Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2014, 11:56 AM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
VoIP questions

Decided on ooma.My questions are.
1.prices range from 50.00 to 150.00 Is the 50.00 one the same as the 150.00 one?
2. Internet speed? I have u- verse running at 18.80 download and 2.09 upload. Is that fast enough?
3. Instillation. Do I just remove phone line from the u-verse router and plug it into the ooma box and back into the router.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2014, 12:11 PM
jplinville's Avatar
Conservative
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dayton, Ohio region
Posts: 302
I can't answer #1, but 2 & 3 are both YES
__________________
1987 560SL
85,000 miles




Meet on the level, leave on the square. Great words to live by

Were we directed from Washington when to sow and when to reap, we should soon want bread. - Thomas Jefferson: Autobiography, 1821.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2014, 12:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420benz View Post
2. Internet speed? I have u- verse running at 18.80 download and 2.09 upload. Is that fast enough?
A T1 line (1.5/1.5) can carry 24 voice channels. Therefore, 2.09 up (the lower of the two) is enough capacity to carry roughly 32 VoIP lines Probably more with good compression.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2014, 12:16 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Are these per months charges? or for a unit?

My setup is ObiHai box that is connected to a PhonePower account. ObiHai was like $40 a few years ago and its $60 per year for the service.

Obihai Technology - Home
VoIP Provider Phone Power - Home & Business VoIP Phone Services
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2014, 12:30 PM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by spdrun View Post
A T1 line (1.5/1.5) can carry 24 voice channels. Therefore, 2.09 up (the lower of the two) is enough capacity to carry roughly 32 VoIP lines Probably more with good compression.
That's not an equal comparison. T1 voice channels are a dedicated bandwidth carved out on the line. Common VOIP solutions are active adjusting to the amount available on the connection. I doubt 32 lines would work (at all) over 2 mbit upload.....perhaps not from actual bandwidth usage, but from the latency that would cause.

Either way....with 18/2 uverse several lines would work just fine. U-verse has excellent network latency vs other places like Comcast/charter etc...

I think my dad is only paying about $40 something a month for two lines on vonage...
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 102k - mine - (OC-104,600)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 26k - wifes (OC-25k)
'09 Sprinter 3500 Winnebago View - 57k (OC - 63k)
'13 ML350 Bluetec - 73k - dad's (OC-75k)
'01 SL500 - 92k(km) - dad's (OC-94,000km)
'16 E400 4matic Sedan - 122k - Brothers (OC-125k)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2014, 01:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawoSD View Post
That's not an equal comparison. T1 voice channels are a dedicated bandwidth carved out on the line. Common VOIP solutions are active adjusting to the amount available on the connection. I doubt 32 lines would work (at all) over 2 mbit upload.....perhaps not from actual bandwidth usage, but from the latency that would cause.

Either way....with 18/2 uverse several lines would work just fine. U-verse has excellent network latency vs other places like Comcast/charter etc...

I think my dad is only paying about $40 something a month for two lines on vonage...
A T1 is 24 64 kilobit PCM voice channels. SPD is thinking of an E1, which is 32 channels and 2.048Mb bandwidth. VoIP is not a very efficient user of bandwidth; the IP header on each packet - typically every 40 milliseconds - consumes substantial bandwidth relative to the payload size. So you may not be able to fit 24 VoIP conversations within a T1.

That said, your Internet connection is plenty sufficient to support voice service. A voice conversation will consume on the order of 1% of the available uplink bandwidth. There are other factors than bandwidth which impact voice quality, but don't want to put everybody to sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:09 PM
davidmash's Avatar
Supercalifragilisticexpia
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 42,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420benz View Post
Decided on ooma.My questions are.
1.prices range from 50.00 to 150.00 Is the 50.00 one the same as the 150.00 one?
2. Internet speed? I have u- verse running at 18.80 download and 2.09 upload. Is that fast enough?
3. Instillation. Do I just remove phone line from the u-verse router and plug it into the ooma box and back into the router.
1. I believe there is a Bluetooth and wireless option with he higher end models. Double check the specs though.
__________________
Sent from an agnostic abacus

2014 C250 21,XXX my new DD ** 2013 GLK 350 18,000 Wife's new DD**

- With out god, life is everything.
- God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorance that's getting smaller and smaller as time moves on..." Neil DeGrasse Tyson
- You can pray for me, I'll think for you.
- When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:10 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Another question. Will here voice messages on my landline phone like? Oh and will I be able to fax.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:13 PM
davidmash's Avatar
Supercalifragilisticexpia
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 42,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420benz View Post
Another question. Will here voice messages on my landline phone like? Oh and will I be able to fax.
Yes you can fax

I don't understand the voice mail question. I think you made some typos when writing.
__________________
Sent from an agnostic abacus

2014 C250 21,XXX my new DD ** 2013 GLK 350 18,000 Wife's new DD**

- With out god, life is everything.
- God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorance that's getting smaller and smaller as time moves on..." Neil DeGrasse Tyson
- You can pray for me, I'll think for you.
- When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The slums of Beverly Hills
Posts: 8,065
I would just get a cell phone with unlimited minutes. VOIP works but in the end you're not saving that much money.

It blows my mind that ATT is still marketing 18/2 as "high speed"
__________________
CENSORED due to not family friendly words
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:30 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmash View Post
Yes you can fax

I don't understand the voice mail question. I think you made some typos when writing.
Sorry. Will callers be able to leave a message on the landline phone.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:44 PM
davidmash's Avatar
Supercalifragilisticexpia
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 42,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420benz View Post
Sorry. Will callers be able to leave a message on the landline phone.
Im confused. Normally people get a VOiP to replace a land line. Are you keeping both?

With Ooma you hook the house phones to the Ooma and use them as normal. If you home phone has an answering machine I think you have to change the number of rings the Ooma picks up on to be greater than the home phone. Then you can have your home phone take the messages. But you will not have access to them from out of the house like you would with Ooma.

Not sure if that made sense or if I understood your question.
__________________
Sent from an agnostic abacus

2014 C250 21,XXX my new DD ** 2013 GLK 350 18,000 Wife's new DD**

- With out god, life is everything.
- God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorance that's getting smaller and smaller as time moves on..." Neil DeGrasse Tyson
- You can pray for me, I'll think for you.
- When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-09-2014, 03:02 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjts1 View Post
I would just get a cell phone with unlimited minutes. VOIP works but in the end you're not saving that much money.

It blows my mind that ATT is still marketing 18/2 as "high speed"
I don't know...I think we are saving. We had a one time payment for the Obihai box and a $60/year payment for the service. That's certainly cheaper than a cell phone plan.
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-09-2014, 03:07 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmash View Post
Im confused. Normally people get a VOiP to replace a land line. Are you keeping both?

With Ooma you hook the house phones to the Ooma and use them as normal. If you home phone has an answering machine I think you have to change the number of rings the Ooma picks up on to be greater than the home phone. Then you can have your home phone take the messages. But you will not have access to them from out of the house like you would with Ooma.

Not sure if that made sense or if I understood your question.
By (landline phone) I meant the home phone I have now. It looks like you answered my question. Thanks for all of your help.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-15-2014, 12:02 PM
420benz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 961
Are any of you guys registered on this Forum?
I tried to register but they want my ooma phone number which I assume is my home phone number but that does note work. Don't know what other #i should use.

Information

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page