Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Yucca Valley, CA
Posts: 286
Servising the instrument cluster.... upgrades?

so i have seen some pictures where people have added a red light to monitor oil pressure or repaint the needles on their instrument clusters. I want to try to do everything at once if i can so here is what i need/want to do

1. replace speedo cable, just started intermittently hopping at low speeds.
2. repair clock with new caps
3. fix odometer
4. add the red light for the low oil pressure
5. paint the needles
6. replace the lights with LED if possible(good tip there)
7. rheostat
8. make sure cluster is well grounded

Am i missing anything? anything else i should check or do after i have pulled the cluster? are there more caps in there that i should plan on ordering to have on hand?

going to keep updating with other ideas or things if it will let me

__________________
"NEW" 1984 300D TD needs some love

Last edited by yvairguy; 02-26-2014 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,213
* LED panel lights, if possible
* Fix or bypass the panel light rheostat if it's flaky
* Run a ground wire with spade connectors from two points on the left and right sides of the metal backplane to chassis ground.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Yucca Valley, CA
Posts: 286
shoot yep forgot about the rheostat, it does have issues.... going to keep editing the post if it will let me
__________________
"NEW" 1984 300D TD needs some love
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2014, 12:41 AM
Mölyapina's Avatar
User title not in use
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Posts: 4,356
There is a guy on a Toyota forum I'm on who installed a small, flashing red LED in his cluster that runs when the key is in the lock position (I think) to simulate a burglar alarm system . He lives in Chicago and has had his cars broken into before, but never after this retrofit.
__________________
"Senior Luna, your sense of humor is still loco... but we love it, anyway." -rickymay ____ "Your sense of humor is still loco... " -MBeige ____ "Señor Luna, your sense of humor is quite järjetön" -Delibes

1982 300SD -- 211k, Texas car, tranny issues ____ 1979 240D 4-speed 234k -- turbo and tuned IP, third world taxi hot rod

2 Samuel 12:13: "David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.” And Nathan said to David, “The Lord also has put away your sin; you shall not die."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2014, 12:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11,585
As I recall the price of that rheostat is quite high for as small as it is. Unless it is falling apart try cleaning the contact area with some tuner cleaner from Radio Shack. I have used this and it will make them work again.

Otherwise you might try Ebay for used or Pelican if you want to buy one new.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,213
Could one replace the rheostat with a garden-variety potentiometer and use it to control an LM317-based dimmer circuit for the two dash bulbs? If you're using LEDs for the bulbs, the LM317 might not even need a heatsink.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2014, 07:48 AM
MS Fowler's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Littlestown PA ( 6 miles south of Gettysburg)
Posts: 2,208
Are anyone's instrument cluster lights ever too bright?
__________________
1982 300SD " Wotan" ..On the road as of Jan 8, 2007 with Historic Tags
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2014, 07:54 AM
MS Fowler's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Littlestown PA ( 6 miles south of Gettysburg)
Posts: 2,208
The speedo face on my W126 is awful. The black paint is loose all around the edges, and the numerals are faded and dull.
How can i pull the speedo needle? The W126 seems to have a positive stop internally as there is no stop pin on the face. Is indexing the needle when re-installing as straight-forward as it seems?

What I'd like to do, is to photograph the face, edit it to improve the colors, and then....what? How do i print a new face? Or do i print only the two bands and their numerals and then transfer that to a repainted face?

Is there a specific voltage I can input somewhere and know what the speedo should indicate?
__________________
1982 300SD " Wotan" ..On the road as of Jan 8, 2007 with Historic Tags
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:01 PM
I miss my MBZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 531
Ive debated scanning a speedo face, photoshopping as needed then reprinting onto an 8.5x11 sheet of 'sticker paper' - then sticking that over the entire face and seeing how the lights shine through.
sticker paper is available at any officemax/staples, but its longevity, glare and print quality may not be a step up from where you are now.
This also would not represent black well (ie - you'd do better to have black numbers on a white background
you could add icons, symbols, fix funny characters or otherwise personalize the faces.
you would need to cut some very nice circles in key places.... not sure how good this would look if it was done at home.

but if you had a spare/broken cluster..it might be worth trying.

most clusters Ive seen have a speedo needle held on by friction - you use care and multiple small levers to pull it off. put some vinyl electrical tape on the existing face to have a 'durable' surface to pry against.

voltage vs speed - could you pull the cluster, drive the car at a known speed and measure voltage generated by the speedo sensor ? usually that's a pulse so just measuring it with a Voltmeter might not work well.
or better get - get a spare speed pickup, wire it up with +12 to the cluster. Put the sensor next to your drill and try to simulate a set speed (ex: full drill speed = 85mph) then when you re-assemble, you can check it this way.
none of these are easy...how does the factory check the calibration on a speedometer ?

-John
__________________
2009 Kia Sedona
2009 Honda Odyssey EX-L
1994 Miata M-edition (salvage-rebuilt)

(insert Mercedes here)

Husband, Father, sometimes friend =)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:10 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,034
Might be useful:

MBCluster.com Mercedes W140 Instrument Cluster Repair Homepage

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w201-190-class/1638740-moman-indiglo-plasma-gauges-installation.html
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

82 300SD 145k
82 300SD 265k
87 420SEL 230k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:35 PM
is thinning the herd
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 3,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel View Post
Ive debated scanning a speedo face, photoshopping as needed then reprinting onto an 8.5x11 sheet of 'sticker paper' - then sticking that over the entire face and seeing how the lights shine through.


-John
W123 clusters are front lit, not back lit, so amount of light passing through would not be an issue.
__________________
68 280SL - 70 280SL - 70 300SEL 3.5 - 72 350SL - 72 280SEL 4.5 - 72 220 - 72 220D - 73 450SL - 84 230GE - 87 200TD - 90 190E 2.0 - 03 G500 - 06 E320CDI

Nissan GTR - Toyota GTFour - Rover Mini - Toyota Land Cruiser Diesel - Cadillac Eldorado
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11,585
I once peered into the cockpit of an ME-262. The first thing I noticed was all the instruments used the same type face and layout of every Mercedes speedo up through the 123. Either that or someone had used the faces of 123 instruments during the restoration of the aircraft.

So I guess if you find something that works you should just stick with it!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-27-2014, 04:28 PM
INSIDIOUS's Avatar
Electron spewer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Honah Lee
Posts: 10,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by MS Fowler View Post
Are anyone's instrument cluster lights ever too bright?
Sure, when it is dark out. I always run them as low as useful so they don't distract vision out the windshield.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page