Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > SL Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2002, 09:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
More Speed---On Your Computer???

Guys/Gals,

I'm not much on spam, but I'm compelled to spread a little.

Dale, if you think this is garbage, as the board moderator feel free to delete it and you won't hurt my feelings. However, this tech is as real as the red paint on my 500SL!!!

While the software trial is out in the public domain, the company's launch of the product, so I hear, will occur next week.

Up front, I own a BOATLOAD of stock in this company (NCT Group--NCTI.OB). I have been buying the stock for the last 12 years. They have developed a genuine Internet speed boost technology that works.

I've seen all the claims of companies claiming to do the same, as you no doubt have. However, they just demo'd the tech at the U.S. Telecommunications Association meeting in Boca Raton. Folks attending included Sen Tauzin from LA, and others from Congress. So, it was a more than just a "little get together". The industry heavy-weights were in attendance.

They claim a 4x boost over dial-up 56k modem, as well as a boost to cable, DSL and satellite. If I had one of the latter I probably would think I'm moving fast enough. However, I'm 56k dial-up and routinely get speeds in excess of 300kbps on the Artera indicator.

Go to http://www.arteraturbo.com and download a free 14-day trial of the software. If you like it, then it's only $9.99 a month. After downloading, double-click on the icon and install it. DON"T just click "next" as there are some choices (not hard) you need to make during the install, mainly having to do with using their firewall vs that of your ISP. In a word, "Don't". Suggest you also download the Performance Tuner in the Artera Program Folder and install it also. It will optimize your computer's settings. If you don't like what it does, just run it again and it will restore your settings.

Any questions, you can send me a private e-mail. I assure you I can talk for a long time about the tech and the company, not all of it necessarily good, but I assure you Artera is.

Regards,
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2002, 01:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
FOLKS, I AM FIRED UP!!!

Lest anyone think I'm trying to blow smoke up their rear-end, the company mentioned above and its technology is on page 154 of the October 04 issue of BusinessWeek. FYI, this is their second mention in BusinessWeek.

"Early last spring, Artera Group Inc. unveiled technology that enables ordinary modems to achieve broadband speeds. Initially offered to small business, the service now comes in a home version. It boosts a 56-kilobit-per-second modem's speed nearly sixfold and costs just $9.95 a month. Download software and tech specs at www.arteragroup.com."

If you aren't using broadband already I suggest you check it out. If you are using broadband (cable, DSL, etc.,) you will still get a boost.

Cheers!
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2002, 02:16 PM
larrysiny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
modem

On the site it says AOL coming soon. So does that mean in the meantime I can't use this service? (it does sound like a dumb question).
Larry '86 560 sl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2002, 03:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
Larry,

The company has not "officially announced" its compatibility with AOL. However, I just talked to a buddy of mine who is using it with AOL. In his words, "It smokes".

You don't lose anything by downloading it and trying the free trial. If it doesn't work with AOL on top, then open Internet Explorer and use it with that. Though it sounds like it is usable with AOL but the company hasn't put the word out yet.

As mentioned previously, the "launch" is next week.

Regards,
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2002, 03:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
My last post on the topic. Would be interested in knowing if anyone has downloaded the tech and tried it.

Note the names such as Compaq and Hewlett-Packard (now merged) and Verizon associated with the technology. As mentioned earlier, it's real and it has been benchmarked in the labs of Compaq and HP.

Also, the product has been in development almost two years now. So they haven't rushed it to market, but have taken their time in hopes of doing it right.


http://www.nct-active.com/pr12_6_01.htm
Artera Turbo, with six patents pending, has been in beta testing since July (2001), and its performance has been verified in the laboratories of Compaq as part of the evaluation process.

Artera Turbo provides low-cost, high-speed Internet access for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) subscribing to its service. When benchmarked in independent, third party laboratories, Artera Turbo Release I delivered the following speed improvements: 2 dial-up lines and Artera Turbo delivered an effective speed of 480 kbps, thus outperforming a 400 kbps SDSL line. DSL with Artera Turbo delivered speed improvements of 1.8 to 2.6 times. Cable modem with Artera Turbo delivered speed improvements up to 1.5 times. T1 with Artera Turbo delivered speed improvements up to 4 times. In Release II, expected in 2002, the performance enhancements will more than double those of Release I.

http://www.nct-active.com/pr11_1_01.htm
Artera Turbo, with six patents pending, has been in beta testing since July, and its performance has been verified in laboratories of manufacturers, service providers and large users. Hewlett-Packard is supporting Artera’s marketing efforts by supplying appliances for initial trials.

http://www.nct-active.com/pr7_1_02.htm
Artera Virtual Broadband™ Achieves DSL Speeds on Cell Phones

Regards,
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2003, 11:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
Just a brief update on ArteraTurbo. The company recently released an updated version (2.50) of the tech. I got about an 80% speed boost after installing the update. Whereas my "all types" downloads at http://www.toast.net were previously about 325k-375k, they now average ~525k-575k. Keep in mind this is over a 56k dial-up modem.

ArteraTurbo is now compatible with AOL.

One note: Artera will speed up your surfing, internet e-mail, etc., but it WILL NOT speed up downloads to your hard-drive. Though I believe the company is expecting to be able to do so when they come out with version 4.XXX.

Check out the free two-week trial at http://www.arteraturbo.com . No credit card info is required.
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2003, 09:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Hi,
I use 2 computers at home. One on dsl and one on dial up. I ordered the cd for the dial up, installed the software, but I had no improfment at all. Maybe it`s just my old phonelines.
Thanks for the tip though.
Hans
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2003, 10:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
Hans,

It's impossible that you didn't get any improvement...absolutely impossible. I'm dead certain of that if the program actually installed on your computer!

