Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
1997 210 loose computer wire pics please help

I had trouble consistently getting a p1580 code(TBA). Shop changed it and no help. Now I take the computer cover off and I see a loose red wire with a green stripe. I thought well that is easy just take the connector apart that it looks like it went to find the open connector and connect it again. Well there is no obvious spot. There is another red w/green stripe wire but it doesnt look like it has room for the the loose one.

Can anyone take their cover off and see if they have a loose wire too?

I have a starinfo subscription but I cant tell which way is up.

HELP??





Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
nobody?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2006, 12:35 PM
BurBenz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 55
To me, it does not seem loose wire. It is more look like spare wire in the bunch. If it is the loose wire, the insulation at the end will be stripped or cilpped with connection.
This is just an open comment.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2006, 03:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario65 View Post
nobody?
The startekinfo subscription worked great for finding out where the wire went. SteveBFl helped me read it. Without him I was lost.

thanks steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2006, 08:51 PM
Smokiesman's Avatar
Bryson City NC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 182
Well for Pete's sake son don't just leave us all in the dark?? Where did the bloody wire go???

Smokie
__________________
95 E420 BigBlue
500E Sway bars
2001 C Class 16 in. Rims
KYB Struts and shocks
Rear spoiler
American Stitches Wheel
Bigred 99 F250 Powerstroke
JVC EXAD Mp3 player
JVC EXAD GPS


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2006, 10:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
sorry,

About a week ago I got a blinking gas light so I replaced the gas cap and it went away. I later had a problem where the car would move a few feet and die. THese two sensors are together at post 42. The code p1580(throttle body) code came up after it stalled. Two shops incorrectly diagnosed a throttle body so I have new one(450$), a tow charge, two dagnosis charges and I fixed it myself. No codes no problems.

There are two red wires with a green stripe that mate at post 42 on connector #1 at the computer(see pics). One was just sitting there when I pulled the computer cover plate off. One wire comes from the motion sensor on the drivers side in front of the throttle linkage(It says mot on it). The other wire came from the gas tank pressure sensor in the trunk behind the rear seat. I am not completely sure which one it came from. It was one of the two. Steve showed me on the schematic that there were similarly colored wires at post 42 and I only had one there. I was pretty sure it went on the 42 spot so I connected it there. I cleared the codes and cranked it up and it ran as new.

mario


Last edited by mario65; 08-13-2006 at 01:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page