Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2005, 06:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 30
Angry W140 idle speed

Can anyone tell me how to increase the idle speed of my w140 S280 which has the M104 engine. The problem is when I select drive, the idle speed goes down to 500rpm, and the engine struggles a bit.
Many thanks,
Lester

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:31 AM
pcmaher's Avatar
Big Black V12
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 430
Not familiar with the 280, but if it's like other W140's, idle speed is computer controlled...not adjustable.
__________________
1995 S600, 1 of 618 (sold)

"Speed is just a question of money...how fast you wanna go?"

LONG LIVE THE W140!
Visit my Web Page at www.v12uberalles.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2005, 07:04 PM
Mercedes Benz Tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pasadena, Ca.
Posts: 13
W140 Idle speed

Hi Lester,
I would bet that you have a dirty throttle plate. Not knowing what year your car is, I can't tell you how or what to remove to see the throttle plate - (there is an early and a late 104 engine, and the air intake ducting systems are different. ) But - if you can remove what you need to in order to see the
throttle plate, have someone step on the throttle all the way ( engine OFF )
and look at the edge of the plate and the side walls of the throttle housing
to see if there is any carbon build up. If there is, the amount of air coming in at idle is restricted and idle will be too low. Take a can of carb spray and a
rag covered screw driver tip and clean the throttle housing and plate. Try not to use too much spray as car will be hard to start afterward. But once the throttle housing is clean, you should notice an increase in idle speed.
( please do this at your own risk - no responsibility assumed. )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2005, 11:56 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
If the car is new enough there is a correction program in the diagnostic computer that can set the idle speed higher. It would probably have to be a ME system not a HFM, which means 97 or later.

__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page