Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2000, 03:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14
I bought a 98 CLK320 with an alpine changer in the trunk. The model# of the changer is CHA-S604. I looked in the trunk and saw it was connected to a small rectangular box.

The problem is...when I hit the CD button on the headunit, nothing happens. It's like the changer doesn't exist. The changer has power and there a CD's loaded in it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
J

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2000, 11:30 PM
Ashman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 4,749
sounds like it might be FM modulated?

Have you tried setting the FM to 88.3 and looking for a little remote display unit?

I'm not sure but if its plugged into a silver box, it might be an FM modulated changer.

Alon
__________________
'92 300CE - Sold
2004 C240 - 744 - C7 Wheels - Android Radio
2002 C320 - 816 - Sport Wagon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2000, 10:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: East Windsor, NJ USA
Posts: 65
I think I have the same alpine unit. On mine, the connector from the CD deck goes to a special adapter that connects to the CD Harness in the trunk. The adapter I have sounds different than yours. Perhaps you have the wrong one. Once connected properly, it should work like the factory one. No FM settings are needed. I would ask a competent audio dealer. Don't expect help from MB, they frown on people who buy aftermarkets.
__________________
E. Gruber
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2000, 01:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14
Thanks for all your help. I'll try that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2000, 02:46 PM
Tom
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have same unit in C280 and it has a interface by Peripheral a div of AAMP. To reset/initialize 1. turn on radio with ignition 2. wait 3 seconds 3. turn off radio with ignition 4. wait 4 seconds 5. turn on radio with ignition. initialization complete. Can call 813.572.9255 ext 230 if you have this unit. Good Luck

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem connecting Alpine CD Changer brokebyducati Car Audio and Multimedia 0 01-17-2005 03:29 PM
96 E320 - Intermittent problem with Alpine CD changer h769821 Car Audio and Multimedia 8 10-07-2003 08:54 PM
93' 190e Alpine trunk CD changer vs. OEM mosquera Car Audio and Multimedia 0 06-09-2003 04:47 PM
Just installed Alpine CD changer won't play. skipbowman Car Audio and Multimedia 4 03-08-2003 12:30 AM
For Sale : Alpine CD Changer (CHA-S634), BlitzSafe Converter (MB/ALP DMX V.1), etc. tericwang Car Audio and Multimedia 0 06-20-2002 08:47 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page