Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:08 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,212
damn router!

piece of crap is dropping me every like 5 minutes now. The only changes I have made to my comp have been go to panera and use their wifi and then install Adobe CS3... that is it.

Im about to office space the pos router
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:27 PM
79Mercy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,128
you need a blog
__________________
1985 300TD Turbo Euro-wagon
1979 280CE 225,200 miles
1985 300D Turbo 264,000 miles
1976 240D 190,000 miles
1979 300TD 220,000

GONE but not forgotten
1976 300D 195,300 miles
1983 300D Turbo 175,000 miles

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...e485-1-2-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:34 PM
Fulcrum525's Avatar
Sing Blue Silver
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 2,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by 79Mercy View Post
you need a blog
I think this is just his way of calling out for computer help.
__________________
1982 300GD Carmine Red (DB3535) Cabriolet FOR SALE
1990 300SEL Smoke Silver (Parting out)
1991 350SDL Blackberry Metallic (481)

"The thing is Bob, its not that I'm lazy...its that I just don't care."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2009, 07:03 PM
iwrock's Avatar
roflmonster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hella NorCal
Posts: 3,312
What brand/model?



Have you updated the firmware?
__________________
-Justin

01 Honda S2000 - dogs dd
07 MB ML320 CDI - dd
16 Lexus IS250 - wifes dd

it's automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2009, 07:42 PM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,050
Buy a Netgear Prosafe FVS114....with the latest firmware they are probably the most stable router/firewall I have ever used. Its wired only, but if I need wireless I just add an access point. As of right now mine has been up for about 82 days. (since I last unplugged stuff to do some electrical work)....it never locks up, ever.


I'll take a guess and say the one you are currently using is either a Linksys or a D-link....right?
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 80k - mine - (OC-80,500)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 11k - wifes (OC-17k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 159k - mine (OC-160,000)
'01 E320 - 172k - dad's (OC-171,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 131k - dad's (OC-132,500)
'01 SL500 - 50k - dad's (OC-52,000)
'09 E350 4matic Sedan - 140k - Brothers (OC-141,500)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2009, 08:05 PM
JordaanDMC-12's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: La Puente, California
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDon View Post
piece of crap is dropping me every like 5 minutes now. The only changes I have made to my comp have been go to panera and use their wifi and then install Adobe CS3... that is it.

Im about to office space the pos router
Wow, I really regret reading "panera" because I want to go and have the Italian combo now, thanks TheDon lol j/k

What brand is the router?
__________________
1978 Datsun 280Z "The Skinny Car" (178,000)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2009, 09:02 PM
Inna-propriate-da-vida
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawoSD View Post
Buy a Netgear Prosafe FVS114....with the latest firmware they are probably the most stable router/firewall I have ever used. Its wired only, but if I need wireless I just add an access point. As of right now mine has been up for about 82 days. (since I last unplugged stuff to do some electrical work)....it never locks up, ever.


I'll take a guess and say the one you are currently using is either a Linksys or a D-link....right?
Never had any issue with my linksys. It's run up to 6 months without being powered off or reset.

I have had issues with other netgear stuff, so I'm a little wary of them now.
__________________
On some nights I still believe that a car with the fuel gauge on empty can run about fifty more miles if you have the right music very loud on the radio. - HST

1983 300SD - 305000
1984 Toyota Landcruiser - 190000
1994 GMC Jimmy - 203000

https://media.giphy.com/media/X3nnss8PAj5aU/giphy.gif
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2009, 10:52 PM
iwrock's Avatar
roflmonster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hella NorCal
Posts: 3,312
Cisco...



Valuepoint Access Points...
__________________
-Justin

01 Honda S2000 - dogs dd
07 MB ML320 CDI - dd
16 Lexus IS250 - wifes dd

it's automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2009, 10:58 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,212
its a 5 year old netgear... I did update the firmware like 6 months ago. might be time again
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2009, 01:52 AM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,050
I don't trust the home-level stuff from most any brand, even netgear.....thats why I use the small business class stuff. The one I recommended is actually a small business VPN firewall....likely why it performs so much better.
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 80k - mine - (OC-80,500)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 11k - wifes (OC-17k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 159k - mine (OC-160,000)
'01 E320 - 172k - dad's (OC-171,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 131k - dad's (OC-132,500)
'01 SL500 - 50k - dad's (OC-52,000)
'09 E350 4matic Sedan - 140k - Brothers (OC-141,500)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:11 AM
iwrock's Avatar
roflmonster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hella NorCal
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawoSD View Post
I don't trust the home-level stuff from most any brand, even netgear.....thats why I use the small business class stuff. The one I recommended is actually a small business VPN firewall....likely why it performs so much better.
Ehhh, I use enterprise level stuff at home. Nothing like a good 1 watt Access Point to make sure you get WiFi all across the house.



Maybe thats why I never have problems...


I have had problems with pretty much all the small business networking stuff.
__________________
-Justin

01 Honda S2000 - dogs dd
07 MB ML320 CDI - dd
16 Lexus IS250 - wifes dd

it's automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:30 AM
DeliveryValve's Avatar
Chairman of my Benz
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central California
Posts: 4,121
For some reason when I read the title, I was thinking you were building furniture and having problems with your router.

__________________
1983 123.133 California
- GreaseCar Veg System


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:37 AM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwrock View Post
Ehhh, I use enterprise level stuff at home. Nothing like a good 1 watt Access Point to make sure you get WiFi all across the house.



Maybe thats why I never have problems...


I have had problems with pretty much all the small business networking stuff.
Nothing wrong with that. Enterprise class is always good! But Pricey $tuff.
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 80k - mine - (OC-80,500)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 11k - wifes (OC-17k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 159k - mine (OC-160,000)
'01 E320 - 172k - dad's (OC-171,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 131k - dad's (OC-132,500)
'01 SL500 - 50k - dad's (OC-52,000)
'09 E350 4matic Sedan - 140k - Brothers (OC-141,500)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-2009, 01:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,263
I don't bother with the enterprise stuff, because technology changes fast enough that consumer-level stuff doesn't break for me before it is obsolete. For example, I have a perfectly-functioning B router, but it doesn't do newer encryption protocols so it is useless. I also have a whole bunch of 10 and 100Mbps hubs and switches that are next to useless for me, since I only have a few 100Mbps interfaces around here and they all plug into Gig-E switches. Before you know it, 10Gig-E will be out in affordable, consumer-level equipment and I'll have 10Gig-E and a few obsolete Gig-E switches.

I have good luck with Cisco/Linksys routers. I use D-link ethernet switches, because they have always preformed flawlessly (but they are not as fast as enterprise-level equipment).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:12 PM
Medmech's Avatar
Gone Waterboarding
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 117
Get a used Linksys Wrt-54GS/L and load hyperwrt or dd-wrt the opensource firmware will make your $100 router a $600 router, sorry iWrock but enterprise gear at home is silly unless the gear is free.

5 years on a router is not a bad life span.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page