Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-13-2002, 12:07 AM
300EVIL's Avatar
Moderator Incarnate
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Geneva, WI.
Posts: 1,676
Thanks for the tips! I would love to have a list of codes. Maybe someone could post them in the DIY section for all to have.
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-13-2002, 09:32 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Maybe someday the DIY section can start accumulating code info. There is a real problem with such. The code book from MB for model years to 1993 is 260 pages and those were the simple models with fewer control units and less internal diagnostics.

The ability to know which chart to use for each system/model is a skill all to its self.

Send me your email and I'll send a pdf doc on EA/CC/ISC.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-14-2002, 05:51 PM
300EVIL's Avatar
Moderator Incarnate
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Geneva, WI.
Posts: 1,676
Here are the codes i pulled of all the pins!
Pin#3: 6 and 12
Pin#7: 1
Pin#8: 8
Pin#14: 2 and 11
Could someone please turn this into english for me.
Thanks A Lot!
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-14-2002, 09:07 PM
300EVIL's Avatar
Moderator Incarnate
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Geneva, WI.
Posts: 1,676
TTT
I'm anxious!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-15-2002, 01:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 485
AS for pin 14 which is for cc,isc,ea. Code 2 is for the e/a unit N41. Most early models had the harness problem inside the e/a , baiscally the harness falls apart and you have to replace the ea,cc,isc unit. Dont remember code 11 . This is off a 16 pole connector I take it and not a 38. I have replaced alot of these units as well as engine and starter harness' on the e-320s.
__________________
euro 287
Mercedes Technician 7 Years (retired to Hyundai)
2000 Dodge Durango
98 Mazda truck
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-15-2002, 03:23 AM
300EVIL's Avatar
Moderator Incarnate
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Geneva, WI.
Posts: 1,676
I think i understand,,, I need a new wiring harness right? I heard there was some sort of recall/warranty on these wiring harnesses correct?
Thanks Again!
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-15-2002, 08:42 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
I got about six items into the 14 item description of code 2 and erased it last night when I realized that repeats were included and the the difference was in the testing; to voluminous too possibly write.

Code 2 via the impulse counting method can be further deliniated to six separate codes if one uses a scanner. Erik is right the problem is likely in the throttle assy EA/CC/ISC, but a number of the items under code two refer to the closed throttle switch.

The code 11 is again 4 possible codes with HHT. They all revolve around : fuel safety shut-off and closed throttle recognition.

I would say the problem is that the controller is having a hard time deciding where closed throttle is.

I doubt that this is covered by MB, but consider the throttle assy an investment as if yours is original its basically a failure in waiting.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-15-2002, 08:54 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Florida / N.H.
Posts: 8,777
<<
300E EXPERT

Registered: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Geneva, WI
Posts: 626
Here are the codes i pulled of all the pins!

Pin#3: 6 and 12 >>

PIn 3 is the emmisiions module and the same codes you can get with the built-in sw/led.
6-idle speed control inoperative
12- O2 sens heater open/shorted.

Pin#7: 1 >>

Pin 7 is a/c module and 1 flash is "No codes stored"

Pin#8: 8 >>

Pin 8 is HFM-SFI module .
8-ISC system

Pin#14: 2 and 11 >>

Pin 14 is ea/cc/isc module
2-cc/isc control module
11-closed throttle recognition sig- fuel shut off

As you have cleaned the throttle , it is possible to trip some of these codes if you hand lift the throttle cable. This will trip a
"Limp home Code " and must be cleared.
If you have unplugged the o2 sens, the same can apply..
So, write down your existing codes and erase them.
Now start from scratch to obtain the correct codes.
From there , a HHT scanner will give you a better, more detailed diagnoses...

As said, check wire harness closely....

And you may want to take SB up on the pdf file for future reference....

I see you made the tool ????
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-15-2002, 01:39 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern California, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,508
I hate to interject, but the "ea/cc/isc" unit and the wiring harness issue.

Is the ea/cc/isc unit another name for the throttle actuator?

Does the actuator go bad or just the wiring harness?

Can the wiring harness be replaced, or do you replace the whole throttle actuator?

It's just about $1,000 to replace the throttle actuator.
__________________
Paul S.

2001 E430, Bourdeaux Red, Oyster interior.
79,200 miles.

1973 280SE 4.5, 170,000 miles. 568 Signal Red, Black MB Tex. "The Red Baron".
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-15-2002, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 485
Yes the ea,cc,isc is the throttle actuator and you replace the assy. I have about 10 old ones still laying aruond here that I show customers.
__________________
euro 287
Mercedes Technician 7 Years (retired to Hyundai)
2000 Dodge Durango
98 Mazda truck
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-15-2002, 11:29 PM
300EVIL's Avatar
Moderator Incarnate
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Geneva, WI.
Posts: 1,676
Hmmm, Well, Is it safe to say that replacing the throttle actuator will solve the problem for sure or should i have a technician dig a little deeper? I did get code 11 to clear but code 2 is still there. From what i am seeing the idle is just high. Is this going to cause any adverse affects if i don't repair it? Is there any further diagnostics i can do myself? A grand for a throttle actuator is a little hard to stomach!
Thanks!
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-15-2002, 11:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 485
You can have a tech read the live data and then advise you of what to do.
__________________
euro 287
Mercedes Technician 7 Years (retired to Hyundai)
2000 Dodge Durango
98 Mazda truck
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-16-2002, 01:15 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern California, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,508
So basically, the throttle actuator on early M104's (93-95??) need to be replaced often because the wiring harnesses on the actuator's go bad?

Is it because the insulation on the wiring degrades just like the frequently discussed engine wiring harnesses?

Is there any other part of the throttle actuator that fails, or is it just the wiring harness portion?

Based on Steveb's comments, is it something that will go bad eventually, even if it hasn't yet?

I bought a throttle actuator (from Fastlane) to cure my idle problem (idle was hunting up and down). Didn't install it because I was unsure of my diagnosis from reading the archives. It turned out to be a vacuum leak at the intake manifold.

I still have the actuator at home and was going to sell it or return it. I wonder if I should keep it and install it now, or wait until the part actually goes bad.

Or, I could sell it to Adam Bourassa. Wanna buy it from me? We have the same engine.
__________________
Paul S.

2001 E430, Bourdeaux Red, Oyster interior.
79,200 miles.

1973 280SE 4.5, 170,000 miles. 568 Signal Red, Black MB Tex. "The Red Baron".
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-16-2002, 09:03 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
It is my opinion that the original throttle assy's were less durable than what is being sold now. I did a number check and there is two possible throttle assy's. One for cars with ASR and one for cars without.

Because this device is a complicated mechanical device with many moving/wearing parts and potentiometers, I suspect that they will generally give problems. I can verify that this similar part is having problems on BMWs, VWs, Volvo's, and Saabs, having fixed and read about fixes in all these marques.

If Paul's unit was the right unit, seems that you two ought to get together and fix a car.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page