Not to insult your intelligence in any way, but did you run the install after completing the download??? The program doesn't install automatically unless you open the folder it's installed to and run the setup. If you click "open folder" after the download the install begins automatically. You have to answer a couple questions along the way, most significant of which is whether to use the Artera firewall or your ISP's. Use your ISP's.

FYI, I just ran the speed test at http://www.toast.net and it showed a download speed of 640k on my 48k dial-up connection. For anyone who might install the program and run the test at this site, Toast.net has had a significant increase in the hits on its servers, so there are problems in running the test at times. Tonight it ran just fine.

I know numerous people using the program and have never heard of anyone not getting any improvement at all. At a minimum you will get a 5X speed improvement on your web surfing, and it's highly likely that a person will get an 8-10X increase, often better.

Humor me and try it again if it's not too much trouble.

Thanks,
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2003, 11:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Don,
like I wrote bevore,I did not download the software from the web,that would have taken too long with my connection. I ordered the ArteraTurbo CD instead and installed the program from the CD. In my first install, I did use the aerta firewall and like I said, no Improofment. I did get the Artera window, what also shows you the connection speed. It showed ,
My Connection Online at 14400bps
Artera DataCenter Online at 10000Kbps
Still, it did not show any improfment on the speedcheck on
http://www.ba-hss.com/speedtest/speedtest500k.asp
After reading your Response, I uninstalled the program, re-instaled it, this time without the Artera Firewall. Results are the same as with the Firewall. No change, still slow.
I still think that the problem is in my phone line. I used different computers on this line and they all slow to a crawl, but if I hook my computer up at my friends house, it connects at 48 800bps instead of my 14 400.
i will call bellsouth, have them check the lines and then try again.
Hans
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2003, 01:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
Hans,

From the connection speeds in the Main Window you show, you are definitely on-line with Artera and connecting through their data center.

That is really interesting. Got a buddy who lives in the woods up in NY who often connects at speeds which you indicate you do, and he rants over the increase that he gets. Even as lousy as your phone lines are you should be getting a benefit from it because of the data compression done between your machine and their server. Their data compression ratios approach 200:1 in some circumstances.

I've never heard of (that I recall) the site you used for your speed test...though that's not necessarily a "holy grail" of proof. The proof is in how fast images download to your computer. Give the "all types" test at http://www.toast.net a try and see what you get. This is the site the company recommends since it combines images and text into one download.

You might also try Artera on your DSL connection and see what happens. It supposedly works with Cable, DSL, satellite, etc., and I've personally tested it on a cable connection. Got an immediate 33% boost.

Finally, I'd like you to contact the Artera Tech Support folks about this lack of improvement. I've been in touch with them numerous times for various things and they've always bent over backwards to provide support. This is a situation the would DEFINITELY be interested in.

Appreciate you sharing your experience even though it's not what I expected in the least. ha! The company is signing up new resellers for the tech right along. They have over 30 now and more are being announced every week. Some are pretty decent names, too.

Also appreciate you taking the time to check out Artera. As bad as your connection speed is, I'm sure you'd like to find something that would help your dial-up situation out. I still think Artera is it, but don't know why the heck it isn't working for you!!!
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-15-2003, 04:57 PM
pattywack
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well, I tried to download the free trial but I didn't get anywhere. I keep getting an error window. Must be the free trial has expired? Oh well, it was worth a try!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-15-2003, 08:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
Pattywack,

Don't know what is causing you to get an error message. Are you getting it when you go to the site, or during/after the download? Just curious. The free trial is still available, and will be, as there is no intention to discontinue it.

In fact, they have a new version of the ArteraTurbo program available....2.50.787. I downloaded and istalled it earlier this week. The old file was 9.66 meg and the new one is 10.1 meg.

I hate to hear that folks are experiencing problems, because when I installed originially as well as update new releases, it's just as seamless as doing an update off the Microsoft website. You are the second on here that I'm aware of who has had problems with the install. Wish I knew what was going on, because the program is DEFINITELY a serious virtual speed boost to the computer. I routinely continue to get speeds in excess of 600k at http://www.toast.net "All Types" download.

The company advertises a 5X speed boost to your dial-up connection speed, and is intentionally understating what the user can expect. Simply, they are content for the user to have a "better than advertised" experience.

Also, I have a friend whose DSL connect speed is 300-400k. Using Artera on top of his DSL, he routinely hits speeds in excess of 1,200k. I queried the company on this and was told the speed is realistic and, though you won't always get this speed, you will "more often than not". It also works with cable, satellite, T-1, E-1, etc.

Again, I own several hundred thousand shares of the parent company's stock. So folks need to understand that there may be some inherent bias in my comments. However, I try to maintain my objectivity, especially in a public forum such as this, and report my results along with others that I am aware of as honestly as possible.

The company continues to sign and announce resellers for the tech. They have quite a number of resellers already. There are also probably 20+ resellers I'm aware of that have not been announced yet. Here's a link to the latest this week. Note the comments about satellites: http://www.nctactive.com/pr2_11_03.htm .

You may want to give it another shot if it's not too much trouble.

Thanks,
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-16-2003, 04:29 PM
pattywack
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Tried again today and everything is downloading just fine. Could be the poor phone lines in the podunk town I live in!
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-16-2003, 06:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 471
Pattywack,

Glad to hear you're giving it another shot and things are working well...so far. ha! Hope you're as impressed with the improvement as I was. Will be interested in your impression...good or bad.
__________________
Don
'85 500SL (Euro) - 186,000 w/a complete restoration and engine rebuild at 154,000
'95 C280 - 174,000
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-16-2003, 07:04 PM
pattywack
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ok, maybe I jumped the gun a little! It downloaded just fine and when I went to install it, it said there was some sort of error that occured during download. Maybe I'll try again later.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page