Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > General Discussions > Off-Topic Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2002, 03:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,841
Talking Athlon 2200+ XP (Comedy overclock)

Hmm.. bit geek this, but I'm loving my new processor.. stuck it in there yesterday, now I have more power than I know what to do with!

Don't worry though, I'm unlocking the multiplier on it soon and it should overclock to 2600+ speeds if I'm lucky. It's currently 1.8 Ghz clock and can go over 2.0 Ghz..
__________________
190E's:
2.5-16v 1990 90,000m Astral Silver
2.0E 8v 1986 107,000m Black 2nd owner
http://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall.jpghttp://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall2.jpg

Last edited by pentoman; 10-19-2002 at 12:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2002, 04:25 PM
Holson Adi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,561
What were you running before?
I now have AMD's 1.33GHz Athlon CPU and I think I can slap in that 2200+ CPU. I am just wondering if it's worth it or if I should just sink the money into the diesel :p
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2002, 08:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,841
Before I had a 1.1 Ghz running at 1.2 ghz..

i thought I'd see what the difference was, so used Sandra benchmark and got these results:

1.2 Ghz
Dry 3285 MIPS
whet 1642 MFLOPS

Multimedia benches:
Integer 6584 it/s
Floating Point 7100 it/s

2200+
Dry 4961 MIPS
Whet 2492 MFLOPS

Multimedia:
Integer 9853 it/s
Floating point 10901 it/s

Performance works out as something like 150% of what it was before.. only a 50% increase, not that much.

You'd get much more fun putting the money into the car!
__________________
190E's:
2.5-16v 1990 90,000m Astral Silver
2.0E 8v 1986 107,000m Black 2nd owner
http://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall.jpghttp://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall2.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2002, 12:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,841
Well I have just spent 2 hours and a few trying to overclock this. The process for unlocking the multiplier is very tedious and requires joining very small connectors. Anyway, Some conductive paint got spilt and the wrong connectors were joint. Result? I now have one of these, an Athlon XP 733 mhz down from 1800..

Excuse the curtains, just moved into the house
Attached Thumbnails
Athlon 2200+ XP-badoc.jpg  
__________________
190E's:
2.5-16v 1990 90,000m Astral Silver
2.0E 8v 1986 107,000m Black 2nd owner
http://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall.jpghttp://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall2.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2002, 01:51 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
you ought to be able to get the paint off. i used a medium-soft fine point mechanical pencil to overclock a 650 to 800 (don't know if that still applies to the new cpu's). lasted more than a year then started running hot. they will tend to run hotter since you have to boost the voltages a bit. since cpu's were so cheap i just got a 1GHZ which is about the max my board can do...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2002, 02:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,841
I've managed to get the paint off, thankfully! Pencil doesn't conduct well enough for these latest processors, and you need to use glue to prevent the paint flowing down the laser-cut hole and grounding the connectors.
__________________
190E's:
2.5-16v 1990 90,000m Astral Silver
2.0E 8v 1986 107,000m Black 2nd owner
http://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall.jpghttp://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall2.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2002, 03:25 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
there are micro-tip conductive pens, they run around $15. if you can get it to run over 2 GHZ then i guess it could be worth it...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2002, 03:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 157
I didnt bother unlocking my XP, it ran pretty good simply increasing the FSB. Since I have 333 ram, I was able to get it up to 166 bus (its a 1700+ which is 1.4666 ghz) and it was running 1.75 I think. Not entirely stable. it runs cool though, so my problem is voltage. Any idea how to increase it on a motherboard that doesnt allow voltage increasing? maybe connecting some bridges?

Anyway, my best stable speed was 1.65 ghz, 150 mhz.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2002, 04:53 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
the problem with changing the voltage via the bridges is that you don't know what to set it to. overclocking is pretty much trial and error when it comes to that...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2002, 04:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,841
Quote:
Originally posted by jsmith
the problem with changing the voltage via the bridges is that you don't know what to set it to. overclocking is pretty much trial and error when it comes to that...

Not these days it isn't


Try this for voltage values etc.:

http://www.ocinside.de/go_e.html?/html/workshop/socketa/xp_painting.html

later
__________________
190E's:
2.5-16v 1990 90,000m Astral Silver
2.0E 8v 1986 107,000m Black 2nd owner
http://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall.jpghttp://www.maylane.demon.co.uk/190esmall2.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-20-2002, 04:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 157
Wow! Awesome site Pentoman! Gonna attempt the modification next weekend. Might as well unlock the multiplier while I'm at it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-20-2002, 10:00 PM
jsmith's Avatar
Ronin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At Sea
Posts: 1,729
Quote:
Originally posted by pentoman
[B]

Not these days it isn't
you missed my point. the vcore voltage you get by bridging has always been known. what i meant was that you don't know if it will be stable at the voltage you select or if it will run hot etc. so if you find that it is unstable then you have to unbridge then bridge again. that's supposed to be the advantage of the overclocking-friendly MB's because you can adjust it there...
__________________
joE
1993 300e-2.8
- gone now <sigh>
"Do not adjust your mind, it's reality that's malfunctioning"
http://banners.wunderground.com/bann...L/Key_West.gif

Last edited by jsmith; 10-20-2002 at 11:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page