
Zero
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Milford, CT
Posts: 19,307
I have the same problem with mine if I hit the sleep button, it will wake up after awhile. But if I shut off my wireless mouse it won't do it. The only thing I can think of is every half hour or so the wireless mouse must wake up and ping the computer or something.
__________________
2020 GMC Sierra Denali
2007 Tiara 3200
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LA - the state
Posts: 146
420 Benz,

I have a new computer and just two days ago experienced the same problem, except that it would wake up within 60 seconds. Tech in India told me the same, that wireless keyboards and mice were not compatible with vista.

I had two mice plugged in. Disconnecting one of them solved the problem.

Maybe disconnect and reconnect your mouse?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:11 PM
KarTek's Avatar
<- Ryuko of Kill La Kill
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bahama/Eno Twp, NC
Posts: 3,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420 benz View Post
The keyboard has a half moon button that putes into sleep but it comes back on in 30min.
Do you have Norton anti-virus? I have it and it does the same thing: Won't let the computer auto-hibernate and it turns it back on after a while if you force hibernation.
__________________
-Evan


Benz Fleet:
1968 UNIMOG 404.114
1998 E300
2008 E63


Non-Benz Fleet:
1992 Aerostar
1993 MR2
2000 F250
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:22 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarTek View Post
Do you have Norton anti-virus? I have it and it does the same thing: Won't let the computer auto-hibernate and it turns it back on after a while if you force hibernation.
Norton came with a 60 day trail. One of the techs. said it was the problem but for some reason it would not allow me to uninstall it. I was going to replace it with AVG 8.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:54 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Now the monitor will shut off but not the computer.After 15 min. it comes back on.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:07 PM
Kuan's Avatar
unband
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: At the Birkebeiner
Posts: 3,811
Is it discovering something and then waking up?
__________________
You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows - Robert A. Zimmerman
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:07 PM
KarTek's Avatar
<- Ryuko of Kill La Kill
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bahama/Eno Twp, NC
Posts: 3,258
Try:

http://service1.symantec.com/Support/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2005033108162039
__________________
-Evan


Benz Fleet:
1968 UNIMOG 404.114
1998 E300
2008 E63


Non-Benz Fleet:
1992 Aerostar
1993 MR2
2000 F250
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-13-2009, 10:22 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
I'll give it a try.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page