Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2003, 03:36 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Wye Mountain, Arkansas
Posts: 3
Angry @#%& FSS reset

Man somebody please help me with this '00 E320 service display. I just performed the B service on this vehicle has been exceeded by 200 miles. The car is equipped with the multi-function steering wheel. I have read every relevant post both here and at iATN regarding the reset procedure as well as the owner's manual. I have attempted the reset as outlined in the manual more times than I can count, paying careful attention to have the door closed, domelight and instrument panel display off. The manual for this vehicle says "turn ignition to position 1, scroll using the steering wheel mounted controls until the odometer reading is displayed, scroll using the upper button until the service indicator message is displayed, press the R button for at least two seconds, the display will ask if I wish to reset" and so on... Problem is that when I press the "R" button nothing happens. I've also tried pressing the R button two times rapidly in succession with the same results. I'm not gonna have a scanner for a while so I really need some help. Thanks in advance. Skip
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 06:38 PM
blackmercedes's Avatar
Just a guy
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,492
Are you sure it's not position 2 for the key initially? I seem to remember reading somewhere the menu-drive system must also be in Pos II like the "old" ones. Also, not to be flippant, but are you sure you're in the right key position? I was trying to reset mine and confused I and II. It's not hard when you're frustrated.
John Shellenberg
1998 C230 "Black Betty" 240K

Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 09:03 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 4,712
You have to press and hold the R button until it clears. I know they don't tell you this, but it works.

When you press and it comes back with Are you sure you want to reset. Continue by pressing and HOLDING the R button for a while. It will reset.
Donnie Drummonds
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page