Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 05-23-2003, 11:25 AM
SPIKES's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: CORAL SPRINGS FL
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally posted by MarekW
Any ideas?
DITTO
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-24-2003, 02:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
Can somebody help what could be the problem with code P0100

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:00 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
What are the adaptation values?
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-24-2003, 12:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
stevebfl

I am not sure abut the adaptation values my friend connected a scanner and gave me a code p0100.
I read allot about the air mass failure but it is very expensive unit to purchase.

I would like to know how this could be checked with the multimeter taking redings between connecting points and also the voltages on the plug to make sure that the power is comming to the mass sensor.

Yor help greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-24-2003, 12:49 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
To check with a multimeter you will need a wiring diagram and possibly the specific enabling data on the code in question.

Both and easily available for 20 dollars on MBs website www.startekinfo.com You will be able to print the wiring diagram plus be able to view the connector orientation to identify the proper pins. The code data is also available along with the theoretical description in the WIS section.

This is all new but I probably won't put up with as much lack of info now that it is available.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-24-2003, 01:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
It looks like you have to become a member on that site .
I was wondering if somebody has checked different values of voltage or ohms on the unit to see if it is good or bad.

My car starts and rpm is surging 500-700 rpm but when pressing the gas the car starts to backfire and or stalls.
The code from scanner only one p0100
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-24-2003, 01:48 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
After the last post, I thought about writing a separate post about this issue.

I don't mean this to relect on this particular thread but let me put this in perspective.

just what kind of value should I assume people have to my advice when they won't pay 20- dollars for an answer. I have run to the shop before on saturday to get this info for people , but I won't any more. You couldn't pay me a hundred dollars to do that but I would do it for free for someone in a bind on the weekend. But I don't need to any more. Anyone who won't pay 20 dollars for the info after I tell them what they need can settle for web specualtion.

If the shoe fits its CHEAP.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-24-2003, 02:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
It is not that I don't want to pay $20 it is that even if I got the printouts Iprobably would not know what to do with it.
That if why if I read how somebody checked it makes it very clear for me.
I compare it to reading a book with 1000 pages but all the information is on one page that I need.

Sorry for the wrong approach
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-24-2003, 06:30 PM
SPIKES's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: CORAL SPRINGS FL
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally posted by stevebfl
What are the adaptation values?
i think people need to realize that not all people on this forum are trained mechanics and that sometimes just a little advise is needed. is that not why some of us are looking for answers here?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-24-2003, 07:57 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
I answer questions where I have valuable info. I often refrain from adding the most important piece of info: there isn't a snowball chance that anything I say is going to help cause most just don't got a clue.

How would you like some guidance next week through brain surgery. The worse is the lack of respect for how complicated this can get.

I tend to go along and give all the info thats asked for even though I know most won't have a chance of using it. I have gotten some real diagnostics out of clothes pins and paper clips for those who really wish to understand. If you really wish to know I'll help. I get 20 personal email a day from people on this site expecting me to look it up for them.

It gives me the right to step on a soap box every now and then. I wouldn't even bother if it weren't for the few who really wish to know. You know how much it cost me to know.... it cost everything. I will expend any amount to know, it's always the way I have been. I don't just learn cause its cheaper than doing it some other way.

I'd rather teach em to fish than take em all to Red Lobster.

The point is that just because you can only understand a simple answer, it doesn't mean there is a simple answer. If I tell you to get a wiring diagram and thats too much for you. I need to be done. I have left more than one post where there was nothing left to add.

If what you want is that 300Es need OVP relays on Wednesdays and fuel pump relays if you didn't get a good nights sleep. I don't play that game and I leave posts that stay there after guidance.
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 05-24-2003, 08:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
Hi

I just purchased air mass flow meter it will be comming by mail i about a week but I am still not sure if this will fix my very rough running. If the mass will not fix it I will keep it for the future as I hear that there is many problems with those units.
Any other ideas appreciated

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-05-2003, 02:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
This is an update on my 97 e320 (13000miles) had been in accident air bags deployed, no phisical demage to engine.

I just received my obd II scanner yesterday.
I read the following codes:

1. IAT SENSOR CIRCUIT P0110

2. MAF OR VAF CIRCUIT P0100

3. PURGE VALVE C FAULT EVAP EMMISSION CONT SYSTEM P0443

4. ENGINE COOLANT TEMP CIRCUIT P0115

After reading the codes I erased all of them, ( I think the codes came in when the engine was running and I disconected various sensor plugs) .

I read the codes again after running the car and there was only PASS no codes.

There is no check engine light comming on.

I removed the spark plugs, they were all with black charcoal on their tips.

The car runs but rpm goes from 400-700 rpm, when pressing on gas backfires and or stalls.

I did not check fuel pressure yet, only opened the valve on the fuel rail to see if there is fuel , it is comming like from water house.

Do you have any ideas what I could do next?

I appreciate your help

Last edited by MarekW; 06-05-2003 at 07:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-05-2003, 07:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-07-2003, 11:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 179
I just replaced 3 resistor ends on the 3 ignition coils.

I replaced the air mass flow sensor.

The car is still runnig very rough
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-07-2003, 11:40 AM
SPIKES's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: CORAL SPRINGS FL
Posts: 101
check your other 3 plug wires.
how are the coils....i was not sure how to check mine but it had some cracks and i replaced them....made a small difference.

i realized afterwards that part of my engine feeling rough was the tranny mount which was bad......it obviosly wont solve a idle or backfire problem but can confuse things.
check my old thread with an answer from arthur dalton on fuel pressures.

hope this helps
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page