Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2001, 11:51 PM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 808
About a year ago, my "blower motor" stop briefly. After getting gas and restarting the car, the blow wouldn't blow and hence the a/c wouldn't cool. Got put checked everything, fiddled around for about 5 min , got back in fired er' up and voila', the air came back on. It didn't sputter again until today. O was crusing down the road with the blower on high and decided to turn it to low. Noticed it started to get warm in the car.Put my hand in front of the vents and felt faint cool air. Clicked bach to HIGH and nothing! Started frantically click buttons like a man whose O2 was running out but still nothing. As bullets of sweat began to pour from my brow I was reduced to "rolling down the windows" like some commoner.Kept clicking buttons and again VOILA', A/C!!! Made a stop, fired er' back up and again air. I made another stop, restared the car, BUT this time and the next time and the next time no air and still no air. HELP!!!I serviced the blower motor maybe 3 months ago(Its squealed like a hamster wheel) so I think the motor is okay. Is it the switch?? Anyone ever experienced this in their MB or their dealing with an MB?? Its Hot and Humid in Houston guys, please help me out!!

[Edited by aldedmon on 05-29-2001 at 11:54 PM]

Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 12:20 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Beech Island, S.C.
Posts: 468
blower quit working

I havn't seen this in years but I had the same problem 2 times in a row with earlier model and it turned out to be the alternator was overcharging and shut down the blower motor. I could shut down and restart and everything would be okay until I accelerated.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 01:13 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Walnut,CA,USA
Posts: 554
Have you try a new ignition switch??
MB STARS Master Guild Technician,17 years MB tech
14 years independent shop owner
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 07:44 AM
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sugarland, TX
Posts: 285
Check the fuse for the blower - it is located in its own little housing mounted near the fuse box, it is in a black plastic box 2"x1" wide with a cap that unsnaps. The flat metal link may has broken from stress, replace it with a 30
amp fuse available from your dealer.

Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2001, 02:49 PM
aldedmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 808
It WAS the FUSE!!

Thanks guys for the help.

Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new 500e Ryan Featured Cars 4 01-27-2010 04:30 AM
Thinking of selling the 400E for a Corrado... thesheep Performance Paddock 13 07-18-2004 11:31 PM
European 400E specs and questions DangerMouse Tech Help 8 03-31-2004 10:06 PM
400E diag codes bourman Tech Help 4 12-30-2001 03:17 PM
What does 400E first gear start relay do? carman850 Tech Help 7 12-05-2001 06:08 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page