Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-15-2014, 12:04 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
BTW: It does exist. I just copied and pasted the ooma home page

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-13-2014, 10:38 AM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Just dumped AT&T. Ready to connect OOMA as you can see the att modem has 3 Ethernet connections,one phone line connection and a broadband out connection. Do I need all 3 Ethernet connections?
OOMA only has one Ethernet and one home connection. Sorry can't upload photo.

Last edited by 420benz; 08-13-2014 at 12:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-13-2014, 07:48 PM
davidmash's Avatar
Supercalifragilisticexpia
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 42,640
If I'm understanding this correctly you need to run a ether from the modem to the Ooma. I used a phone line splitter and ran a phone line from the OOMA to the splitter and then one line from the splitter to the phone on my desk. The other ether ports on your modem are for what ever you want to use them for.
__________________
Sent from an agnostic abacus

2014 C250 21,XXX my new DD ** 2013 GLK 350 18,000 Wife's new DD**

- With out god, life is everything.
- God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorance that's getting smaller and smaller as time moves on..." Neil DeGrasse Tyson
- You can pray for me, I'll think for you.
- When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-14-2014, 04:18 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Didn't cancel attached yet because I thought I would wait until the xfinity modem was installed and the loma was registered so I could port my phone number. Does that sound right?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-14-2014, 05:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmash View Post
If I'm understanding this correctly you need to run a ether from the modem to the Ooma. I used a phone line splitter and ran a phone line from the OOMA to the splitter and then one line from the splitter to the phone on my desk. The other ether ports on your modem are for what ever you want to use them for.
If the modem has several Ethernet ports, it might be a router/modem and do NAT. If that's the case, you may need to log in to the modem's config page and forward some ports and/or put the OOMA box in the DMZ. (Something to look into if the OOMA box doesn't work right -- it's needed with other VoIP services.)

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page