Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2003, 01:57 PM
utahsaint
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
2003 c320 coupe transmission

HELP!!!!!!!! I HAVE RECENTLY PURCHASED AN '03 C320 COUPE WITH AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WHICH SHIFTS SUPERBLY COMPARED TO MY LEXUS IS300. HOWEVER, IF I AM TURNING A CORNER AROUND 15 - 20 MPH AND THEN USE THE KICKDOWN SWITCH FOR MAXIMUM SPEED, THE VEHICLE SHOOTS PAST THE 6,000 RPM REDLINE WHERE IT "SHOULD" UPSHIFT AND THEN THE ENGINE HICCUPS AS THE FUEL IS CUT OFF AT AROUND 6,500 RPM. I CAN DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM ABOUT 50% OF THE TIME.
KEEP IN MIND THAT THE TRANSMISSION UPSHIFTS AT EXACTLY 6,000 RPM WITH EVERY OTHER GEAR EXCEPT FOR THE UPSHIFT FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR UPON USING THE KICKDOWN AT LOW SPEEDS. I'VE DUPLICATED THE PROBLEM WITH THE "ESP" OFF AND ON AND STILL NO LUCK. BY THE WAY, I NEVER USE THE SPORT SHIFT FEATURE ON MY VEHICLE IN CASE PEOPLE THINK I'M NOT DRIVING MY VEHICLE CORRECTLY.

I HAD MY LOCAL DEALER CHECK FOR FAULT CODES IN THE TRANSMISSION BUT NOTHING SHOWED UP. THE ONLY THING I CAN THINK OF IS FOR MB TO PERFORM THE TRANSMISSION ADAPTATION PROCEDURE TO RESET THE FACTORY SHIFT POINTS.

HAS ANYONE EVER EXPERIENCED THIS? AND IF SO, WHAT WAS THE REMEDY? STUCK VALVE MAYBE?

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

UTAHSAINT
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2003, 08:56 AM
Mack
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I am having a similar experience with our '01 C320. SAME UPSHIFT EXPERIENCE. The dealership in Austin found no faults, added fluid to maximum level. I suspected controller fault at first, but now think there is a design fault that prevents fluid porting sufficiently when the vehicle is in a turn. Happens with me, but not my wife, so we suspected weight difference, but it happens if she is in the right seat or not.

I will not buy another Mercedes unless the fix this!

(PS: I'm Randy, Mack's buddy, using his screename.)

Last edited by Mack; 07-13-2003 at 09:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2003, 01:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2
Did they fix your transmission? So far, not ours. They can,t seem to duplicate in the shop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page