Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2003, 04:40 PM
RicksOrionBenz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Exclamation V60 phone installation

I have a 2002 C 230K Coupe, equipped with factory Bose, TeleAide and CD changer. This system uses the A30 head unit.
I am installing the Motorola V60 phone system. I searched the forum, but could not find specifics for my model or equipment....

Here's what I've done so far:
-I installed the phone cradle and coax connection in the upper center console bin.
-I installed the PSE/Splitter/Compensator assembled in the appropriate bracket into the right rear fender well inside the hatch area.
-I connected the assembly's coax anteanna leads, PSE/compenstator connectors, power for splitter and finally fiber optics and tested TeleAid (still works)
-I installed the fuses - 5 amp in slot 13 and 7.5 amp in slot 16
-I took apart the center radio console and found the A30 head unit only supports one i/o connection on the fiber loop. The PHONE IN connector behind the stereo is a single fiber that traces to the PSE connection in the hatch area.
Here's where I'm stuck

Question: HOW DO I CONNECT THE SINGLE FIBER FOR THE PHONE TO THE EXISTING FIBER LOOP WITHOUT DISABLING STEREO, CD AND TELEAIDE FUNCTIONS?

Please reply by E-Mail or Instant Message(rickster2u@aol.com)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2003, 05:04 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
A short answer to your question is that the fiber optics connector is split open and the "other" fiber optics cable is installed in the place of the existing one of matching lens color. If the seperate one, labeled PHONE IN has a red lens, then replace the existing red lens cable, or the white or clear one, if that what the seperate cable is. Simple, right?

The problem is of course in the trunk or rear of the car, this has to form a optical loop and come back to the radio.
I did have a diagram all made up of this system, it's quite complex and of course MB expects it to be in a programmed order.
There is some "spare" cable in the trunk also you'll notice. I assume you're installing the voice recognition unit also, I thought there is an unused cable which has to be utilized when the VR is installed also, and one of the cables changes function.

Once you get this all figured out, the coding in the radio will also need to be changed using a shop computer (SDS) to make it all work properly.

But the most critical thing is that the fiber optics cable all has to run to the components in the proper order.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2003, 05:27 PM
RicksOrionBenz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by Gilly
A short answer to your question is that the fiber optics connector is split open and the "other" fiber optics cable is installed in the place of the existing one of matching lens color. If the seperate one, labeled PHONE IN has a red lens, then replace the existing red lens cable, or the white or clear one, if that what the seperate cable is. Simple, right?

Huh? the existing connection at the radio has two leads...one clear and one red lens. As I understand it, this feeds to the CD, then to TeleAid and loops back to the radio. The other connector labeled PHONE IN has a single lead with a clear lens. This goes all the way to the hatch and connects to the PSE.
If I discon the existing radio/cd glass and replace the clear with the phone clear, that breaks the loop with the CD...and ther eis no return feed from the hatch.

The problem is of course in the trunk or rear of the car, this has to form a optical loop and come back to the radio.
I did have a diagram all made up of this system, it's quite complex and of course MB expects it to be in a programmed order.
There is some "spare" cable in the trunk also you'll notice. I assume you're installing the voice recognition unit also, I thought there is an unused cable which has to be utilized when the VR is installed also, and one of the cables changes function.

Currently, there is a loop and a single fiber marked PHONE OUT(which tests with light to the front) in the hatch area. There is also a spare assembly labeled SDS...that just loops two red lenses together, not connected to anything. Are you saying I should use this as a splice behind the radio? And how do I take the return back from the PSE to the loop?
I'm not installing VR, so that's not an issue.

Once you get this all figured out, the coding in the radio will also need to be changed using a shop computer (SDS) to make it all work properly.

But the most critical thing is that the fiber optics cable all has to run to the components in the proper order.

And what is the correct order?

