Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2001, 08:53 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Central California
Posts: 32
86 300e A/C - Help

I will replace the two high pressure switch's on the evaporater this weekend (Thanks Phil). Is there an easy way to bleed the system prior to removal? I was told to use a small amount of Teflon tape to aid sealing, is this a good idea?
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2001, 08:40 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Central California
Posts: 32
Need advice

Will someone please respond? I have searched this site and I would like to know if it is possible to bleed the A/C and replace the two high pressure switch's on the evaporator. Is it possible to bleed the system by slowly removing a switch? The system blows at ambient temp, and the leak is at the switch (confirmed by A/C shop that does not work on MB's)
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2001, 09:44 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 4,712
There are no high pressure switches on the evap core. The only pressure switches on the system are located on the drier bottle located behind the driver's headlight. You can't drain the system without a recovery machine. If you pull the switches, you will loose all of the freon.
Donnie Drummonds
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2001, 08:32 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Central California
Posts: 32
Thanks Benzmac, it is the dryer bottle as you described (still waiting for my cd's) where I need to replace the switch's. I realize I will lose the freon, but is it safe to R/R the switch's? - should I use teflon tape? - would it be wise to have the system flushed and filled or just filled?
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2001, 08:52 AM
engatwork's Avatar
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 11,232
From a diyer - you will lose whatever freon is in there AND it will make a big mess. It can be done - when you remove the switch just make sure you have some goggles/safety glasses on, slowly unscrew the switch and do not stand in the direct "line of fire" while removing it. In addition, the longer you leave the system open the more time that moisture has to get into the system.
I would suggest finding a good independent a/c technician, taking the vehicle to him/her with the new switch and having them do the job.

I usually take it to my a/c technician, ask them to remove the freon, do whatever work is necessary and and then take it back to them to run a vacuum and recharge the system. Figure at least an hour for them to run the vacuum.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300E misses with A/C on...Why??? mike690003 Tech Help 2 09-01-2003 04:45 PM
Replacing A/C Hose 1986 300E? zym57 Tech Help 2 03-18-2003 02:57 PM
MB or aftermarket A/C compressor? - 300E JFAZ Tech Help 2 01-17-2003 08:18 AM
a/c still working for no benefit on '86 300E can-do Tech Help 18 07-10-2002 11:31 PM
88 300E a/c and heat budman Tech Help 2 06-29-1999 09:56 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page