Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    

Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Tech Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2000, 10:01 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 76
Does anyone know of a wire in the car that has continuous power evern when the car is off. I am installing a cd changer and need a wire with continuios power. I have a 1983 240D. I tried a wire straight off the battery and that did not work. Any help would be appreciaited.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2000, 11:38 PM
Mike Murrell's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,141
I may misunderstand your question, but why would you want "continuous" power. That isn't going to do alot for long battery life.
In a non-MB truck, I have the radio wired directly off the battery so it works when I turn it on with the ign. switch off. If this is what you're seeking, review your connections, especially ground.


Mike Murrell
'91 300-SEL
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2000, 12:05 AM
Ashman's Avatar
Service Advisor
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 4,748
All you need is a test light or a multi meter.

Ground the test light or multimeter, and test the wires near where you want to put your changer. if you dont find any, you can check else where but running wires will be necessary if you cant find constant power at the back.

Just be sure the power stays on when you turn on the ignition. you dont want to end up breaking the changer.

A test light is a good way to find the wire, I suggest going to your local auto parts store or electronics store. They should have a test light and it shouldn't be expensive. A Multi meter is more expensive, but can be used for various testing of various things from AC voltage to DC Voltage and more.

Hope that helps.

I would also check your ground. if the changer needs to be grounded, you should try finding a good ground to put it on. The changer might also have a reset switch on it, probably a button that is very small and round that needs a pin or paper clip stuck in it to reset it.

My pioneer radio I had in my jeep when I first installed it wouldn't power it on, took it to the test bench, and still no power. I thought I had a faulty radio. I then tried the reset switch, and it powered right up. in fact whenever I would disconnect the battery in the car, the radio would need to have that reset switch hit.

Check for that as well.


'92 300CE
Metallic Black (Blue Flaked) on Creme
Clear Corners
Black Grille Insert
78k Miles

Future Upgrades:
Sportline Suspension
17" AMG Monoblocks or EVO II's
94-95 Tail Lights
Euro Headlights
AMG Exhaust

Click here to Go To My 300CE Page

[This message has been edited by Ashman (edited 10-20-2000).]
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2000, 03:56 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Oakland, CA USA
Posts: 221
I don't understand why you need a constant, a cd changer get's it's power from the in-dash unit, not directly from the battery. If you are trying to install a dash CD unit, just use a circuit tester, there is a constant and a switched wire run to the dash. Also check your ground, if you ran a cable directly from the battery, that could be your only other problem.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2000, 10:55 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 76
I am installing a FM modulated changer that is why there is not power alreaDY ON IT. I need constant power on it to keep the memory. Without constant power everytime the car is turned off the changer looses memory and i have to turn it on and choose a track.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do spark plug wires overheat?? EricSilver Tech Help 13 06-28-2003 12:08 AM
resistance for silicone spark plug wires? RKreutzer Tech Help 5 04-13-2003 04:58 PM
We bolted THREE wires to the alternator? debbiemarlow Diesel Discussion 2 08-03-2002 03:27 PM
Ok, took a look at the wires on my deck........ Help Snoopy572 Car Audio and Multimedia 8 04-25-2002 11:25 PM
Ignition wires PVL brand vrsmith Tech Help 1 03-24-2001 08:04 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page