Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:05 PM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 34,772
ac cutting in and out

i noticed the ac on my 90 350sdl was not working too well on a recent trip. my first thought was low freon. then i noticed that the car seemed to be missing out from time to time. finally i realized that the ac compressor was cutting in and out by the clutch.

so,... do they cut in and out if freon is low? or is is likely a problem with the clutch itself?

tom w

__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:24 PM
1991300SEL's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 545
I would be suspicious of:

- Klima relay
- Bad wiring at or to the clutch
- Faulty ignition switch - this can cause you to lose a/c

Others will chime in with their opinions.
__________________
'91 300-SEL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2005, 12:59 PM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 34,772
more detail

it will cut in and out every second or two.

tom w
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2005, 01:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: RI shore
Posts: 2,937
there's a number of things that can cause this. one is a restriction downstream from the high pressure switch or a bad switch. The pressure goes up until the switch is opened, which causes the compressor to cut out, which causes the pressure to drop, which causes the pressure switch to make, which causes the compresor to engage again, which increases the pressure until the switch opens, etc, over and over.
__________________
'82 300SD - 361K mi - "Blue"

"Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement."

listen, look, .........and duck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2005, 01:10 PM
1991300SEL's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by t walgamuth
it will cut in and out every second or two.

tom w
I'm not an a/c guru, but that quick of a cycling rate sounds more like an elect. issue. - electrical as in a/c elect. circuit(s). I'd be suspicious of bad clutch wiring or elect. connection(s) at that point.

Just my 2 cents.
__________________
'91 300-SEL
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2005, 07:02 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
I can probably help you troubleshoot it, Tom, if the Klima sockets are the same as the '87.

As others have suggested, it can be a slew of different possibilities.........impossible to pin down without further tests.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2005, 01:09 AM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 34,772
well

i dont know what a klima socket is. but i would guess that they are the same as an 87.

tom w
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2005, 12:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by t walgamuth
i dont know what a klima socket is. but i would guess that they are the same as an 87.

tom w
There is a relay called the "Klima". It's about the size of a pack of cigarettes and is found between the firewalls in front of the driver. It just unplugs from the sockets.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:19 AM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 34,772
thanks

brian, i am not going to try to fix it myself. i was just getting some ideas. about all we can do is shoot some freon into it. i was hoping everyone would say "just shoot some freon into it and everything will be cool". i suppose i will just break down and take it in. may be we'll shoot some freon into it anyway, first.

tom w
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2005, 01:50 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by t walgamuth
brian, i am not going to try to fix it myself. i was just getting some ideas. about all we can do is shoot some freon into it. i was hoping everyone would say "just shoot some freon into it and everything will be cool". i suppose i will just break down and take it in. may be we'll shoot some freon into it anyway, first.

tom w
Tom, there are at least 10 good ideas. But, only one of them will be applicable to your vehicle. That's where troubleshooting comes in. It's not all that difficult to work through it and determine what the situation is. This is especially valuable with the electrical system, because many mechanics don't have a clue how to approach it.

I would have thought that you would take a more diligent engineering approach rather than the rather hopeless shotgun approach.

Nobody with any knowledge of these systems would ever tell you to "just shoot some freon into it and everything will be cool". You know better than that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-18-2005, 09:20 AM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 34,772
brian

you are right. but i am too old to learn about something that i am not interested in. i only have so much time and energy and ac just doesnt interest me. shooting in some freon is easy and we have the stuff to do it. it doesnt seem too likely to work but we may try it any way just in case.

thanks for your attempt to help.

tom w
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-18-2005, 09:52 AM
1991300SEL's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 545
shoot refrigerant into a system that's properly charged and you'll now a system that "short cycles".

The pressure swicth will detect an over-supply of juice and cut the compressor off. the system will turn on-off more rapidly than it should and you'll get inadequte cooling.

more is not better when it comes to refrigerant.

just put the car in the shop
__________________
'91 300-SEL
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-18-2005, 09:58 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by t walgamuth
you are right. but i am too old to learn about something that i am not interested in. i only have so much time and energy and ac just doesnt interest me. shooting in some freon is easy and we have the stuff to do it. it doesnt seem too likely to work but we may try it any way just in case.

thanks for your attempt to help.

tom w
.........yes, I can sure sympathize. But, the a/c system is a bit complicated and, I'm in agreement with 300SEL. If you don't have the knowledge or the skills, just bring it to a qualified mechanic.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-18-2005, 08:32 PM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 34,772
so

i dropped the sdl off at the ac shop this afternoon. i described what it was doing and he said.... get this... probly just low on freon!

heh heh. my luck if it is..oh well, if that is all it is it will still be a pretty cheap fix.

tom w
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-18-2005, 09:53 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by t walgamuth
i dropped the sdl off at the ac shop this afternoon. i described what it was doing and he said.... get this... probly just low on freon!
..........why am I not at all surprised..................

Hope you get lucky.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page