Gilly

Last edited by RicksOrionBenz; 09-14-2003 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2003, 06:51 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Yeah, i thought about it some more, that seperate fiber cable MAY be for if you install a phone, but don't have a fiber optics component in the trunk (Bose amp or teleaid).
Radio
Bose amp
Phone PSE
Teleaid
VRU
CD

The red vs clear lense is for id purposes only, the red lens ALWAY goes towards the chamfered side of the connector.
Occasionally the black plastic connector has to be seperated to allow proper configuration of the fiber optics line.
If you have the factory BOse, the amp in the rear should also be on the fiber optics loop at some point, as should the teleaid control unit.
If the single fiber optics line is connected to the PSE it's because YOU connected it, as the PSE is part of the phone install kit. I recommend disconnecting it at this point until you figure out the routing.
Where is the spare loop labelled SDS? In the rear? Is that laying across the trunk just ahead of the spare in that plastic tray?
It sounds like you are on the right track so far, in regards to testing the fiber optics with a flashlight and understanding that you have to maintain the loop (daisy chain) back to the radio.
I'm not familair with (or at least can't remember) what component SDS would be, I'm sure it's not a reference to star Diagnosis System. Maybe it means Sound System? This to me would refer to the Bose amp.
I could probably get you some better info later in the week, this is the best I can do on a Sunday afternoon.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2003, 07:08 PM
RicksOrionBenz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
I found one D2B connector in the subwoofer compartment (right rear fender well) marked AMP. This is not lit or connected, but has two leads (red/clear).

Under the panel between the rear seat and the spare tire were two more D2B's: one maked PHONE OUT (single clear lead) and the other was markes SDS.

After cutting the tape that harnesses these together, I saw that the SDS labelled glass is separate and not tied in at all. It just loops from one side of the connector to the other.

The single lead (unlit) fiber labelled PHONE OUT is long enough to route around the perimeter of the sub and up to the PSE...and yes, I plugged it in when I installed the assembled bracket.

My Bose amp is located in the coupe's right side wall panel of the rear seat area. I haven't gone there yet...do I have to?

I appreciate your help, Gilly...but are there any MBTechs that can shed some light on this (pun intended) ?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2003, 08:46 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Is the one labelled SDS possibly actually labelled SBS? I believe that's the one used for Voice Recognition if you were installing it, you can just leave that one alone if you're not installing it.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2003, 07:10 AM
RicksOrionBenz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Fiber loop questions:

Are there any MBTechs that can shed some light on the phone connections and how to loop it into the existing Radio/TeleAid/CD loop? (pun intended)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-15-2003, 09:46 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Rick
I asked my former employer to fax me some info I had drawn up for the 203 chassis, so hopefully in a day or two, if no one else has responded, I'll have more concrete info for you.
I believe though that even on the coupe that the amp is supposed to be in the right rear corner. The connection labelled "amp" should be going to the amp, leading me to believe you don't have Bose.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-15-2003, 11:41 PM
RicksOrionBenz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Well...there's a subwoofer in the right rear fender well with the word Bose embossed on it....and it works. Oh, can;'t overlook the logo'd speakers mounted in the the front of the door panel...or the center dash speaker.

My car is equipped with the C5 C4 and teleaid packages. But I do appreciate any help offered.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2003, 06:12 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
I realize you'd probably point that out to me, that's all fine, but HOW to explain a fiber optics cable in the rear (where the amp is supposed to be) labelled "amp"? Unless for some odd reason they assemble the coupe differently, yet put in some inappropriate cables that are only used on the C Class sedan? Doesn't make sense does it. But maybe that's it.

I'm trying to HELP you here, it would be nice if you were a teeny bit less sarcastic about this. Unless someone else steps forward to help (which I actually hope happens), then you can tell me to go to hell. They have alot of components on this fiber optics ring and it's difficult to remember all the specifics. What would have been best is to get a copy of the installation guide from a dealership before starting the project, but even there they are very slim in ring configuration info, it's something I guess MB expects you to just "know".
Well, hopefully I'll get a fax today which may help me describe how to put this all together.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page