Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Vintage Mercedes Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
w111.026 Wiring Diagram

Good day, everyone.

I am on the hunt for a 1969-70 280SE Cabriolet 3.5L wiring diagram (w111.026 chassis) for a 280SL V8 project. The SE has an electrical tachometer instead of cable driven.

I've been scouring the web looking for an owner's manual but haven't had any luck. It also doesn't appear to be in our collection of service manual CDs, either, and I don't think it is worth the $100+ to add it just for a wiring diagram. Hopefully someone happens to have a scanned copy of the insert with the legend. I am certainly willing to buy an owner's manual if someone has one for sale.

Thanks,
Justin

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2013, 02:53 PM
Tony H's Avatar
Tony
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bandon, Oregon
Posts: 1,155
I have scanned mine at High Resolution and can send to you if you PM me with your email.
__________________
Tony H
111 280SE 3.5 Coupe
Manual transmission

Past cars:
Porsche 914 2.0
'64 Jaguar XKE Roadster
'57 Oval Window VW
'71 Toyota Hilux-Dad bought new
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2013, 12:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
w111.026 Tachometer wiring

Good day.

Thanks for e-mailing the wiring diagram.

As I am looking over the tachometer wiring, I see something called Adapter (Tachometer). The Adapter goes between the tachometer and the coil side of the 6 Ohm resistor. EPC isn't turning up any results. I am hoping that someone has disassembled one of the 280SE/C's far enough to know what that part might be.

Thanks,
Justin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2014, 04:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony H View Post
I have scanned mine at High Resolution and can send to you if you PM me with your email.
Hi Tony can I have the same diagram please, I have some fried wires under the dash still works but needs replacement for sure, thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2014, 08:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: brisbane,Qld.Australia
Posts: 2,062
The tach uses the distributor side of the coil for it's signal ( - or negative) . The signal goes through the tach and to a Brown lead with a ring terminal which is connected to a bolt just inside the dash,to the right (I think from memory) of the tach.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2014, 12:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercmad6.3 View Post
The tach uses the distributor side of the coil for it's signal ( - or negative) . The signal goes through the tach and to a Brown lead with a ring terminal which is connected to a bolt just inside the dash,to the right (I think from memory) of the tach.
It is most likely that the bolted wire is a ground wire for the lights in the tach, there are basicly four wires to the tach although it is a 6 pin connector. Getting the wiring diagram is best, on the other hand it would be good enough to know which pin is for the tach signal or the wire color.
I tried contacting Tony he seems to be very helpful person still waiting.
Justininia please forward me the diagram if you can please
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2014, 12:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 9
I am about to disassemble my tach to see what is inside and will post photos
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2014, 01:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 9
Ok the tach is dismantled. It looks Chinese to me hope it helps.

Ops I dont know how to upload the photos I ll retry after I check that
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2014, 01:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 11
I have a problem with E320 1994 coupe as high idle after restart the car.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2014, 01:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 11
anybody can help me for solve the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-20-2014, 01:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 11
First start normal idle but after stop and restart the car getting idle around 1300 RPM, then stop engine and keep 30 minutes the car normal idle again ,
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-20-2014, 05:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: brisbane,Qld.Australia
Posts: 2,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrol2620 View Post
It is most likely that the bolted wire is a ground wire for the lights in the tach, there are basicly four wires to the tach although it is a 6 pin connector. Getting the wiring diagram is best, on the other hand it would be good enough to know which pin is for the tach signal or the wire color.
I tried contacting Tony he seems to be very helpful person still waiting.
Justininia please forward me the diagram if you can please
Thanks
There is a brown wire for the lights,it's also connected to the speedo. As long as your loom is basically all there ,there should be a large group of brown wires to the ground connection bolt.
Dash light power is grey with a red tracer ,ignition signal feed is black or black with tracer. The pins should be numbered and these numbers relate to the DIN codes used on ALL german cars.
DIN 72552 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
http://www.e38.org/understanding%20euro%20wiring%20diagrams.pdf
So once you know which color wires you need to find,and the pin numbers on the rear of the tacho are known,it's dead easy to sort out.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-21-2014, 04:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dubai
Posts: 9
Thanks mercmad6.3 the info you provided is very helpful.
Out of the four pins three are nessesary for the tach to function one is ground, one is marked 1 so that must be for the usual ign input, now the third one is interesting it is marked 15/54 so I would assume it is the tach signal input, if that comes directly from the coil -ve side then the signal should be a 12v on/off pulsation 4 times per one engine turn (8 cly). Is that true?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-21-2014, 05:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: brisbane,Qld.Australia
Posts: 2,062
Thats it. The signal speed varies according to how many pulses are fed, a result of the points opening and closing. The tach is basically an electric motor which only turns through an arc, not a full rotation. It works against a spring which in turn, forces it back as the number of pulses reduces , resulting from the dropping of the power fed to the 'motor'
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-21-2014, 09:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PDX->OR->USA
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by rashpulikkal View Post
I have a problem with E320 1994 coupe as high idle after restart the car.
Hello friend, it is traditional here to start a new thread with your problems so we do not get confused when dealing with each individual issue. Please post a new thread with a clear title explaining your issue and you will surely get quick help. I will also send you a PM with other info.

__________________
1962 220SE W111 Coupe, 2nd owner

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3.../SideSmall.jpg

The Coupe Group (W111/112 coupes and cabs) official website
The Coupe Group on Facebook
MotoArigato: Roadworthy News & Humor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page