Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2010, 02:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 178
Help me buy a new motherboard!

I'm utterly clueless, but some Google research has given me enough info to know that some MBs will not work.

Here's what I have: Elitegroup 945G-M3 w/ LGA775, 945G (NB) and ICH7-DH (SB). Curently have a P4 w/ HT.

I went to Newegg and cannoth find a MB with 945G and LGA775 that works with a P4.

I want something that is equilavent or better than my current board. Looking to spend under $50, but I'm flexible.

A few weeks back I posted that my computer wasn't powering up. Pressing the power button causes the fans and LED lights to go on and off but computer won't turn on. I suspect it's a MB.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2010, 02:58 PM
Yak Yak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,711
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5083739&csid=_21

That's a Biostar G41-M7 from tiger direct if the link doesn't work.

I swapped out a micro ATX MB a few months back. I was replacing an HP board. Also consider the power connectors, case size/layout, and cooling fan positioning. In hindsight I should have bought a new computer but I kept thinking I only needed one more thing...

And be ready for a hassle about re-activating Windows. A new MB = a new computer in Windows anti-piracy world. Hope you don't have an OEM license, or you'll be SOL.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2010, 11:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 178
Installed new motherboard

I decided to get a Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L motherboard because it supported my P4, plus it was a bit cheaper than the Biostar. I got it off Amazon with free shipping.

I installed the MB and connnected all the essentials. Pressed the "On" buttong and the CPU fan and case fan whirl but the monitor stays blank (I know it works) and keyboard doesn't light up. To turn off the computer I have to use the switch behind the power suppy. RESET button doesn't do anything when I press it. What did I do wrong?

1. Is this a sign of a bad CPU?
2. My CMOS is open, do I need to short it to reset?
3. Did I get a bad MB? I'd hate to go through the hassle of returning the item.

I checked to make sure all connections were secure. One thing I noticed when the fans were turning is that the CPU fan was blowing toward the CPU and not out away. I don't remember it doing that on the old MB.

I looked online to see all the diagnosis and I just have more questions! This is my first attempt at fixing a computer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2010, 11:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,263
Well, to bad I didn't see this earlier, or I would have given you the standard advice. Always replace CPU, MB and memory as a unit. That is the sure path to success.

Your P4 is so outdated that it isn't funny. Hyperthreading in the P4 was so much of a joke that it was removed from Core 2. It's back in Core i7, but it's completely redone and actually works.

You can buy a CPU, MB and memory for under $100 and have something that is about four times as powerful as what you have now (well, you'll likely also need a new power supply). I prefer Intel, but AMD is certainly cheaper and that sways a lot of people.

But now to something that might actually help. I hope.

Is the speaker connected? That's an important piece, since it will beep on POST errors. If it's connected and you get nothing, it is likely a bad CPU. Most other faults will elicit beeps from the speaker. The pattern of beeps has a meaning that should be described in the motherboard documentation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2010, 11:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 178
By speakers, do you mean external speakers that plug to the speaker jack in back?

I may just get a new CPU. Current one is a P4 3.2 HT. I'm looking for something that is affordable yet faster and better. Should I get Pentium D or skip that and get a Dual Core? Would either with a speed of lower than 3.2 be better than what I already have?

Forgot to say that that my newe MB recommends a power supply rated at 500W and my current power supply is rated at 450W max, Could that be the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,263
Not the external speakers. There is a four-pin header on the motherboard that should plug into a small internal speaker. That speaker is used for the POST codes.

Any true dual-core is going to be faster than a P4. If you have HT enabled on your P4, it will almost act like a dual-core running at 1.6G. (Not quite, in that one thread must volunteer to give up its half of the CPU before the other thread can run. SMT as used in the Core i7 allows both threads to actually run at the same time on one physical core.)

Multi-core machines just work better. One thread can hose a single-core machine, whereas with more than one you have some cushion.

For power requirements, you need to add up the wattage of each part. Perhaps you don't have enough, but I would expect a P4-based machine to run at less than 450.

However, this brings up another question. Are you sure that your power supply is good? I've only had one CPU fail on me, ever, but have had many power supplies die.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2010, 02:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 178
Thanks for the info, Matt. As for the power supply, if it's dead will it still turn on the fans?

I noticed that when I install a graphics card and then plug the monitor to it, the computer (or at least the CPU fan) will fire up for a second and then stop--no signs of power.

I was really hoping that putting a new MB would be a plug and play thing. I'm sure I got all the connections on the MB done correctly. I did leave the F_AUDIO pins unconnected for now. Still need to figure out where each pin goes.

I just looked at the manual and realized that I have no wires for the MB speaker. I have it for the PWR and RESET switches. No speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2010, 02:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,263
It is potentially possible for a bad power supply to still run the fans. Probably more likely that it just doesn't do anything though. I'm guessing that you don't have a spare to swap in.

