Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2003, 11:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14
190e dashboard removal !!!

Does anyone know if there is another way to repair/replace the potentiometer without removal of the dash on my 1993 190e 2.3. My mechanic says this is 8 hours labour. I am not getting any heat and we troubleshooted everything else.heater valve,control unit etc.
Apparently the 190e has a complicated climate system and the potentiometer is not getting any feedback to open the valves for heat?
Any suggestions?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2003, 01:25 AM
haasman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,097
It is my understanding that you can reach the potentiometer after removing the instrument cluster. Your mechanic may need short/stuby screw driver but according to the Mercedes Repair CD it is possbile.

Haasman
__________________
'03 E320 Wagon-Sold
'95 E320 Wagon-Went to Ex
'93 190E 2.6-Wrecked
'91 300E-Went to Ex
'65 911 Coupe (#302580)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2003, 01:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks I will ask the mechanic if this is possible. It should save a lot of labour cost.
Where do you get the repair cd?
Roberto
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2003, 05:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 700
Just to calrify, you want ot get at the climate controls? the console that has the turn wheel the slider and the three buttons?

That's a 5 minutes job if you have the same setup as me. First take out the ash tray, then take out the two vent grates on the left and right. Undo the two scres that you will be able to access once you remove those, then remove the two scres from the air ducts above the console and it all comes out, pull it slightly forward to get at the cables and pull them out one by one, no need to worry they are all different size and only fit into one place.

8 hours? with a different setup maybe.

xp
__________________
1985 190E 2.3L - a constant project.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2003, 05:53 PM
haasman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,097
xp

I believe he is speaking about the potentiometer that sits on top of the unit that holds the heater core and is directly under the dash.

Haasman
__________________
'03 E320 Wagon-Sold
'95 E320 Wagon-Went to Ex
'93 190E 2.6-Wrecked
'91 300E-Went to Ex
'65 911 Coupe (#302580)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2003, 08:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14
yes I have already tested the climate control (push button unit and temperature dial) by pulling it out and switching with a new one.Thanks anyway XP
I am talking about the potentiometer in the dash that Haasman is talking about.
This has been a complicated process,even the mercedes mechanics disagree with each other about fixing this problem.
Haasman do you have any links to websites with this diagram of what the potentiometer looks like?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2003, 08:45 PM
haasman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,097
Here are some pictures, sorry about the quality.

The third picture shows you where it is located in relation to the windshield and how it sits on top of the heater/blower unit, just under the dash cover.

Hope this helps,

Haasman
Attached Thumbnails
190e dashboard removal !!!-190e-potentiometer-medium-.jpg  
__________________
'03 E320 Wagon-Sold
'95 E320 Wagon-Went to Ex
'93 190E 2.6-Wrecked
'91 300E-Went to Ex
'65 911 Coupe (#302580)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2003, 02:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks for the photos.One mechanic doesn't think it can be done through the instrument cluster as he thinks its too tight.
I am asking a few different ones to find out.
Anyone else here know for sure if the airmix control can be installed through the instrument cluster?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page