Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2002, 07:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
Well now, This looks suspect!! Flywheel sensor

Before my troubles with transmission, which led to reworking the head and other unsundry repairs, my 300e was experiencing driveability problems; check engine light on and of , intermittant skip, all the things we say a new OVP will cure but didn't. As I'm putting this animal back together, I notice that the flywheel position sensor has a problem. Could this be the source of my woes?
Attached Thumbnails
Well now, This looks suspect!! Flywheel sensor-dcp01078.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2002, 11:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
It may not be entirely the source of your woes but it sure won't hurt to replace it. Those sensors use a shielded wire to prevent outside electrical interference.
__________________
Scott Diener
89 300E
93 300E
92 Volvo 740 Wagon aka "Mutt mover"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2002, 11:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
Are there two wires in there or one? I can't tell since this thing is such a mess. If there's two, then it definatley shorted .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2002, 01:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
Can anyone tell me in simple terms ( for other people , not me of course) exactly what this does and how it works?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2002, 04:04 PM
Swedish Diesler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 106
It senses a metal pin or stud on the flywheel and generates a pulsing signal each time this pin passes and gives this signal to the egine control unit and such so it knows crank position and rpm. Very sensitive apparatus and yours do not look healthy at all.
__________________
/Per

MB E300TDT -98
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2002, 08:56 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 11,776
It functions like a proximity switch cap'n.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2002, 11:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
Now Jim, you know that I know all about proximity switches, heck, we damn near invented those things!!; But what about all those less fortunate than us? Can we get this down to a level that even a novice can understand?? I just can't find the words right now!

Last edited by Cap'n Carageous; 05-29-2002 at 08:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2002, 02:06 AM
mikemover's Avatar
All-seeing, all-knowing.
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,514
I'm guessing here since I've never messed with one, but I'd say it sends your ECU (the engine's computer brain-thingy ) the exact engine RPM....Without such information, it probably has trouble adjusting air/fuel ratios, timing, shift points, etc. correctly.

But don't quote me....

Mike
__________________
_____
1979 300 SD
350,000 miles
_____
1982 300D-gone---sold to a buddy
_____
1985 300TD
270,000 miles
_____
1994 E320
not my favorite, but the wife wanted it

www.myspace.com/mikemover
www.myspace.com/openskystudio
www.myspace.com/speedxband
www.myspace.com/openskyseparators
www.myspace.com/doubledrivemusic
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2002, 04:31 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 11,776
Cap'n - I figured you would know what a proximity switch is .
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2002, 06:05 PM
MIKE FREEMAN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
CRANK ANGLE SENSOR

Capt'n;
The flywheel has segments of steel that stand away from the main body of the flywheel.
As these segments pass by the sensor an ac sine wave is formed,the ignition control unit detects this wave and with load and r.p.m. inputs determine when to fire the spark!
Replace the sensor!
M.F.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-29-2002, 07:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
Phil has already given me the info on a new one(ouch!!!). Back to my original question... Will this cause skipping and "check engine light" to come on?? I can't find even a mention of this gizmo in the CD. But then again, my luck finding anything in that CD hasn't been too good .
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-29-2002, 07:44 PM
mikemover's Avatar
All-seeing, all-knowing.
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,514
If it's supposed to be sending the ECU spark timing info and it's not, then I'm sure it's causing the stumbling and "check engine" light to come on.

Mike
__________________
_____
1979 300 SD
350,000 miles
_____
1982 300D-gone---sold to a buddy
_____
1985 300TD
270,000 miles
_____
1994 E320
not my favorite, but the wife wanted it

www.myspace.com/mikemover
www.myspace.com/openskystudio
www.myspace.com/speedxband
www.myspace.com/openskyseparators
www.myspace.com/doubledrivemusic
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-29-2002, 11:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: secret
Posts: 3,044
I have been told by two local "experts" that the 89 300e has no diagnostic capability. Error codes are not stored. Even the service CD states that the California model is the only one that has this feature. So does it or doesn't it affect performance??? Surely somebody can answer the question.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-30-2002, 12:22 AM
mikemover's Avatar
All-seeing, all-knowing.
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,514
OK...my trusted local mechanic says....YES!

Mike
__________________
_____
1979 300 SD
350,000 miles
_____
1982 300D-gone---sold to a buddy
_____
1985 300TD
270,000 miles
_____
1994 E320
not my favorite, but the wife wanted it

www.myspace.com/mikemover
www.myspace.com/openskystudio
www.myspace.com/speedxband
www.myspace.com/openskyseparators
www.myspace.com/doubledrivemusic
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-30-2002, 10:17 AM
mplafleur's Avatar
User Friendly
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lathrup Village, Michigan
Posts: 2,939
When I rebuilt my motor, my hall effect sensor looked about the same. The cable covering had pulled away from the sensor body and the two wires were exposed. Since they were still intact, I installed the sensor. That was 20k miles ago.

Are the wires still attached, or are one of the wires broken?
__________________
Michael LaFleur

'05 E320 CDI - 86,000 miles
'86 300SDL - 360,000 miles
'85 300SD - 150,000 miles (sold)
'89 190D - 120,000 miles (sold)
'85 300SD - 317,000 miles (sold)
'98 ML320 - 270,000 miles (sold)
'75 300D - 170,000 miles (sold)
'83 Harley Davidson FLTC (Broken again) :-(
'61 Plymouth Valiant - 60k mikes
2004 Papillon (Oliver)
2005 Tzitzu (Griffon)
2009 Welsh Corgi (Buba)

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page