Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121  
Old 02-19-2019, 12:21 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,034
If you guys are interested...I do repair the old tach amps. I'd be happy to help out.

--Kris

__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 03-12-2019, 12:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 186
As per the attachment, need some clarification on the schematic :/
Attached Thumbnails
OM617A Tach Amp-tachamp2.3.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 03-12-2019, 12:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesDean View Post
If you guys are interested...I do repair the old tach amps. I'd be happy to help out.

--Kris
I saw your title, Electrical Engineer. I'm at university doing this now.

i'm between 2nd and 3rd year for my classes

Off to class now actually, Signal Analysis with Matlab, yay fun times.... haha.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 03-12-2019, 11:21 PM
vwnate1's Avatar
Diesel Dandy
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sunny So. Cal. !
Posts: 6,457
Subscribed, I hope to never need the good info here tho' .
__________________
-Nate

Ignorance is the mother of suspicion and fear is the father

I did then what I knew how to do ~ now that I know better I do better
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 08-02-2019, 10:25 AM
ngarover's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northern Georgia
Posts: 1,957
On my 85 Euro 300TDT, I came with the large clock, no Tach. Looking, I have the pickup on the front with a grey wire leading up to the Diagnostic post, No pickup that I can see on the rear flywheel housing. I would like to add a tack to mine now. Whats currently the best way to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 08-17-2019, 11:13 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,034
If the pick up is on the harmonic balancer and runs into the same port the old 81-84 style tach amp uses..I wonder if you could get one of those and then run some wires into the cabin for the tach gauge.
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 08-17-2019, 11:18 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,034
If the pick up is on the harmonic balancer and runs into the same port the old 81-84 style tach amp uses..I wonder if you could get one of those and then run some wires into the cabin for the tach gauge.
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 08-18-2019, 08:54 AM
ngarover's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northern Georgia
Posts: 1,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesDean View Post
If the pick up is on the harmonic balancer and runs into the same port the old 81-84 style tach amp uses..I wonder if you could get one of those and then run some wires into the cabin for the tach gauge.
That's what I'm thinking of doing, I would have to find a tach amp as well, since my car doesn't currently have one, just to diag port.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 08-18-2019, 09:12 AM
oldsinner111's Avatar
lied to for years
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bristol,tn
Posts: 6,079
my problem guy's was the socket,it screwed into. I bought carbon paste,that worked a year.What happens alot,is the sockets the pins fit into work their way down,and pins won't make contact.I finally hammered a small wood wedge to keep sockets up,and super glued it.
__________________
anti matter asteroids matter too
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 08-18-2019, 10:30 AM
funola's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by math View Post
As per the attachment, need some clarification on the schematic :/
I'd read that as 3300 uh, 10 ma, 160 ohms

What are you trying to do? Build one? If you're into electronics, easier to find a used one and repair it if it's NG.

Scrape away the potting compound, resolder all solder joints then see if it works. If not, trace the +12 V input which leads to a (from memory 33 ohm 1/4 W resistor) which gets very hot and is burned out often. Replace it with a 1/2 W and that usually fixes it. I have never had to to more than that in all the ones I've worked on.
__________________
85 300D turbo pristine w 157k when purchased 161K now
83 300 D turbo 297K runs great. SOLD!
83 240D 4 spd manual- parted out then junked
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 14
Does anyone know where or IF the tach amp is in my '91 350SD ? My tach needle does not move but I cannot locate the cylindrical part in my engine bay. eBay had one on for $150 that claimed it fits my model.
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:27 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,034
Hi JohnRedman,

The 91 won't have a tach amp in the same sense as the OM617A engine'd cars did.

In the 91, you have the OM603. I believe the tachometer is run by the EDS computer.

More than likely your tachometer gauge is the problem.

In my experience the gauge in the cluster is at fault. The only exception is the OM617A equipped cars that have the cylindrical tach amp.

I service instrument clusters, if you are interested, I'd be happy to help out. Just drop me an email or PM.

--Kris
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 12-05-2019, 12:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 14
Well, I planned on pulling the instrument cluster to replace all the little lights with leds because the regular ones are terribly dim (as soon as I locate the right type). I watched a Youtube on using the long hooks to loosen it after disconnecting the speedo cable. I guess that I just have to source (eBay?) the replacement tach?
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 12-05-2019, 12:23 AM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,034
I think your options are:

1) Replace the tachometer pod with used.

2) Repair the tachometer pod (typically a bad cap, resistor or solder joint) --do it yourself or sending it out)

As a point of reference I only charge $35 + shipping for tach/clock pod repair work.

--Kris
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 01-21-2020, 05:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 45
did anyone ever find this guy or find another option for making them new?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page