Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2013, 09:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
95 SL500 No speedo or MPG guage working

I recently jump started this car and now the speedo always reads 0 and the MPG gage is pegged at over 30....checked all fuses doesnt appear there is a fuse for speedo....help

All other functions on display operate fine


Last edited by gmarow; 04-10-2013 at 09:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2013, 09:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Beachwood, NJ
Posts: 462
Mercedes have some relays that act like fuses. K40 and OVP (over voltage protection) relays are two of them your car may have. A bigger problem would be if the jump damaged the top controller.
I would not jump my SL. Charging a disconnected battery is a better. If must jump, turn the assisting car off before jumping.
__________________

Present
1987 300SDL
1991 300SL
1990 560SEL
2001 ML320

Past
1969 200D 1979-82
1983 300SD 1984-85
1972 250C 1982-02
1995 S350 2011
1997 S320 2012
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2013, 03:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 212
Well I just went through this. I had a partially discharged battery two weeks ago, not enough juice to start the car, just click, click.... I charged the battery for awhile but it wouldn't hold the charge and I "jumped" it to go to AutoZone for a battery. Somewhere somehow, the voltage spike caused the microprocessor to be damaged. My symptoms were slightly different. NO Tach and No Speedo. All other gauges worked including trip OD, the OD, and the MPG gauge and my cruise control all functioned. My top controller worked.

If you haven't checked the fuses on the passengerside, underneath the cover for the computer boxes, check them. There are four. My fuses were intact as were all other fuses in the car.

I was told by BBA Reman in Taunton, Mass. that my cluster was not rebuildable because there are no processors available. It cost me $17 in shipping to find out it was fried. Another place to try is Andy at DNA Speedo repair in Tampa. Very knowledgeable and helpful. 1888-495-2777. I have a 95 SL500 and it had the digital cluster. I found one within a half hour drive to my house in Cleveland Ohio. This guy (Sam) has another cluster with a cracked lens. My original plan was to buy it and switch the lenses from mine. However, when I connected the cluster, the speed was off, like it was reading a V6 instead of a V8. When I was traveling 25 it read 40 and so on... The tach worked fine though as did all the other gauges in the cluster. I lucked out, the second cluster he had worked perfect and it was like new. By the way, I have my SL up for sale and I have lots of extra parts if you need any down the road.

In summary, you might have a blown fuse in the computer area, or the cluster might be fried like mine. BUT Andy at DNA said he could fix most speedos but maybe not the Tach. So I would try either place or even both.

Good Luck, Steve fazekasstephen@gmail

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2024 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page