Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:31 AM
syljua's Avatar
C140 CL500
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 132
Question W140 - MCS (lumbar) - no pressure from PSE

Hello,

I have a 1998 S320 where I cannot get the lumbar support to
function. Since this has not ever functioned in my possesion of
the car, I do not know if the rest of the system after the PSE pump is faulty
or not (bladders in seats, switches, lines and reservoir in trunk).

My problem is, that I do not get the PSE to pump on that line at all.

All other functions of the PSE, like Central locking, head rest release,
trunk handle retract, A/C Rest supply works fine.

I have even dismanteled the PSE pump (great device:-)!)
to see if there was any obvious faults like stuck piston, etc;
(click on it to get a larger one)



This is a more closeup of the switch for the MCS (lumbar) pressure.
When pressure is reached, the piston slide down and opens the contact
under det disc;



There seems to be nothing wrong with the mechanical operation
of that switch, but like I said, I cannot get the pump to operate
at all. I know that the PSE is connected to the diagnostics module,
but sould not the error code (if the problem is a error code) be gone
after I have disconnected the battery? Or is the diagnostic module
telling the PSE pump not to operate the lumbar? Do I have to get
a dealer to enable it?

I think the lumbar pump should be active 4 seconds after the engine is
turned on? Or after ignition is turned on? As I can see, no other electrical
switches regulate the lumbar?

br,
syljua
W140 S320 1998
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2005, 07:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: around Charlotte NC
Posts: 573
try the fuse to reset

syljua,

I believe that pump learns about each circuit, either vacuum or pressure. If it cannot acheive its goal in some time period ( not sure how long) it will mark that circuit as inactive. I have heard if you take out the fuse ( #9 in the trunk fusebox) for 30 or so seconds, it will reset the disable.

THe longer term question is why didn't it work in the allotted time. That is sometimes a weak pump, or it could be other causes like a leak.

Chuck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire Tech Luke@tirerack Wheels & Tires 3 12-13-2006 03:32 PM
High Oil Pressure Joseph_H Tech Help 22 03-04-2003 12:07 PM
Leak down v. compression test Potomac Pat Tech Help 8 05-11-2002 03:09 AM
Oil Pressure Mystery Mercedes Man Diesel Discussion 2 04-24-2002 10:33 PM
self leveling suspension question Wael El-Dasher Performance Paddock 8 03-19-2000 11:28 AM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page