Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2000, 09:02 AM
robmarches
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I bought a new Instrument Cluster from the "Parts Shop" on this site. (Don't ask me why, it's a long story... and it costed $700 for a new one!) Anyway, I installed the new part, which was easy but I need to ask a question as to how to get it to work properly. With the new instruments installed, the area where the mileage should be shown has all dashes "------" flashing in it and it also doesn't display the current gear selection next to the clock like it's supposed to. That area is just blank.

My question is how to get it to work properly or is there something wrong with the part? Please let me know...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2000, 01:51 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
New inst clusters after 1997 must be programed by dealer! Info from the old cluster pulled out & reinserted into new cluster. All of this with STAR DIAGNOSIS lap-top computer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2000, 01:59 PM
robmarches
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hmmmm.. Well, The parts shop charged me extra to have the cluster "programmed" with my mileage when I bought it. Should they have done that? Also the old one is dead. What should I do now?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2000, 05:52 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tucker, Ga USA
Posts: 12,153
Only option is going to dealer. Yes there is a programing that MB does before sending the part out, but the final program is done by dealer with old & new part!

------------------
MERCEDES BENZ MASTER GUILD TECHNICIAN (6 TIMES)
ASE MASTER TECHNICIAN
27 YEARS DEALER M.B. Shopforeman
190E 2.3 16V ITS SCCA racecar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2000, 10:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Suwanee, GA, USA
Posts: 4,712
Rob, I thought we went over this in e-mail?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2000, 09:21 AM
robmarches
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I know. I just wanted to ask to see if there were any alternatives. I know when I go to the dealer i'm gonna get the 1-million dollar question... "Why did you need to get that new part?" and "Why didn't you come here when there was a problem?" Also, I'm sure they will charge me to hook the car up to the "wonder computer". Maybe I'll just use it with the flashing dashes in the mileage section. It will add "character" to the car and make my wife wonder.. "Oh no, did I screw something up?" when she tries to use it. hehehe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just "Renewed" the instrument panel, lights and gauges and odometer Eric Eliel Diesel Discussion 21 01-06-2012 01:17 AM
Instrument Cluster Removal & Service, '74SL WCF SL Forum 1 03-22-2004 10:51 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page