Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Performance Paddock

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2003, 02:52 PM
amg280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 530
F/S performance chip 400E/E420/400SE 4.2 M119

Chip will work in 92-95 400E, E420, 400SE, S420

Chip adds approx 21 horse and 23 lb ft torque. Must run 93 octane.

If you are handy installation is easy, if not I can install it into your ECU for a small charge.

PM or EMAIL me for information.
__________________
93 300D 2.5 Turbo, Black/Palomino 273K
09 E350 Black/Black 41K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2003, 08:39 AM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
Those performance claims seem a bit, um, "optimistic", and I also think it's pretty unlikely the chip requires 93 octane, since that octane's unavailable in much of the country. Can any of these claims be backed up with Dyno runs?

FWIW I've tried maybe 5 EPROM chips in my 500E, and none required more than 91 octane, and I'd be surprised if any boosted output by more than 10-15 ponies.

Not trying to burst any bubbles here; just trying to keep it real
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2003, 11:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
Hello,

Could you post as to where purchase the chip from? I had pretty good luck with a chip in the past on a 92 400e I just sold. I bought it from Precision Auto Design which is now Performance Products which no longer sells it.

The performance gain became more pronounced after I switched to 4prong platinum plugs, K&N filters, larger converters and replaced the resonator with a Y-pipe and added a Remus muffler and new distributor caps. It was louder and faster with the stock muffler.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2003, 05:15 PM
amg280's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 530
Michael,

Do you know if any of your chips you have tried removed the top speed limiter on your car? This chip does not. If not, do you know how it can be defeated? If you unplug the wheel sensors, the car wont rev past 4600
__________________
93 300D 2.5 Turbo, Black/Palomino 273K
09 E350 Black/Black 41K
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2003, 06:42 PM
Michael's Avatar
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,699
Haven't done a high-speed run in awhile. As I recall, I believe the PAD chip removed the T/S limiter, but I don't know about the others. I think the car will only go 164 or so at 6,000 rpm (my car pulled something like 6,300; I will say that regardless of chip, my car always runs to 6,300-6,400 before shifting into both 2nd and 3rd, but goes to 4th right at 6k rpm).

I don't think the chip controls this, so perhaps it's not the chip that addresses top speed, but rather something else in the LH module??
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough" --Mario Andretti

Michael
1995 E500 street car
1986 Porsche 944 Turbo S track car
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page