Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2001, 03:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 34
After a bit of searching on this site, I am posting asking for help on an oil pressure gauge that reads 0 bar, the needle just sits on the needle rest. From what I have read, if the oil pressure gauge or the sending sensor goes bad, the gauge should read 3 bar.

I've driven the car (89 300CE) over 2k miles, so it's not the case of no oil pressure and the oil appears clean. There is no knocking/grinding/what not and all the other instruments in the cluster appear to be functioning properly, although there is one dash-light out (left hand side that illuminates the oil/fuel/etc. group).

Where is the oil pressure sender and how do I test it? Or would I be better off just replacing it? Is it possible for a DIY test of the oil pressure gauge to isolate the problem?

Thanks in advance,
__________________
krahe :~)
85 300E euro-spec., twin-turbo AMG aero kit
89 300CE AMG aero kit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2001, 09:53 AM
Geezer
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 1,316
When the oil pressure gauge reads "0" and there is obviously oil pressure, as you describe, there could be a problem with the sending unit, the gauge, or the wire connecting the two. Let's try to figure out which.

First, find the pressure sending unit. I don't know where it is, but it will have a wire to it and it won't be the temp sending unit near the thermostat/radiator hose although it may look similar. Check that the wire is connected. If it is loose or disconnected, you'll read "0." This is the cheapest problem to fix, and it does happen!

Wiggle, or try to wiggle, the connector at the sending unit. Remove it, check for corrosion and put it back on. Do this a few times to wipe it clean. Did that bring the gauge back to life? Great!

Oh, it didn't? Next, try 'grounding' the wire - remove the connector from the sensor. A helper can be useful, at least to watch the gauge. Touch the bare metal of the connector to bare metal of the engine or chassis, or use a short length of wire if the connector is recessed. This will put a 'short' or zero-resistance signal to the gauge and give you a maximum reading.

If this 'grounding' doesn't get the gauge to move, the instrument cluster connector or the gauge itself could be the culprit. That's an advance DIY project that others will have to help you with, or leave it to a Tech.

Good luck and good hunting.

BCingU, Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2001, 08:33 AM
Jack
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sugarland, TX
Posts: 285
This happen to my 300E with M103 engine, the oil pressure sensor unit is below the oil filter housing. You may have to remove the oil filter to access the sensor.

jack
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2001, 10:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Matthews, NC, USA
Posts: 133
This also happened to my 500E, the sending unit is also beside the oil filter at the bottom of the engine on the passenger side on 500E's. Replacing the sending unit is a DIY.
__________________
dwight
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2001, 10:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Matthews, NC, USA
Posts: 133
[]

[Edited by dwight hinton on 07-16-2001 at 01:14 AM]
__________________
dwight
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-28-2001, 10:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Matthews, NC, USA
Posts: 133
Sorry for the above reply... This new laptop has a touchpad that I have not yet become familiar with. Lots of errant actions.

Krahe,

I wanted to ask you what kind of performance did you get from the above modifications "the twin turbo" and what did it cost. They look great.

Dwight
__________________
dwight
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2001, 07:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 34
The twin-turbo came with the car when I bought it used. Performance wise, the best I have gotten out of it is 6.7 sec. 0-60mph and an estimated 270hp using a G-Tech accelerometer.

The car hasn't been shaken out (when I got it there was a BMW airbox before the intercooler!!) and I'm sure there is more performance to be had. I don't have all the right tools or knowledge and am still trying to figure out the secondary injector system (so it doesn't lean out). Proper tuning will take reinstallation of an O2 sensor and fuel mixture gauge (to monitor spent gases).

The other option is a TEC II injection system, but electronic fuel injectors need to be added to replace the mechanical injection system.

Unfortunately, it's become a "toy for free time" and free time hasn't been existant.
__________________
krahe :~)
85 300E euro-spec., twin-turbo AMG aero kit
89 300CE AMG aero kit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2001, 04:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Matthews, NC, USA
Posts: 133
Krahe

I forgot to ask, What size tires and wheels do you have on the 300E? I would like to put my 500E wheels on my wife's 300E and then purchase new AMG Monoblocks or E-55 take-offs for my 500E but I have been advised that the 500E wheels & tires may not fit under the fenders of the 300E body.

Any experience with tire and wheel fitment on 300E's would be appreciated.

Ditto on the lack of time to tinker/play with the toys.
I am still working on a modification to a oil line feeding the turbo on my other car. It has now been sitting for nearly 2 months. Just not enough time.

__________________
dwight
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2001, 11:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 34
Dwight-

The AMG Aero-II's are 17" and I have 225/45 R17 Pirelli P7000 Supersports mounted on them. On the 300E they do rub, BUT only because the car sits so low. I have put the on the 300CE to compare and they only "touch" when going over larger bumps WHILE turning, and then it's only a brief scuff. And this is only with the fronts, rears are the same size and I've had no problems (even w/ 2 adults in the back seats).

A side note: the 300E has had the fenders rolled and still the tires have slightly deformed the front fenders, but the 300CE is w/ stock fenders.

Future may hold Evo-II's or Brabus Monoblock V's or O.Z. F1 Cup's or....... lol
__________________
krahe :~)
85 300E euro-spec., twin-turbo AMG aero kit
89 300CE AMG aero kit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oil pressure gauge gone goofy, 420 SEL William Tech Help 5 08-28-2004 01:48 AM
Oil pressure gauge at 0 at idle edge Tech Help 5 04-26-2004 03:58 PM
W124 oil pressure sender questions (yeah, I did the search) G-Benz Tech Help 5 03-07-2003 05:36 PM
High Oil Pressure Joseph_H Tech Help 22 03-04-2003 01:07 PM
oil temp switch or oil pressure switch? benzat Tech Help 4 12-04-2001 11:52 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page