Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2011, 10:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Suburban Washington DC
Posts: 860
How to remove '95 E320 instrument cluster with speedo cable?

The WIS says you have to disconnect the cable from the transmission so you have enough slack to pull the cluster out enough to reach behind it to disconnect the cable there. Can you do it without disconnecting the cable from the transmission?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2011, 11:20 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,527
Yes and no. There is enough slack available to remove the cluster without removing the speedo cable at the transmission. However, in doing so it is nearly certain you will kink the speedo cable from pulling it so taught, and from then on the speedometer will have an up-and-down flutter to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2011, 11:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Suburban Washington DC
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcyuhn View Post
Yes and no. There is enough slack available to remove the cluster without removing the speedo cable at the transmission. However, in doing so it is nearly certain you will kink the speedo cable from pulling it so taught, and from then on the speedometer will have an up-and-down flutter to it.
It bounces up and down for the first 500 feet or so when cold.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2011, 12:16 PM
I told you so!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Motor City, MI
Posts: 2,830
I'm working from memory, but I think you have to undo a bracket in the footwell to provide enough slack.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2011, 05:26 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
I never have a problem pulling the cluster out part-way, then squeezing my hand back to undo the cable. My wrists are not huge and I have fairly large hands, so that certainly helps.
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2011, 05:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Baton Rouge La
Posts: 2,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kestas View Post
I'm working from memory, but I think you have to undo a bracket in the footwell to provide enough slack.
+1
__________________
1989 300ce 129k
( facelifted front,updated tail lights, lowered suspension,bilstein sports, lorinser front spoiler, MOMO steering wheel, remus exhaust,stainless steel brake lines). (Gone)

1997 s320 154k (what a ride). Sold with 179k miles. Replaced with Hyundai Equus

1994 e320 Cabriolet 108k



1972 280se 4.5 153k Owned for 12 yrs, sorry I sold it


[/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2011, 05:33 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
I didn't think a 95 has a cable.
The symptoms given make me think I am wrong, but later on in the lifespan in the 124 I thought they went electronic.
Easy way to find out is to look for a cable on the trans. (left side of car on the tail shaft housing)
It's not that hard to disconnect it.
I did manage to get the cable off on the ones with a cable without removing it from the trans though. Getting it started back ON is the hard part! I never damaged a cable due to not disconnecting it. The difference between having a hard time removing/installing it and an easy time would be only a few fractions of an inch, and the cable length of course can vary that small amount, so sort of "luck of the draw".
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2011, 07:35 PM
JimFreeh's Avatar
Benz addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampton Roads, Virginia
Posts: 3,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by babymog View Post
I never have a problem pulling the cluster out part-way, then squeezing my hand back to undo the cable. My wrists are not huge and I have fairly large hands, so that certainly helps.
Usually a little rough on my hand and wrist, but yes, it can be done without damage. Just be reasonable on the amount of force you use when pulling on the cluster. I pull the cluster out as far as it will reasonably come out, then cock it so I can get my right hand behind it. Find the knurled fastener and then unscrew counter clockwise.

Jim
__________________
14 E250 BlueTEC black
94 E320 Cabriolet Emerald green
85 300TD 4 spd manual dark blue
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2011, 09:12 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
The '95 definately has a cable, I have two in my garage.
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-16-2011, 10:22 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
OK, not shown in your signature line, but "who cares"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-17-2011, 07:29 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
Wow. Well, I presume that the OP cares whether this is a guess or first-hand observation.
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-17-2011, 07:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Suburban Washington DC
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilly View Post
I didn't think a 95 has a cable.
Could be the V8's were electronic?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:16 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
I didn't work on a whole lot of V8s but that's possible, or maybe the 126 chassis went electronic at some point?

The "who cares" comment was a reflection of the Babymogs signature line, yes i am sure the OP cares. I wouldn't have questioned him if he actually had a '95 listed in his stable. Now he says he has 2 of them, fine, he's the 95 experten.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:30 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
I don't know Gilly if all 126s were electronic, my '91 was. Were the early ones mechanical?
__________________

Gone to the dark side

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-17-2011, 09:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: beautiful Bucks Co, PA
Posts: 961
My '95 E320 certainly has a cable drive speedo. As mentoned already, loosening the clip in the footwell gives a bit more slack so the cluster can be withdrawn further, allowing those of us with club hands better access. I found I needed to remove the steering wheel to get the cluster out far enough to release the speedo cable.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page