Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2008, 11:16 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Question '98 SL500 A/C Stopped Blowing Cold

Its another one of the never ending R 129 (not only)issues. I took her for a 30 miles drive last night. I had the A/C on at the auto mode and it was blowing cold air without any problems. Suddenly , the EC light came on and both AUTO and EC lights were on. It was then stop blowing cold ,it just blowing air.
I turn it off and then back on by pressing the AUTO button but the EC light came on at the same time. I pressed the EC button but the EC doesnt go off.
Only if i keep it down for more than 6 sec, then it goes off and only the AUTO stays on but still it doesnt blow cold.
I ve noticed that the fans behind the grille do not engage.
I had the test 20 minutes after i turned off the engine. I took a 30 miles ride before.
I will take the car for A/C charged up but if the compressor is not working they wont be able to do the work. Correct me if im wrong on this one

These are the values .The first #is yesterday after driving the car. The second # is this morning. The car was sitting all night.

01 80F 73F
02 75F 72F
03 88F 73F
05 89F 75F
06 174F 78F
07 07*1 05*1
08 102F 71F
09 48F 35F
10 240 080
20 00 00
21 000 000
22 000 000
23 1000 000
24 11.5 11.7
40 03 03
41 03 03
42 03 03
43 6-C 6-C
50 84F 73F
51 72F 72F
52 50F 50F
54 OFF OFF
60 CLO CLO
61 0.8 0.8
62 1.3 4.2
63 1.9 1.9
64 1.9 1.0
65 1.4 1.4
66 1.1 4.2

Any advise on what to check ??

Thanks in advance guys

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2008, 11:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Walnut Creek, CA & 1,150 miles S of Key West
Posts: 4,874
You only need to report 1-8; you are missing #4.

Pull your error codes too. http://www.continentalimports.com/ser_ic40142.html

BTW - How old is your battery? #24 seems low with engine running.
__________________
Terry Allison
N. Calif. & S. of Key West

09' E320 Bluetec 77k
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2008, 12:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMAllison View Post
You only need to report 1-8; you are missing #4.

Pull your error codes too. http://www.continentalimports.com/ser_ic40142.html

BTW - How old is your battery? #24 seems low with engine running.
#24 is with engine off in the first case is after driving the car.

I m going to pull my errors then post them here.

Thanks for the info TMalison
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2008, 12:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Walnut Creek, CA & 1,150 miles S of Key West
Posts: 4,874
The engine must be running when you pull the AC actual values.

Not running when you pull the error codes.
__________________
Terry Allison
N. Calif. & S. of Key West

09' E320 Bluetec 77k
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2008, 12:59 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
It is possible the problem caused a code that now must be cleared before the compressor will operate again.

The values above look OK to me but if the fans weren't running the pressures would have gotten beyond acceptable. They would drop after the comp was shut off and there is no record of such in the values. A code for such could keep the system down. The code would probably be for over pressure.

If you can clear them and it runs watch the pressure and the fans.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:09 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
There is a way to erase codes from the display, if you would like a copy of it email me steveb@atlantic.net

I can't explain it you will have to read it and poke around a bit. I always use the SDS so I have never done it that way. I do use the display regularly for actual values while driving, mostly #5 evap temp.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2008, 09:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
I pulled out my DTC s this morning and i only found one code which i deleted.

#241 Refrigerant level , so either i have a leak or its just very low.

I will charge up the A/C at my indy and also check for leaks .

The fans still wont engage but the EC light doesnt came on anymore


Last edited by Dimitris; 09-29-2008 at 10:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page