Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2006, 04:41 PM
BurBenz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 55
Transmission fluid change

Hi all,
I have 2000 S500. I am here again with questions?
I would like to change my transmission fluid with my mechanic. I read through all related post and found that the new fluid should be pour into transmission TUBE. Where is this tube located? Is it the same with the dipstick tube? I will buy the dipstick tools and new cap, but not able to proceed unless i am sure where to refill back.
Thanks.
Appreciate your feedback.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2006, 08:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Posts: 2,463
Dipstick tube and fill tube are one and the same. It's likely capped and at the rear of the engine. Your car probably does not have a torque converter which is too bad I think because you won't be able to drain out but about half of your old ATF if that.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2006, 09:22 PM
BurBenz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 55
Thank you for your reply.
It is my astonishment that my car does not have torque converter. I was all the while thinking to drain or not to drain TC. In this case how do I drain all liquid? How many liters will come out from normal drain w/o TC?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:17 AM
Hirnbeiss's Avatar
ich fahre, also bin ich
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,664
Question Why wouldn't he have a torque converter?

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:05 AM
86560SEL's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: east Tennessee (southeast USA)
Posts: 3,015
We don't know........
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Monrovia, CA
Posts: 496
Maybe he meant that there isn't a torque converter drain plug. Just a guess...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:17 AM
BurBenz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 55
Sorry for all of your confusions.
I did not say i don't have a TC. I am following someone's reply. I want to make 100% sure before I open oil pan.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Posts: 2,463
Yes, he meant torque converter drain plug.

Sorry about that.

You've got several choices I guess:

1. Change the ATF that you can via the pan several times in quick succession.
2. Change the ATF on a more frequent interval.
3. Have someone do a flush via the cooler lines which would probably be my third choice.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,182
My 94 legend doesn't have a TC drain plug (do any cars other than MB?) so I drain and fill 3 (of 7) qts every 10K miles....It's the dilution method but has worked great.
__________________
82 300D....went to MB heaven
90 350 SDL....excercising con rods
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-2006, 02:02 PM
skiier3_9's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 975
Has anyone ever tried using a topsider? or other vacuum extraction method. I would think that you could get more of the fluid out this way.

I've never tried it so I can't comment on the effectiveness or any unforseeable risks.
__________________
Daily Driver: 02 E430 4MATIC
In the family: '03 E500 // '04 ML500 // 64 220SE
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-14-2006, 06:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Posts: 2,463
Can't get to the torque converter via the dipstick. If you take the pan off, you can't get anymore than that with a topsider.

Len
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,869
A 2000 should have the drain plug in the converter, they did away with in in 01. the shop I work for recently bought a trans flushing machine. It flushes 16 qts and gets the trans fluid cleaner than anything you've ever seen. It has a sight glass that lets you monitor the fluid as it is being flushed. You'd be suprised how cruddy your fluid can be and everyone that has watched the process has been astounded at how clean it is after a flush v/s a drain and fill.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Posts: 2,463
Not sure about the S class, but the torque converter drain plug on the E class disappeared in September, 1999. I would have thought that would be the case across the board.

Len

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page