Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:42 PM
pchansen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 48
w140 oil pressure indication question

My Oil Pressure gauge has been "stuck" at 3 bar for about six months now. Sort of a curious problem. When the engine is off but the ignition is set to position "2"(on) , the gauge will read zero, as it should. When you start the car, the gauge has about a half second delay and then shoots to the top of the scale and stays there until the car is turned off.
I've read that this is a classic indication of the oil pressure switch is bad. Well I finally got around to ordering the replacement switch. Put it in with relative ease. Only problem is the this didn't cure the problem.

A couple of notes: The old switch would allow the needle to move ever so slightly -maybe 3.0 to 3.1 bar as the engine reved up from idle. The new switch makes the needle stick to the top (approx. 3.1 bar) with no needle waver at all.
I cross referenced the part numbers and the new part matches the old one. (004-542-94-17)
I get about 81 ohms on the old switch sitting on the bench.

Could my pressure really be that high?? At idle??


cc: benzworld.org

__________________
Paul Hansen

1997 S500 (100,000mi)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2005, 08:49 PM
KenP's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 418
My W140 pegs the oil pressure gauge with ease at idle when the engine is cold. It doesn't drop down at idle until the engine is warmed up... then it drops to about 2.
What's your reading when the engine is hot?
__________________
KenP

1996 S500 W140 Coupe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:09 PM
pchansen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 48
Hot as defined by 90c on the coolant gauge and about 15 minutes if driving - still pegged.
__________________
Paul Hansen

1997 S500 (100,000mi)

Last edited by pchansen; 07-07-2005 at 09:10 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2005, 01:54 PM
KenP's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 418
Well, it wouldn't be the first time that a new, replacement part was as bad as the part being replaced. or, you may have a problem in the harness or cluster (ouch).
Only way to be really sure of what's going on is to remove the electrical sensor and put in a temporary mechanical pressure gauge to see the actual pressure... and then go from there.
__________________
KenP

1996 S500 W140 Coupe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2005, 08:30 PM
pchansen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 48
As soon as I get home (Sunday), I'll run a gauge cluster test and do exactly what you say- verify the pressure with a mechanical gauge. Hopefully, it's not the cluster.
Also, does anyone know if an open circuit will cause zero deflection or full deflection of the gauge?

Thanks again everyone
__________________
Paul Hansen

1997 S500 (100,000mi)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2005, 08:47 PM
Moneypit SEL's Avatar
Now what?
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 525
On mine, an open circuit caused the gauge to peg at 3 bar. For a while, I just thought I had Really Good oil pressure.

You can check yours by disconnecting the oil pressure sender (thus creating an open circuit) and watching what the gauge does then.
__________________
1989 300 SEL that mostly works, but needs TLC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:29 PM
pchansen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moneypit SEL
On mine, an open circuit caused the gauge to peg at 3 bar. For a while, I just thought I had Really Good oil pressure.
Thanks for the response moneypit SEL,

I'm starting to think that I may have a loose wire somewhere.
Any ideas from this point? - like helping me trace the wire to where ever it goes?
__________________
Paul Hansen

1997 S500 (100,000mi)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:45 PM
Moneypit SEL's Avatar
Now what?
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchansen
Thanks for the response moneypit SEL,

I'm starting to think that I may have a loose wire somewhere.
Any ideas from this point? - like helping me trace the wire to where ever it goes?
Don't make it hard on yourself. Disconnect the wire at the oil pressure sender. Turn the key on. The gauge will peg at 3 bar if it's like mine. With the key still on, ground the wire you removed from the sender. The gauge will drop to 0. You've just vetted the gauge and wiring. The only thing left is the sender, which I'm guessing has an open circuit somewhere between 0 and 1 bar.
__________________
1989 300 SEL that mostly works, but needs TLC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2005, 10:09 PM
pchansen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 48
I'll have to wait to Sunday to find out. My only question is why would the gauge read zero with the ignition on (connected to the sensor). With this in mind, why would shorting the wire yield a different result?
__________________
Paul Hansen

1997 S500 (100,000mi)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-08-2005, 10:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: around Charlotte NC
Posts: 578
could be the spring in the sender

I had a sender unit that failed. The internal spring must have broken. It would stay at 3 when running, would sometimes go to 0 when turned off. If you have a mechanical guage it should be an easy check. I don't think the sender was expensive, that could be another easy thing to try.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-08-2005, 11:40 PM
Moneypit SEL's Avatar
Now what?
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchansen
I'll have to wait to Sunday to find out. My only question is why would the gauge read zero with the ignition on (connected to the sensor). With this in mind, why would shorting the wire yield a different result?
Mebby because you have zero oil pressure with the key on and the engine not running.
__________________
1989 300 SEL that mostly works, but needs TLC
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-09-2005, 12:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,804
I believe your car has good oil pressure and is reading correctly.
140 chassis used two different OP senders [ B/5].. If you have the single terminal one , the sensors resistance increases as pressure increases . No connection will result in Zero pressure.
There is a micro processor [A] at the gauge for the 2 terminal set up that is in conjuntion with the oil level warning system . If the oil pressure drops to zero and the lamp lights, the is no pressure . If zero and no lamp, there is a wire disconnect.
Do you have the single wire sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:01 AM
pchansen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Dalton
Do you have the single wire sensor?
Yes, if you are referring to the single pole on the end of the pressure sensor (called pressure switch in the parts catalog)
Thanks for the info-
__________________
Paul Hansen

1997 S500 (100,000mi)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-09-2005, 10:51 AM
Moneypit SEL's Avatar
Now what?
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Dalton
I believe your car has good oil pressure and is reading correctly.
140 chassis used two different OP senders [ B/5].. If you have the single terminal one , the sensors resistance increases as pressure increases . No connection will result in Zero pressure.
Pardon the interuption, but I am now confused. If the resistance increases as the pressure increases, wouldn't no connection = infinite resistance = max pressure on the gauge?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Dalton
There is a micro processor [A] at the gauge for the 2 terminal set up that is in conjuntion with the oil level warning system . If the oil pressure drops to zero and the lamp lights, the is no pressure . If zero and no lamp, there is a wire disconnect.
Do you have the single wire sensor?
Not to completely hijack the thread, but do you know why MB made the oil pressure and level sensor so complex? On my old sled, they are seperate, and appear to work fine. What benifit is there for combining level and pressure and hanging a computer on the whole thing?
__________________
1989 300 SEL that mostly works, but needs TLC
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-09-2005, 04:28 PM
pchansen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 48
Good question! I am a bit confused as well. As soon as I get home tomorrow I'll start trouble shoothing the system and post the results.

__________________
Paul Hansen

1997 S500 (100,000mi)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPDATE - 560SEL Oil Pressure - SUCCESS!! moedip Tech Help 5 10-06-2008 07:48 PM
. . head gasket or radiator for W140 JimF Tech Help 34 06-12-2005 02:15 AM
Oil coming UP the cyclone drain tube!!! Fisherman Diesel Discussion 23 04-29-2005 02:17 PM
The last oil thread EVER*! Rahulio1989300E Tech Help 17 04-06-2005 07:41 PM
My semi-definitive oil post JHZR2 Diesel Discussion 0 01-21-2004 01:25 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page