Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 01-04-2000, 04:52 PM
Hunter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I still have not heard how to replace a defective readout on the dash, as in my 89 420. Any help with this would be welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-05-2000, 12:45 AM
Barrie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hunter,
Failure of the display unit is quite rare. How did you determine that was the problem and not the sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-05-2000, 02:29 PM
senen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks barrie check cable had a crack near
the sensor. soldered and now temp lcd is
working fine.

senen
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-09-2000, 12:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Posts: 47
87 300SDL

My Outside Temp Indicator went on the fritz about 4 weeks ago. I saw this thread on the Site and finally went to get the Thermistor that Barrie spec'd out (Radio Shack doesn't carry them. BTW). On the way back home, the gauge started to work, and cycled from -36F to +136F twice, and then quit showing anything again. Inspection of the existing sensor shows no visible problems. However, the bracket looks like the took a rock hit. Maybe the shock killed the sensor.

Barrie, if you're out there, any thoughts? Also, is there a retail source for the thermistor?

Tom Kanis
Cincinnati, OH
87 300SDL
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-09-2000, 10:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New Bedford, MA USA
Posts: 1,583
Barrie, correct me if I am wrong. Isn't there a plug for the sensor cable either under or in the bottom of the fuse box. I think I have seen this on my 300's. Was I seeing things or is that plug there.

------------------
Jeff L
1987 300e
1989 300e
1987 BMW 325

[This message has been edited by jeffsr (edited 06-09-2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-10-2000, 02:46 AM
Robert W. Roe's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Lehigh Valley PA
Posts: 1,322
Try www.newark.com - Newark Electronics.

Their catalog should be free, and is amazing if you want to find any kind of electronic part. I don't have mine handy but I think they should carry a decent selection of thermistors.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-10-2000, 01:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: buckhorn, ontario, Canada
Posts: 101
Tom,
Yeah, I'm still here -- but it sounds like your sensor has gone south. To be sure, you can test the system and isolate the fault by clipping a resistor across the cable leads (in place of the sensor) as per my procedure above.
In terms of sourcing a replacement sensor, you'll need a large electronics supply house. I suggest using your yellow pages and phoning around -- you may find a source with a cash counter and no minimum. Otherwise, you'll have to order from somewhere like Digi-Key (digikey.com). The problem with mail order is that you'll pay several times the cost of the part for handling and shipping.
If there's sufficient interest among all the folks with dead sensors, I'd be glad to order a quantity and supply as needed. Or maybe PartsShop would do the same?
Good luck, and let me know if you any questions along the way.
Barrie
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-10-2000, 02:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: buckhorn, ontario, Canada
Posts: 101
Jeff,
On the way to the instrument cluster the cable goes via the fuse box, but I don't know that there's a connector there. I assume what's behind your question is whether there's another location to test the system. You may be right!
One may be able to clip the test resistor at the fuse terminal, if there is an open connection. Otherwise, the only other location is at the rear of the instrument cluster. In either case you'd also want to check the sensor end, as well(in case the problem is like the one senen describes above). Being basically lazy, I've always checked at the sensor end. One test vs two!
Regards, Barrie

[This message has been edited by barrie (edited 06-10-2000).]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300e Door Panels....All 4 Tan and Front Blue FS!! 6cndmbz Mercedes Used Parts For Sale & Wanted 0 06-13-2004 02:32 AM
two temp sending units? 617 turbo coachgeo Diesel Discussion 6 07-03-2003 12:07 AM
300e high idle all the time CadTech7 Tech Help 2 10-21-2002 04:59 PM
C280 A/C Temp. Question 767Flyer Tech Help 6 07-03-2002 06:58 PM
Low engine temp no heat razorman Tech Help 4 04-09-2002 06:59 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page