View Single Post
Old 08-21-2007, 03:23 PM
Electrons can do anything

I'm glad someone started a continuation thread about this subject. I think that things might be getting off track at bit. See if you agree.

I guess I may have intrepreted the original thread a bit differently. What I read was;

"Bad wires, cap, rotor and/or wrong spark plugs can wreck your ignition module".

I agree that there is a lot of subjective information about using different type of plugs in different engines. I have my own opinions based on my personal experiences with different ignition components. I agree it does make a difference what you use where. But the original thread was not about that. It was about;

Quote:
"Bad wires, cap, rotor and/or wrong spark plugs can wreck your ignition module".
I have a lot of experience of what happens in the ignition system of these cars on a microsecond level. Without getting into all the techno mumbo jumbo the bottom line for me is this;

If "Bad wires, cap, rotor and/or wrong spark plugs can wreck your ignition module" then you have one crappy ignition system. The engineer who designed this thing should undergo appropriate punishment.

It is my opinion that the ignition systems in these cars is another great example of robust German engineering just like the rest of the car. I dont believe the statement ""Bad wires, cap, rotor and/or wrong spark plugs can wreck your ignition module". If it were true then ignition modules would be dropping like raindrops in a hurricane. This is not the case. Just pull the high voltage wire off the coil - that certainly represents total failure of everything that comes after it. The ignition control module does not break. If it did, the designer of the ignition module, you would be forced to make the module survive all sorts of failures in the other components.

What can go wrong with the various components? Lets take a few examples from an electrical perspective and assuming everything else is OK mechanically.