Is there a speaker on the board? The manual should say something about POST codes. Perhaps it flashes a lamp.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-09-2010, 02:54 PM
aklim's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Location: Greenfield WI, USA
Posts: 8,514
Ever thought of breaking into a museum and stealing something like that? Any particular reason you want a P4?

If you want a desktop, why not build a good one and leave it for 3 or 4 years and rebuild?
__________________
01 Ford Excursion Powerstroke
99 E300 Turbodiesel
91 Vette with 383 motor
05 Polaris Sportsman 800 EFI
06 Polaris Sportsman 500 EFI
03 SeaDoo GTX SC Red
03 SeaDoo GTX SC Yellow
04 Tailgator 21 ft Toy Hauler
11 Harley Davidson 883 SuperLow
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-2010, 05:49 PM
Yak Yak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,711
Unplug any USB devices. Leave only the monitor, keyboard and mouse plugged in.

Or try this from Tom's Hardware:
You may have simply entered one of the accursed GB 'boot-loops'; typically (though there are other causes) they are caused by a USB device that the MOBO is 'unhappy' with - so before doing this, you may want to unplug all USBs except KB and rodent (never have heard of either causing GB USB to 'spit up'...); while the system is rebooting, depress and hold the power switch until it completely shuts off; once off, either power down at the PSU switch, or unplug it; while it's off the power, momentarily short the RST_CMOS pins; power back up, enter the BIOS, do a "Load Optimized Defaults", and go into the peripherals page and disable "USB storage function" (might be labelled 'USB Legacy Support' or some such - I can't currently access my manual stacks...), do to save & exit - should be good to go...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-10-2010, 10:19 AM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,212
You are trying to save a P4 HT by finding a new Motherboard for it? You're kidding right? That CPU is ANCIENT, SLOW, and a heat producing energy sucking monster.

You can get new CPU's for $40 today that will beat it in every way, and be true dual cores!

Not to mention a motherboard for that $40 CPU that uses RAM 4x as fast, and so on.....
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 86k - mine - (OC-91,200)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 15k - wifes (OC-17k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 159k - mine (OC-160,000)
'01 E320 - 179k - dad's (OC-182,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 133k - dad's (OC-132,500)
'01 SL500 - 51k - dad's (OC-52,000)
'16 E400 4matic Sedan - 63k - Brothers (OC-64,000)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-10-2010, 10:57 AM
Yak Yak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,711
BTDT advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yak View Post
In hindsight I should have bought a new computer but I kept thinking I only needed one more thing...
If you've got less than $50 invested in the new motherboard and it's not working it might be time to rethink your strategy and consider a bare-bones upgrade kit: new mobo, new CPU and new RAM.

Did you ever positively confirm it was the mobo in the first place and not bad RAM, CPU or PS?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-10-2010, 12:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 178
I knew the P4 was old but I didn't think it was so outdated! Maybe I should have considered a CPU/MB combo. I got this desktop maybe a couple years ago and I thought it was the baddest computer, at least when compared to the one it replaced (a P3, which I'm now using while I try to fix this one).

I did consider a new system or a bare bones, but this system I'm trying to fix has a nice case and I thought a new MB would just fix it right up. I didn't positively confirm it was the MB that caused the no-startt issue, but concluded it might be based on some snooping around Google and getting some feedback here.

I may just get a new CPU. I see that Pentium D chips are pretty cheap on Ebay. But are they true dual cores? Maybe a new power supply too rated at least 500W.

Btw, current memory is 2 gigs Transcend DDR2 667. This new MB accepts DDR2 800 but it is backward compatible to 667.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-10-2010, 01:15 PM
iwrock's Avatar
roflmonster
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hella NorCal
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
I knew the P4 was old but I didn't think it was so outdated! Maybe I should have considered a CPU/MB combo. I got this desktop maybe a couple years ago and I thought it was the baddest computer, at least when compared to the one it replaced (a P3, which I'm now using while I try to fix this one).

I did consider a new system or a bare bones, but this system I'm trying to fix has a nice case and I thought a new MB would just fix it right up. I didn't positively confirm it was the MB that caused the no-startt issue, but concluded it might be based on some snooping around Google and getting some feedback here.

I may just get a new CPU. I see that Pentium D chips are pretty cheap on Ebay. But are they true dual cores? Maybe a new power supply too rated at least 500W.

Btw, current memory is 2 gigs Transcend DDR2 667. This new MB accepts DDR2 800 but it is backward compatible to 667.
Pentium D's are garbage.




If you want to stick with Intel, look for the older Core 2 Duo models, or if its in your budget, look for a Core 2 Quad.
__________________
-Justin

91 560 SEC AMG - other dogs dd
01 Honda S2000 - dogs dd
07 MB ML320 CDI - dd
16 Lexus IS250 - wifes dd

it's automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-10-2010, 02:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,263
What OS are you running on this? P4 is old stuff, could still be XP. I do not believe that XP supports more than two cores.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page