Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
 
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    


Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > SL Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2008, 12:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22
sl 600 wiring harness

I have a 92 sl 600 that needs a new wiring harness. Has anyone ever put one of these in? Looks pretty straight foreward until the harness sends four wires through the firewall. It looks like I will have to take out the entire interior dash to get to these wires. Is this so. I have peeled the wires back and they are really bad going to the left mass flow air meter but look ok everywhere else. Can I splice these wires without replacing the whole harness. To do so I will have to cut one end off a $2000.00 harness. Would this be stupid or should I try and replace the whole harness?Any help would be appreciated. Also I have two new throttle bodies and a new computer. If I get the harness fixed do You forsee anything else I will need to do. Thanks, Todd
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2008, 06:33 PM
Carson357's Avatar
www.stonebrew.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 1,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcs7775 View Post
I have a 92 sl 600 that needs a new wiring harness. Has anyone ever put one of these in? Looks pretty straight foreward until the harness sends four wires through the firewall. It looks like I will have to take out the entire interior dash to get to these wires. Is this so. I have peeled the wires back and they are really bad going to the left mass flow air meter but look ok everywhere else. Can I splice these wires without replacing the whole harness. To do so I will have to cut one end off a $2000.00 harness. Would this be stupid or should I try and replace the whole harness?Any help would be appreciated. Also I have two new throttle bodies and a new computer. If I get the harness fixed do You forsee anything else I will need to do. Thanks, Todd
the 600 models actually have a center harness that goes to the engine only. this harness connects to all of the fuel injectors and engine sensors, as for the air mass harneses, they can be bought seperately, i have soldered and spliced in a few of them, the replacement units wires are the same color as the original, best to solder and use shrink tubing.
__________________
1967 250 S
1967 280SE
1968 250S
1971 280 SE
1973 220
1974 280 S
1975 450 SEL
1976 220 D
1979 300SD
1983 300 SD
1985 230 TE euro
1986 280SL
1986 500 SEL euro
1986 190E 2.3
1990 300 SE
2003 C230 K
2004 C230 K
1987 560SEL
1987 300SDL now in canada
2005 C230
1998 C43 AMG Sold to DON
1993 190E 2.6
300TD Former daily driver Totaled
current:
R320 CDI
Ram 2500 Cummins
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2008, 09:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22
Thanks for the info. Just to be sure I don't need the 2000.00 harness I bought and i can buy a harness that has the screw in type connector that goes to the air flow sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2008, 09:12 PM
Carson357's Avatar
www.stonebrew.com
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 1,113
you can replace the airmass sensor harnesses seperate, i just dont remember the part number, you will need 2.
__________________
1967 250 S
1967 280SE
1968 250S
1971 280 SE
1973 220
1974 280 S
1975 450 SEL
1976 220 D
1979 300SD
1983 300 SD
1985 230 TE euro
1986 280SL
1986 500 SEL euro
1986 190E 2.3
1990 300 SE
2003 C230 K
2004 C230 K
1987 560SEL
1987 300SDL now in canada
2005 C230
1998 C43 AMG Sold to DON
1993 190E 2.6
300TD Former daily driver Totaled
current:
R320 CDI
Ram 2500 Cummins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2008, 04:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22
CARSON 357, wENT TO MERCEDES AND ACCORDING TO THEM THERE IS NO SEPERATE HARNESS OR SPLICE AVALIABLE FOR THE MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR. iF YOU COULD COME UP WITH A PART NUMBER THAT MIGHT HELP THEM FIND IT.aLSO DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA HOW TO GET THE INTERIOR OUT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WHERE THE AIRBAG IS?tHANKS, TODD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2010, 04:42 PM
600SL
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Daytona beach, FL
Posts: 10
The ETA have the defective wires soldered to the internal board. So, when the wires fail (they ALL do due to the famous Merceder Wire haerness defect), you have to either spend $12,000 for a new set of throttle bodies or have someone rebuild them. learn more about this dangerous safety defect at http://www.mercedesdefects.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2010, 04:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 212
Replacement Wiring Harnesses

I do not have an SL600, but I do have an SL500 and I have replaced three different wiring harnesses myself and I took off the ETA and sent it to BBA Reman and had them replace the wiring in the unit. I haven't had any problems since. In my opinion, attempting to "cut and splice" wiring is foolish because most of the wiring is going to be brittle and even the hard plastic connectors can disentegrate as they did on my SL.

My advice; check online for the main wiring harnesses, these will be the most expensive. I don't have my information at hand, but my source for the OEM main harness is in Ann Arbor Michigan (I can try to find it for you) and it's about half the cost of the dealer. Fastlane may be able to obtain this for you as well and their pricing will be less than dealer too. I would not be surprised that you would need all three plus the ETA. I haven't had any problems with the BBA Reman unit and it came with a lifetime warranty. Possibly a more respected reman company, Beckmann, is located in North Carolina but it is nearly three times the cost.

Some of this project is do-it-yourself, if you think its beyond your ability, check Craigslist under services and depending where you live, you can find ASE certified MBZ mechanics who work "off" the clock, on the side @$40 per hour and not @$100. I have been very lucky to have such help when needed here in Cleveland.

Good Luck, Steve
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2010, 08:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 282
This is probably why I don't work on cars much newer than about 1990. Maybe I'm missing out on something but I'd like to believe otherwise.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 08:33 PM
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page