Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 08-20-2004, 05:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 376
There is an additional idle switch on the throttle body itself. Three wires. I don't know if that would effect idle. I ran with mine disconnected for a while with no real noteable difference.

How is the vacuum guage reading at idle? Is it pulling the same at idle as it did prior to the repair? Look for a vacuum leak?

The EHA is the black box on the side of the fuel distributor. Ideally, if the mixture is adjusted correctly, one should be able to unplug it at idle with no change in idle speed.

Tinker

Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-22-2004, 04:53 PM
Uk Merc Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 119
right, following on....

as mentioned in my previous post the throttle microswitch has been replaced.

i got the car up to temp and unplugged EHA, no change.

at idle, when rpm is going up and down, vacuum gauge on dash is all over the place, it used to be still.

Next???

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-23-2004, 04:34 AM
Uk Merc Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uk Merc Man
right, following on....

as mentioned in my previous post the throttle microswitch has been replaced.

i got the car up to temp and unplugged EHA, no change.

at idle, when rpm is going up and down, vacuum gauge on dash is all over the place, it used to be still.

Next???

thanks
anyone......
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-23-2004, 05:42 AM
Chris Martens's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 80
Steve,

Quote:
as mentioned in my previous post the throttle microswitch has been replaced.
That's the wrong one, there is another idle switch inside the throttle body itself. Three wires as mentioned before, a plug mounted on the intake manifold where you can check the middle pin against the outer ones for continuity.

In idle condition (engine off) there has to be continuity between the middle pin and one outer pin, in full throttle between the middle pin and the other pin.

This switch does influence the idle quality!

Quote:
i got the car up to temp and unplugged EHA, no change.
No change means revs are still changing?
That sounds like a vacuum problem somewhere.

If anything else is fine and the idle switch is broken, unplugging the EHA gives a steady idle at slightly higher revs (1100/min for the 16V).

Quote:
Next???
Check the idle switch.
Check for vacuum leaks. There are some lines that could be cracked or plugged wrong somehow...

I really love this remote surgery
bis denn,
Christian

1989 300TE
1984 2.3-16
__________________
improve your German - please visit my homepage :-)
Das W124-Archiv
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-26-2004, 07:06 AM
Uk Merc Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 119
update

went to see a mate in the know...

reset my co2 mixture, was off the scale (high) when we started, now at 0.9% - car still doesnt idle but running it off idle through the revs its loads better.

Unplugging the EHA made no difference.

If left the idle does eventually stop surging and settles down to 1000rpm but still rough.

Will be looking for idle faults and bad electrical faults this weekend

any other pointers? - check my thread re tacho/idle connections?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:13 AM
Uk Merc Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 119
up.....
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-08-2005, 01:15 PM
Dan Rotigel
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Any resolution to this thread? Always like to know how these things end.

cheers,
dan
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-08-2005, 05:11 PM
Uk Merc Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 119
yeah....took it all apart again and checked everything...turns out I was a notch out on the inlet cam re-did it all and it now runs perfect, no more clatter on start up, smoother and quieter. another job off the list!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2024 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page