Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2014, 06:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 292
Mercedes Codes

What equipment is necessary to get codes from 1999 ML430?
I cant wait for almost 2 weeks to get truck scanned at local dealer.

Thanks. Jay

__________________
83 300TD Sable 402K " Work Truck "
81 300SD Gray 240K " Loner Car "
04 E320 Blue 90K " My Winter rig "
07 BMW X5 4.4 118K " My Summer rig"
04 Jetta TDI Wagon 168K " Wifes "
08 Toyota FJ 109K " Wifes winter rig "
04 Jetta TDI 120K " Daughters Car "
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2014, 06:55 PM
Can't Know's Avatar
Registered Slacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunny CA
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targa-NF View Post
What equipment is necessary to get codes from 1999 ML430?
I cant wait for almost 2 weeks to get truck scanned at local dealer.

Thanks. Jay
It all depends on what you want to do. If all you want is the typical powertrain codes for the engine and transmission, a basic OBD-II scanner will work very well. My personal favorite is the MS309, which you can get on Amazon for about $20. Small, basic unit, fits under the seat so it's handy if you care about that. No other pieces or equipment necessary, it will read and clear codes.

If you like tech, and are an android user, you can get an ELM BT interface for the OBD-II and download the TORQ app from the Play store. Or you can get a similar setup for a windows laptop. This will also give you some live data, for a bit more than the basic handheld unit. The con of this is that it's a bit more cumbersome to use, so you may find yourself procrastinating.

And as you dramatically increase your expenditures, you'll get more features and interfaces. Heck, if you want to manage all car systems you can buy SDS (or you could just buy another ML, ha ha).

That said, if you aren't in California you can just go by Autozone or some other parts stores and they will read codes for you. If so, be sure you write down the actual alphanumeric codes, not just their summary or diagnosis. You can search them or post them and we're happy to give you a hand.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2014, 07:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 292
Thanks for the quick reply. I will call around and see if anyone other then the dealer can read codes for me. I hope I not left to wait for the dealer.
__________________
83 300TD Sable 402K " Work Truck "
81 300SD Gray 240K " Loner Car "
04 E320 Blue 90K " My Winter rig "
07 BMW X5 4.4 118K " My Summer rig"
04 Jetta TDI Wagon 168K " Wifes "
08 Toyota FJ 109K " Wifes winter rig "
04 Jetta TDI 120K " Daughters Car "
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2014, 07:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 292
What kind of scanner is needed to pull codes?
Thanks. Jay
__________________
83 300TD Sable 402K " Work Truck "
81 300SD Gray 240K " Loner Car "
04 E320 Blue 90K " My Winter rig "
07 BMW X5 4.4 118K " My Summer rig"
04 Jetta TDI Wagon 168K " Wifes "
08 Toyota FJ 109K " Wifes winter rig "
04 Jetta TDI 120K " Daughters Car "
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2014, 11:30 AM
Can't Know's Avatar
Registered Slacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunny CA
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targa-NF View Post
What kind of scanner is needed to pull codes?
Thanks. Jay
Uh...

Quote:
If all you want is the typical powertrain codes for the engine and transmission, a basic OBD-II scanner will work very well. My personal favorite is the MS309, which you can get on Amazon for about $20.
Your car is OBD-II compliant, as is EVERY vehicle built for the NA market since 1996. Any OBD-II scanner will read codes, most will also clear them. The one I specifically pointed out (excerpted and quoted above) works great and is very inexpensive (it's also CANBUS compliant, though it's not going to do anything for the detailed chassis codes on your vehicle, nothing is going to do that until you get into the several-hundreds-of-dollars arena). If you just drop into a store to buy one you can expect to spend at least $50, though if you have a coupon Harbor Freight has one that is nearly the same as the MS309 for $40.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2014, 12:03 PM
ILUVMILS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,763
Are we talkin' about a check engine light or something else???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-21-2014, 01:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 292
The problem I am having with me 1999 ML430 is that if i start truck and just turn wheel all the way one way then the other way the brake light will come on and beep and truck will go into limp mode.
Also if im driving down the road same light and beep will come on and truck will go into limp mode but lets say if im in 3rd gear it will stay in that gear.
I had the truck scanned using a scanner that was not a OBD2 and was not at Mercedes. Gave me a P0720 code. Rear speed sensor.
But you would think i would have to be moving to make it go into limp mode. Not by just turning the wheel back and forth.
I am guessing that if I get it scanned at Mercedes it'll give me a lot more detail.
Thanks. Jay
__________________
83 300TD Sable 402K " Work Truck "
81 300SD Gray 240K " Loner Car "
04 E320 Blue 90K " My Winter rig "
07 BMW X5 4.4 118K " My Summer rig"
04 Jetta TDI Wagon 168K " Wifes "
08 Toyota FJ 109K " Wifes winter rig "
04 Jetta TDI 120K " Daughters Car "
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-22-2014, 01:46 PM
Can't Know's Avatar
Registered Slacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunny CA
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targa-NF View Post
The problem I am having with me 1999 ML430 is that if i start truck and just turn wheel all the way one way then the other way the brake light will come on and beep and truck will go into limp mode.
Also if im driving down the road same light and beep will come on and truck will go into limp mode but lets say if im in 3rd gear it will stay in that gear.
I had the truck scanned using a scanner that was not a OBD2 and was not at Mercedes. Gave me a P0720 code. Rear speed sensor.
But you would think i would have to be moving to make it go into limp mode. Not by just turning the wheel back and forth.
I am guessing that if I get it scanned at Mercedes it'll give me a lot more detail.
Thanks. Jay
In your shoes I'd actually change the fluid, filter, conductor plate and pilot bushing (harness adapter). The conductor plate has been superseded a few times and that's classic for your symptoms and that code. It's all DIY stuff if you have a clean place to work.

Once the work is done you'll have to hit up a shop with a proper interface (SDS, Snap-On, etc) to talk to the TCM and clear codes from it, then you'll be good to go.

Good luck.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page